New Egypt Speedway results 2000-08-05

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 5) -- The long dry spell finally ended for "Mr. Excitement" Saturday night as Sinking Spring, PA's Kenny Brightbill returned to victory lane at New Egypt Speedway, scoring his first Modified feature win since July 18, ...

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 5) -- The long dry spell finally ended for "Mr. Excitement" Saturday night as Sinking Spring, PA's Kenny Brightbill returned to victory lane at New Egypt Speedway, scoring his first Modified feature win since July 18, 1999.

"We were struggling there for a long time," Brightbill said post-race. "But we changed grooves and stuck with it and it paid off."

Ken Wismer Jr. led the field around for the green flag with Darren McCaughey quickly moving in to challenge, taking the lead in the early going. Division points leader Billy Pauch appeared to be making ground on the outside lane when the rear axle in his car broke, taking him out of the race on lap 6. On the restart, McCaughey remained on top with Rocco Infante giving chase. The two frontrunners ran bumper to bumper in the low lane as Brightbill switched to the outside groove and began to make headway through the field. Lap after lap, Brightbill patiently advanced to the front, finally clinching the lead from McCaughey with three to go. It was Brightbill, cruising in for his 21st career win at New Egypt. McCaughey, Infante, Keith Hoffman and Mark Bitner followed Brightbill to the line.

Pitting early to change a flat tire, Ringoes, NJ's Ryan Godown rebounded with a vengeance in the 20-lap Sportsman fray to notch his fifth win of the season. Godown took control on the two-to-go signal, with Mickey Kessler, Jeff Carpenter, Jack Swain and Mike Lyons trailing him at the stripe.

Brick, NJ's George Quinlan captured his first win of the season in the 15-lap Street Stock feature. Quinlan started 12th, and took charge before halfway with 1999 division champ Pat Conaway giving chase. Quinlan held off the hard-charging Conaway with Ralph Gargiulo, Billy Bauer and Steve Mongiello completing the top five.

Winners of the OfficeMates 5 of Englewood Cliffs Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature event were McCaughey (Mods, 16.810), Godown (Sportsman, 17.888) and Conaway (Street Stock, 18.236 ).

It was Cream Ridge Golf Club Banner Night at New Egypt, and everyone enjoyed a golf-themed program of fun and prizes, with a color TV and Gameboy the grand prizes in the Banner Night judging; lucky fans winning greens fees and dinners at the Golf Club; two kids leaving with new bicycles; and heat race winners competing in a hole-in-one putting contest for cash prizes. In addition, the ninth and 18th place finishers in all three events received extra cash bonuses, courtesy of Cream Ridge Golf Club.

This Saturday, August 12, Opdyke Lumber and Wawa Food Markets present Wing Night with the popular URC Sprints invading the speedway. Modifieds, Sportsman and Street Stocks complete the four-division card. Gates open at 4 pm, racing gets underway at 6:15 pm. Adult admission is $18, children 7-12 are $6, and kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900. <pre> 8/5/00 MODIFIED RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Grosso Jr. 2.Carberry 3.Hager 4.Bitner 5.Wismer 6.Keimig 2nd Heat: 1.Infante 2.Brightbill 3.Bohn 4.Drayton 5.Hoffman 6.Moss 3rd Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Osmun 3.Butler 4.Tanner Jr. 5.McCaughey 6.Voss B Main: 1.Worthington 2.Adams 3.Hendershot 4.Velenger 5.Tanner Sr. 6.Dubovick (Fans Prov: Hammond) Feature (30 laps): 1.Kenny Brightbill 2.Darren McCaughey 3.Rocco Infante 4.Keith Hoffman 5.Mark Bitner 6.Willie Osmun 7.Rick Grosso Jr. 8.Steve Moss 9.Tom Hager 10.Bob Worthington 11.Mike Hendershot 12.Tom Carberry 13.Bob Drayton 14.Gary Velenger 15.Tim Tanner Sr. 16.Barry Voss 17.Art Adams 18.Kenny Hammond 19.Kenny Wismer III 20.Eddie Bohn 21.Billy Pauch 22.Billy Dubovick 23.Tim Tanner Jr. 24.Korey Keimig 25.Gary Butler DNQ: Jack Amundsen, John Miloszar, Bryant Brown, Craig Pondish. SPORTSMAN RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Kessler 2.Godown 3.Hager 4.Pfister 5.Tomasko 2nd Heat: 1.Wasson 2.Foster 3.Swain 4.Janiszewski 5.Flesch 3rd Heat: 1.Marra 2.Koczon 3.Toth 4.Fleming 5.Force 4th Heat: 1.Carpenter 2.Mears 3.Hoffman 4.Ely 5.Lyons 1st B Main: 1.Papiez 2.Buffalino 3.Scagliotta 4.Liedl 2nd B Main: 1.McClelland 2.Taylor Jr. 3.Holsten 4.Lippincott Feature (20 Laps): 1.Ryan Godown 2.Mickey Kessler 3.Jeff Carpenter 4.Jack Swain 5.Mike Lyons 6.Keith Foster 7.Mike Toth 8.Dave Hoffman 9.Matt Papiez 10.Chuck Flesch 11.Paul Marra Sr. 12.Gary Hager 13.Brad Force 14.Chris Wasson 15.Tom Tomasko 16.Keith Fleming 17.Doug Liedl 18.Stan Janiszewski 19.John McClelland 20.Brien Ely 21.Dominick Buffalino 22.Rick Holsten 23.Ron John Koczon 24.J.C. Mears 25.Lee Taylor Jr. 26.Rob Pfister 27.Rich Scagliotta 28.Larry Lippincott DNQ: Chuck Barker, Keith McIntyre, Larry Archer, Mike Reutter Jr., Dan Austin, Mike Mongiello III, Larry Reed, Brian Pearson, Drew Grosso, Tom Eppolite Jr., Gene Stravinsky, Donnie Kline, Joey Tinnes Jr., Jim Zangli, Tom Sickler, Jeff Geigis, Kyle Morrison, Pat Priore. STREET STOCK 1st Heat: 1.Haines 2.Mongiello 3.Mongeau 4.Bifulco 5.Avery 6.Snook 2nd Heat: 1.Giannino 2.B.Gerber 3.Quinlan 4.Page 5.Reed 6.Berardi 3rd Heat: 1.Bauer 2.Cheney 3.Gargiulo 4.Wagner 5.Ensinger 6.Roveda Jr. B Main: 1.Conaway 2.Nixon 3.Hewitt 4.Fleming 5.Cologna 6.Quick 7.Cooke Feature (15 laps):1.George Quinlan 2.Pat Conaway 3.Ralph Gargiulo 4.Billy Bauer 5.Steve Mongiello 6.Joe Mongeau 7.Bill Gerber 8.Bryan Reed 9.Rich Page 10.Dale Haines 11.Kim Cooke 12.Brian Wagner 13.Jim Hewitt 14.Kevin Bifulco 15.Art Avery 16.Joel Quick 17.Rich Roveda Jr. 18.Ken Snook 19.Spider Ensinger 20.Dave Cologna 21.Brian Nixon 22.Evan Berardi 23.Al Cheney III 24.Kory Fleming DNS: Rick Giannino DNQ: John Hewitt, Sean Carr, Tony Horner, Dave Van Dyke, Bill Miscoski, Carol Whitehouse, Mick Search.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Billy Pauch