New Egypt Speedway Results 1999-07-10

Win Number 8 For Brightbill At New Egypt New Egypt, NJ (July 10) -- Sinking Spring, PA's Kenny Brightbill waged a torrid battle with several front-runners en route to his eighth Modified win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday ...

Win Number 8 For Brightbill At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (July 10) -- Sinking Spring, PA's Kenny Brightbill waged a torrid battle with several front-runners en route to his eighth Modified win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night.

"The track was real smooth and slick," Brightbill stated in Victory Lane. "It was almost like driving on ice. We had to use a different driving style." The win padded Brightbill's lead in the lucrative point chase.

Tom Carberry led the charge with Chris Grbac giving chase. Rick Grosso Jr. and Tim Tanner Jr. joined the race for the lead as Tanner took the middle of a three-wide battle to move out front with 4 laps down. Tanner continued to lead with Mike Hendershot moving into second, setting up a fierce battle with Tanner before slipping into the lead. Kenny Brightbill, from his 17th starting spot, moved into the picture to pressure Tanner, who held off the track's biggest winner until lap 13. It now became a three-car war for the point position as Brightbill tried the outside lane with Hendershot stuck low out front. Brightbill found his groove on lap 17 with Tanner then trying a move down the middle to take over second. Brightbill's Tabloid Graphics #19 took the victory with Tanner second, Hendershot in a super run for third, Billy Pauch fourth and Bob Drayton fifth.

Scoring his third win in five events, Milford, DE's Greg Coverdale took the lead with 6 laps remaining to take the win in the 25-lap URC Sprint feature. "It's a lot of fun running on a small track," Coverdale informed.

Jon Eldreth led much of the URC main event with Scott Pursell giving chase. Eldreth held a commanding advantage on the field until the red flag waved on lap 15 when Billy Courtwright flipped in the fourth turn; he was not injured. Eldreth retained the lead with Coverdale now running second on the restart. At the lap 19 mark, Coverdale moved out front as Sean Michael advanced to second. Coverdale came in for the win, with Michael second, Dave McGough third, Eldreth fourth and Pursell fifth.

Wheeling a brand new mount, Tappan, NY's Joe Sarvis captured his first Sportsman win of '99 in a tightly contested 15-lap feature. "This is great. I want to thank the crew, my wife, car builder Bobby Hearn and my sponsors," Sarvis told the crowd. Chasing Sarvis to the line were division point leader Keith Brightbill, Rich Scagliotta, Jim Harris and Keith McIntyre.

Williamstown, NJ's Pat Conaway won a three-car war to the finish line, claiming his first Street Stock feature of the season. "That's definitely the way to go -- coming from the rear," said Conaway, who came from dead-last to win. Conaway took the lead from Ralph Gargiulo on the white flag lap with Jeff Carpenter moving ahead of Gargiulo for second. Al Cheney III and Bill Gerber completed the top five.

The nightly 50/50 was worth $2,022.50 to one lucky fan. This Saturday it's Topless Night at New Egypt as the Modifieds race without roofs; there'll also be a convertible car show pre-race with fans invited to bring their vintage ragtops. Gates open at 4 pm, warm-ups are at 6 and the first heat gets the green flag at 6:30 pm. Adult admission is $12, children 7-12 are $4 and children 6 and under are free.

7/10/99 MODIFIED RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Grosso Jr. 2.Drayton 3.Laureno 4.Butler 5.Grbac 6.Leidl 7.Pondish 8.McVay 2nd Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Carberry 3.Bitner 4.Bauma 5.VanGorder 6.Tanner Jr. 7.Leach 3rd Heat: 1.Brightbill 2.Bohn 3.Hendershot 4.Hager 5.Cranmer 6.Glenn 7.Singley 8.Janiszewski 9.Huchko Feature (25 laps): 1.Kenny Brightbill 2.Tim Tanner Jr. 3.Mike Hendershot 4.Billy Pauch 5.Bob Drayton 6.Bob Bauma 7.Roger Laureno 8.Tom Hager 9.Gary Butler 10.Eddie Bohn 11.Todd Singley 12.Larry McVay 13.Rick Grosso Jr. 14.John Leach 15.Tom Carberry 16.Eddie Cranmer 17.Chris Grbac 18.Mark Bitner 19.Jerry Glenn 20.Kenny Huchko 21.Stan Janiszewski 22.Craig Pondish 23.Art Liedl 24.Scott VanGorder.

