New Egypt Speedway 98-08-22

LEACH ENDS 6-YEAR WIN DROUGHT AT NEW EGYPT New Egypt, NJ, August 22, 1998...... Johnny Leach of Burlington, NJ captured his first win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway in the 30 lap Modified feature Saturday night. Brightbill started...


New Egypt, NJ, August 22, 1998...... Johnny Leach of Burlington, NJ captured his first win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway in the 30 lap Modified feature Saturday night. Brightbill started 4th on the grid and ran in the top five the entire race, however it took till lap 28 for him to take the lead from race long leader Mike Hendershot of Hackettstown, NJ en-route to his first win since 1992. “I knew if I could get underneath him in turn one then I would have the race won,” stated an elated Leach, “I was stronger thru 3 & 4 every lap so once I got alongside of him I knew it was mine!” Hendershot then explained, “The car was strong all night, but began to develop a push in the last 10 laps, so I had to throw the car into the corner in order to get it to turn”

Chris Grbac lead the 25 car field down to starter Frank Resta’s green flag. Kenny Wismer quickly raced his #89 into the lead. As the field completed the first lap, one of the scariest moments of the season occured in turn one as Grbac’s #47 slowed drastically in on the homestretch. With no where to go, Tim Tanner Sr. hit Grbac’s car at full throttle. Tom Hager’s #43 jumped a wheel in the middle of this and began flipping violently, landing on top of Tanner Sr.’s roof. All three drivers were uninjured in this scary looking crash, but their cars had extensive damage. When the green returned, Mike Hendershot took command followed by Donnie Radd, Gary Butler, Leach and Wismer. Hendershot lead by as much as a 1/2 straightaway until a caution erased that on lap 9. On the restart, Radd made a serious bid for the lead as he ran side by side with Hendershot for 3 laps. following another yellow, Hendershot pulled away on the lap 14 restart with Gary Butler racing into second. Radd retired just a few laps later with a flat tire on the Jim Horton Sr. owned #8. Despite Hendershot maintaining a 5 car length advantage, Butler was now keeping pace with Hendershot, as the two pulled away from the pack. On lap 25, Butler suddenly caught Hendershot and slid under the Pizza Hut #80 in turns 3 & 4 to take the lead at the five-to-go sign. One lap later, as the yellow waved for Mike Sena’s #22 which had stopped in turn 2, Butler exited the event with a broken rear end on his #68. This gave the lead to Hendershot, with Leach now in second. When the green flag waved this time Leach began to challenge Hendershot in every turn when the final yellow came out on lap 28. Leach was able to squeeze under Hendershot in turn one on the restart, raced side by side down the backstretch with Scott McClaren trying to make it three wide for the lead in turn three. Leach then slid in front off turn four and held on over the final lap to take home the $2500 first prize by just one car length. Hendershot drove the race of his life finishing second in his own #80. McClaren of Freehold NJ captured third in the Sarasino Racing #4, followed by Tim Tanner Jr. and point leader Roger Laureno both of Ivyland PA. Rounding out the top ten were Eddie Cranmer, Mark Bitner, Carmine Infante, Steve Moss, and Fred Dmuchowski. The three heat winners were Radd, Butler and Infante with Mark Bitner taking the consolation. In the Mid-State Communications 5 lap Cash Dash, which pits the nights heat winners against last weeks feature winner, Kenny Brightbill won his third Dash of the season picking up $318 for his effort. In the 20 lap Sportsman feature event, Keith Brightbill of Sinking Spring PA drove to his second win at the New Egypt Speedway in just 4 nights. Brightbill also picked up the $500 bonus being offered to a NES regular who could win both the Mountain Dew 20 last Wednesday and the Saturday feature just 4 days later. Brightbill did this in impressive fashion, dominating the field winning by almost a straightaway. Six-time winner Larry McVay of Flemington NJ finished second followed by Tom Eppolite of West Creek NJ third and Matt Papiez of Belle Mead NJ fourth. Fifth went to BOTH Rick Grosso Jr. and Richie Cass Sr. as they finished in a dead heat at the wire. Sportsman heats were won by Keith Brightbill, Drew Grosso and Rick Grosso Jr. while Kenny Roth won the consolation in the Delran Auto Body #99. In the fifteen lap Street Stock feature, Dan Weir of Vineland NJ grabbed his first feature win this year in his own #90L. Pat Conaway of Williamstown NJ continues to run strong every week as raced home second, followed by Ralph Garguilo of Brick NJ third in the #08. Bruce Leote of Nanuet NY and Kenny Guyer of Browns Mills completed the top five. The drivers took up a collection during Intermission for the Matheny School and Hospital, and raised $1985 for the kids, some of which were in attendance. This Saturday, August 29th, the URC Sprint Cars return for the first time since their season opener. They will join the regular show of Modifieds, Sportsman and Street Stocks, with all of the action getting underway at 6pm. MODIFIED RESULTS

