NCRA: McCool results 2005-09-05

Boen Wins Second Straight, Ties for Most Wins in a Season in O'Reilly/NCRA Late Models McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (Sept 5, 2005) -- Not everybody can post a dominating victory on Sunday and follow it up with a strong win in their backup car on ...

Boen Wins Second Straight, Ties for Most Wins in a Season in O'Reilly/NCRA Late Models

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (Sept 5, 2005) -- Not everybody can post a dominating victory on Sunday and follow it up with a strong win in their backup car on Monday.

That's just what Kelly Boen did this weekend, posting two straights wins in the O'Reilly/NCRA Late Model Series presented by Hoosier Racing Tires and tying the record for the most victories (6) in a season.

Boen's crew chief noticed a steering problem before taking the car on to the Junction Motor Speedway track. So they switched to the back up car and turned in another strong performance, again besting Al Purkey down the stretch.

"Just sitting there with the engine shut off, there was quarter-turn slop (play) in the steering," Boen said of his primary car. "I think it's in the rack so we were scared to use it."

Boen put his racecar on the pole for the second straight night, with Purkey lined up right behind him. At the green, the top four drivers fell in line according to their starting position -- Boen, Delbert Smith, Purkey and Steve Kosiski. Rounding out the early top five was Al Humphrey.

By lap four Boen had pulled away from the others slightly, leaving Purkey and Smith to battle for second. A lot of racing was gong on behind them as five other drivers began to fight for third through seventh -- Kosiski, Humphrey, Ted Martin, Jason Bodenhamer and Bo Egge.

Gary Dechant rolled to a stop with a flat in turn two on lap 11 to bring out the first caution of the race. The top five on the restart was Boen, Smith, Purkey, Kosiski and Humphrey.

The restart allowed Purkey to pull low alongside Smith on the back straight and finally get by him coming through turns three and four. On the same lap, Humphrey moved around Kosiski to take over fourth.

Again, Boen put some distance between himself and Purkey, who had his hands full holding on to second. Smith was still challenging Purkey and Humphrey had moved up to make it a three-way battle for position.

The next caution came on lap 14 for Smith who rolled to a stop in turn two with mechanicals, done for the evening. Humphrey moved up to third followed by Kosiski and Bodenhamer for the restart. On the restart lap, Bodenhamer moved around both Kosiski and Humphrey to take third.

It was here Purkey made his move as he pulled up to challenge Boen for the lead for a couple of laps, beginning on lap 16. But once Boen realized he was there, Kelly pulled away to a comfortable lead once again.

"I started driving a little more conservatively when my crew chief began giving me signals that I needed to get going," Boen said. "I figured I had nothing to lose by driving a little harder, so that's what I started doing."

"I got away from him (Purkey) a little bit -- I did use up my right rear but it lived long enough to get the money."

Purkey didn't get close to Boen again. Bodenhamer closed on Purkey but couldn't get by as Al finished second, with Jason close behind in third. Kosiski finished in fourth with John Bridges fifth.

"I have a crew chief who keeps out stuff prepared real well," Boen said. "We worked on it today and it (primary car) wasn't exactly perfect when we pulled it off the trailer before the heat races."

For Boen, it was his second straight win in the series and his sixth of the season. He tied a record for the most wins in a NCRA late model season, joining Purkey (who had six wins last year) and Tom Laster.

Boen isn't one to worry about wins and records but he believes winning six times this year is indicative of how well he's running.

"I certainly don't keep score," he said. "I just try to run as hard as I can and let the chips fall where they may."

Cherokee Casino and Heat 1 (8 laps):

1. Delbert Smith, Wichita, Kan.; 2. John Bridges, Columbus, Neb.; 3. Ted Martin, Bennington, Kan.; 4. Brett LaFollette, Kansas City, Kan.; 5. Mike Wiarda, Aurora, Neb.; 6. Darrick Klima, Belleville, Kan.; 7. Eddie Moore, Milford, Neb.; 8. Billy Murphy, Lincoln, Neb.; 9. Rusty Miller, Norcatur, Kan.

Cherokee Casino and Heat 2 (8 laps):

1. Steve Kosiski, Papillion, Neb.; 2. Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview, Mo.; 3. Al Humphrey, Giltner, Neb.; 4. Gary Gorby, Caney, Kan.; 5. Gary Dechant, Northglenn, Colo.; 6. Dan Jackson, Ceresco, Neb.; 7. Kelly Brown, Salina, Kan.; 8. Todd Morgan, Omaha; 9. Steve Kempt, Shelton, Neb.

Cherokee Casino and Heat 3 (8 laps):

1. Kelly Boen, Henderson, Colo.; 2. Al Purkey, Coffeyville, Kan.; 3. Bo Egge, Kearney, Neb.; 4. Dean Moore, Grand Junction, Colo.; 5. Brian Kenkel; 6. John Kuchar, Henderson, Colo.; 7. Mike Danburg, Council Bluffs, Iowa; 8. Dustin Newland, Concordia, Kan.

B feature (12 laps - top 10 transfer):

1. Dean Moore; 2. Mike Wiarda; 3. Brett LaFollette; 4. Gary Dechant; 5. Billy Murphy; 6. Steve Kempt; 7. Johnny Bone Jr.; 8. Dan Jackson; 9. Eddie Moore; 10. Brian Kenkel; 11. Darrick Klima; 12. Kelly Brown; 13. Mike Danburg; 14. Rusty Miller; 15. John Kuchar; 16. Todd Morgan; 17. Dustin Newland; 18. Rob Wagner.

A feature (25 laps):

1. Kelly Boen; 2. Al Purkey; 3. Jason Bodenhamer; 4. Steve Kosiski; 5. John Bridges; 6. Johnny Bone Jr.; 7. Al Humphrey; 8. Billy Murphy; 9. Ted Martin; 10. Bo Egge; 11. Dean Moore; 12. Mike Wiarda; 13. Brett LaFollette; 14. Gary Gorby; 15. Eddie Moore; 16. Dan Jackson; 17. Gary Dechant; 18. Brian Kenkel; 19. Steve Kempt; 20. Delbert Smith.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Ted Martin , Eddie M , Steve Kemp