SPORTSMAN RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Harris 2.Sarvis 3.Scagliotta 4.Reed 5.Dixon 6.Tomasko 2nd Heat: 1.Lippincott 2.McIntyre 3.Dallett 4.Swain 5.Roth 6.Eppolite 3rd Heat: 1.Kessler 2.Worthington 3.Papiez 4.Wasson 5.Archer 6.Reid 'B' Main: 1.Brightbill 2.Koczon 3.Singley 4.Ely 5.Kline 6.Adams 7.Toth 8.Nicholas 9.Priore Feature (15 Laps): 1.Joe Sarvis 2.Keith Brightbill 3.Rich Scagliotta 4.Jim Harris 5.Keith McIntyre 6.John Dixon 7.Jack Swain 8.Brien Ely 9.Scott Reid 10.Scott Singley 11.Larry Lippincott 12.Jim Dallett 13.Kenny Roth 14.Mike Toth 15.Art Adams 16.Larry Reed 17.Pat Priore 18.Tom Eppolite 19.Mickey Kessler 20.Bob Worthington 21.Chris Wasson 22.Larry Archer 23.Ron John Koczon 24.Donnie Kline 25.Wayne Nicholas 26.Tom Tomasko. DNQ: Matt Papiez, Rick Holston, Mike Mongiello III, Bob Burlew, Brian Lamparter, Rob Pfister, Bryant Brown, Rocco Infante, George Gareis, John Scheideler.

STREET STOCK RESULTS 'B' Main: 1.Gerber 2.Giris 3.Morrison 4.Wright 5.Flores 6.Guyer 7.Jones Feature (15 laps):1.Pat Conaway 2.Jeff Carpenter 3.Ralph Gargiulo 4.Al Cheney III 5.Bill Gerber 6.Keith Flores 7.Kenny Guyer 8.Billy Bauer 9.George Quinlan 10.Evan Berardi 11.Pat Freiberger 12.Mike Nixon 13.Jay Morrison 14.Billy Bauma 15.Carol Whitehouse 16.Mick Search 17.Kenny Hammond 18.Nick Giris 19.Richie Byrne 20.Kevin Bifulco 21.Steve Mongiello 22.Kyle Wright 23.Ben Jones 24.Dale Haines. DNQ: Blair Guker III, Phil Horner, Bill Miscoski, Jim Hewitt, Brian Wagner.

URC SPRINT CARS RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Martin 2.Ellis 3.Eldreth 4.Pauch 5.Brittingham 6.McGough 2nd Heat: 1.Seidel 2.Gable 3.Coverdale 4.Clarke 5.Higgins 6.Miller 3rd Heat: 1.Coyle 2.Michael 3.Fraschetta 4.Trout 5.Pursell 6.Haggenbottom 'B' Main: 1.F. Hogue 2.Anderson 3.Williamson 4.Courtwright 5.Kennedy 6.Walter Feature (25 laps): 1.Greg Coverdale 2.Sean Michael 3.Dave McGough 4.Jon Eldreth 5.Scott Pursell 6.Kramer Williamson 7.Dave Gable 8.Mike Haggenbottom 9.Glenn Clarke 10.Tom Fraschetta 11.Becca Anderson 12.Tom Higgins 13.Fred Kennedy 14.Billy Ellis 15.Brian Brittingham 16.Jim Walter 17.Chris Coyle 18.Fran Hogue 19.Brian Seidel 20.Jimmy Martin 21.Billy Courtwright 22.Midge Miller 23.Jeremy Trout 24. Billy Pauch. DNQ: Wayne Patterson, Tim Hogue, Ian Borden, Ray Staats, Gary Thayer, Kevin Kelly, John Barnett, Donnie Ennis, Rob Jones, Dan Massey, Todd Rittenhouse Jr.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Billy Pauch , John Dixon , Becca Anderson
Teams Williams