1st Heat: 1.Radd 2.Hendershot 3.Cranmer 4.Tanner Jr. 5.Laureno 6.Dmuchowski

2nd Heat: 1.Butler 2.McClaren 3.Tanner Sr. 4.Polenz 5.Sena 6.Grbac

3rd Heat: 1.Infante 2.Brightbill 3.Leach 4.Van Gorder 5.Hager 6.Wismer

‘B’ Main: 1.Bitner 2.Moss 3.Singley 4.Epright 5.Velenger 6.Bauma Cash Dash: 1.Brightbill ($318)

Feature (30 laps):

1.Johnny Leach 2.Mike Hendershot 3.Scott McClaren 4.Tim Tanner Jr. 5.Roger Laureno 6.Eddie Cranmer 7.Mark Bitner 8.Carmen Infante 9.Steve Moss 10.Fred Dmuchowski 11.Bob Bauma 12.Kenny Wismer III 13.Fritz Epright 14.Mike Sena 15.Gary Velenger 16.Gary Butler 17.Rich Polenz 18.Donnie Radd 19.John Megill 20.Kenny Brightbill 21.Scott Van Gorder 22.Todd Singley 23.Chris Grbac 24.Tim Tanner Sr. 25.Tom Hager DNQ: Bob Drayton, Archie Myers III, Tom Clickner,


1st Heat: 1.Brightbill 2.David 3.Archer 4.Kessler 5.Foy 6.Priore

2nd Heat: 1.D.Grosso 2.Papiez 3.Koczon 4.Cass Sr. 5.Eppolite 6.Huchko

3rd Heat: 1.Grosso Jr. 2.Scagliotta 3.McVay 4.Dallet 5.Kline 6.Taylor

‘B’ Main: 1.Roth 2.Amundson 3.Gareis 4.Worthington 5.Coffey 6.Swain

Feature (20 Laps):

1.Keith Brightbill 2.Larry McVay 3.Tom Eppolite Jr. 4.Matt Papiez 5.Rick Grosso Jr.& Richie Cass Sr.(Dead Heat) 7.Mike David 8.Ron John Koczon 9.Joe Sarvis 10.Larry Archer 11.Jack Swain 12.Mickey Kessler 13.Johnny Foy14.Donnie Kline 15.Kenny Huchko 16.Bryan Coffey 17.Kenny Roth 18.George Gareis 19.Drew Grosso 20.Bob Worthington 21.Rich Scagliotta 22.Lee Taylor Jr. 23.Pat Priore 24.Jack Amundson DNQ: Rob Pfister, Tim Smith, Mike Mongeillo III, J.C. Mears, Jim Dallett, Kevin McCoy, Brian Ely, Mickey Kessler, Bob Burlew, Keith McIntyre, Jack Caffrey, Jim Harris, Nick Fornoro


1st Heat: 1.Search 2.Garguilo 3.Colmerayer 4.Freiberger 5.Bauma 6.Leote

2nd Heat: 1.Conaway 2.Weir 3.Whitehouse 4.Carpenter 5.Hammond 6.Gerber

Feature (15 laps):1.Dan Wier 2.Pat Conaway 3.Ralph Garguilo 4.Bruce Leote 5.Ken Guyer 6.Al Cheney III 7.Jay Morrison 8.Jeff Carpenter 9.Mike Rudolph 10.Jim Gerber 11.Tom Cremer 12.Ken Hammond 13.Kory Fleming 14.Tom Holloway 15.Billy Bauma 16.Eric Colmerayer 17.Chip Grant 18.Nick Giris 19.Carol Whitehouse 20.Kevin Bifulco 21.Pat Freiberger 22.Glen Dugan 23.Mick Search 24.Benjamin Jones 25.Allen Hurley 26.Ted Hargrove

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mike David
Teams Williams