MT: Hawkeye Downs summary

DAYTONA BEACH, FL (June 6, 2007) -- While Steve Carlson became a five-time winner of the Keith Fleck Miller 100 at Iowa's Hawkeye Downs Speedway, several other drivers enjoyed success in the ASA Midwest Tour event. Kenny Richards and Josh Vadnais...

DAYTONA BEACH, FL (June 6, 2007) -- While Steve Carlson became a five-time winner of the Keith Fleck Miller 100 at Iowa's Hawkeye Downs Speedway, several other drivers enjoyed success in the ASA Midwest Tour event. Kenny Richards and Josh Vadnais are the only drivers to post top-ten finishes in all three events of the 2007 season. Nathan Haseleu has two top-five finishes after recording a DNF at the inaugural event at Elko Speedway, as does Jonathan Eilen. Eilen was caught up in lap one carnage at Jefferson Speedway and finished last. Haseleu is known as one to beat in the upper Midwest but Eilen is a name that may be unfamiliar to many fans. Twenty-one-year-old Jonathan is a veteran of the Mid-American Stock Car Series where he enjoyed five wins and fourteen top-ten finishes in 2004. The Tour has had over 40 cars at every event and only ten drivers have been able to make the feature all three times.

Carlson set a new track record during qualifying with a lap of 18.321 seconds and started eleventh on the starting grid to take the win. Nathan Haseleu and Doug Mahlik paced the field to the green flag, Haseleu taking the point on the first lap and leading much of the race. Carlson advanced to the third spot by lap 40. Haseleu held onto the lead as Josh Vadnais worked him high and low to get around but Vadnais never prevailed.

The race saw only two caution periods, one on lap 65 for an incident between Kenny Richards and Trent Snyder and again on lap 84 when Kyle Calmes and Charlie Menard made contact on the backstretch, sending Menard's car spinning around into the wall. Menard was unharmed but his day was done.

In the ASA Midwest Tour, lapped cars freeze and blend with the field, leaving Carlson with more cars to pass en route to the point. When the field resumed racing on lap 85, Carlson wasted no time working Haseleu for the lead. Carlson enjoyed a margin of victory of 2.194 seconds. Haseleu finished second, Vadnais, Jonathan Eilen, Travis Sauter, and Dan Fredrickson close behind. Five of the top six drivers are Kwik Trip Touring Stars and Eilen is a Rookie on the Tour.

Clean air was critical for Carlson's car to be able to pull away from the field. The grill was packed solid with Hoosier rubber, preventing cool air from entering.

In a post-race interview, both Carlson and Haseleu agreed that the final caution likely changed the outcome of the race. "That caution flag won me the race because Nate was checked out, my tires were all hot and that caution let my tires cool, I caught up to him and it made a pretty good finish for me,'' Carlson said. "I have to thank crew chief Toby Nuttleman, he has my whole race program turned in the right direction and we are getting faster and faster every week with his knowledge of these cars."

Haseleu explained, "The last caution killed us. We started up front and we had an okay car. We were real loose and I think I was turning it to the right more than left. We missed it a little bit, otherwise I think we could have run with Steve - he just had a dominant car. We just did the best we could do and I'm happy with it.''

Jamie Iverson of Escanaba, Michigan, was presented with the Hard Luck Award sponsored by FiveStar Racecar Bodies. His qualifying time of 18.700 matched Bradley Mueller's time for sixteenth place, but Mueller took his laps first, allowing him to retain the preferred position. Iverson fell into seventeenth place and did not make the show. Mueller and Iverson are now tied again, this time in the point standings.

The honorary Kwik Trip Touring Stars of the event are Jim Duchow who won the wildcard draw and Brian Johnson Jr. who is the highest driver in Tour points (not already a Touring Star).

Carlson took home $2,500 in purse money, along with $400 Touring Stars bonus, $100 certificate from Avcomm/Competition Race Technology, $50 certificate from Draco Spring Mfg, 1 case of oil from Joe Gibbs Racing Oil (valued at $143), $100 certificate from Tex Racing Transmissions, $100 certificate from Penske Racing Shocks, and an Echo Outdoor Power Equipment blower.

The Hawkeye Downs Speedway is one of only two paved ovals in Iowa and has been in operation since 1925. The facility includes the half-mile and also a quarter-mile track, paved pit area, an enclosed tech building and inspection area, quality lighting, electronic message board, full concession facilities, as well as a new scoreboard and transponder timing and scoring system added in 2003.

In its 35-year history, over $262,000 has been donated from the Miller 100. This year the designated charity for the Miller 100 was the Boys/Girls Club of Cedar Rapids.

The Super Late Models on the ASA Midwest Tour will have a weekend off before racing at Wisconsin's Dells Raceway Park Tuesday June 12. Erik Darnell, Travis Kvapil, Tim and Johnny Sauter, and Chris and Scott Wimmer have registered for the event at DRP. Limited VIP packages and all general admission tickets can be ordered online at

To learn more about the American Speed Association Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by Echo Outdoor Power Equipment log on to or call the ASA Midwest Tour office at (262) 514-3880 or e-mail Tim Olson at or Steve Einhaus at

To learn more of the Daytona Beach, Florida-based Racing Speed Associates or the American Speed Association Racing Member Track program, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from all the racetracks and regional tours involved in the American Speed Association, visit

Fast Qualifier: Steve Carlson, West Salem WI 18.310 Sec.

Qual. 1: Adam Royle, Farmington MN; Kyle Calmes, Freedom WI; Andy Hanson, Ramsey MN
Qual. 2: Dan Lensing, Rockton IL; Thor Anderson; Brian Johnson JR, Roscoe IL

Fast Dash 1: Jason Schneider, New Market MN
Fast Dash 2: Jacob Goede, New Germany MN
Last Chance: Charlie Menard, Eau Claire WI; Brandon Hill, Lake Geneva WI

Provisional Starters: Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher IA; Dave Feiler, Sun Prairie WI

Miller 100 Feature: (1-10) Carlson; Nathan Haseleu, Marshall WI; Josh Vadnais, White Bear Lake MN; Jonathan Eilen, Hampton MN; Travis Sauter, Necedah WI; Dan Fredrickson, Lakeville MN; Goede; Doug Mahlik, Green Bay WI; Donny Reuvers, Dundas MN; Kenny Richards, Montello WI (11-20) Mark Kraus, Stratford WI; Thor Anderson; Feiler; Trent Snyder, Ironton MN; Hill; Schneider (-1 lap); Johnson (-1); Lensing (-1); Bradley Mueller, Random Lake WI (-1); Hinrichs (-1) (21-26) Royle (-8); Menard (-16); Calmes (-16); Hanson (-35); Brad Osborn, Janesville IA (-64); Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids IA (-89)

-credit: asa

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Johnny Sauter , Scott Wimmer , Brian Johnson , Steve Carlson , Travis Kvapil
Teams Team Penske , Joe Gibbs Racing