Miller wins at Indianapolis Raceway Park

CLERMONT, Ind. (September 23, 2000) -- Just like he did for three consecutive years in the mid-80s, three-time ASA National Champion Butch Miller of Michigan captured both the pole and picked up the victory at the .686-mile Indianapolis Raceway...

CLERMONT, Ind. (September 23, 2000) -- Just like he did for three consecutive years in the mid-80s, three-time ASA National Champion Butch Miller of Michigan captured both the pole and picked up the victory at the .686-mile Indianapolis Raceway Park during Saturday's ASA 200. The dominating performance was Miller's 41st career victory.

Miller led 172 of the 200 laps, holding off veterans Tim Sauter and Kevin Cywinski to the checkers by .709-sec. From 1986 to 1988, Miller captured the pole and took the victory in the similar dominating manner. The elf Fuels award for winning from the pol e position netted Butch Miller an extra $3,750.

"We just had an awesome racecar tonight," said Miller, who also won in 2000 at Louisville Motor Speedway. "The cautions at the end fell just right, because we had a good race car for eight or nine laps."

IRL star Mark A. Dismore tangled with Ted Smokstad to bring out a caution late in the event which made Sauter unhappy, but gave Cywinski something to hope for, as he believed he was catching Miller.

"Our car ran much better after about 20 laps, so those cautions at the end killed us," said Sauter. "We had a good car, but not like Butch's. I noticed the car was good on the bottom, so we decided to race there for the rest of the night. We just ran ou t of time."

Cywinski's run to the front prevented National Championship point leader Gary St. Amant from clinching the National Championship. Cywinski's teammate Mike Garvey finished the race in fourth, while Scott Hansen come home fifth.

The action-packed race saw eight cautions for 66 laps with five lead changes among four drivers. Miller picked up $20,200 for the win. Rookie Joey Clanton was once again the top-finishing rookie, with second-place Robbie Pyle finishing right behind him i n the ninth position.

St. Amant's point lead dropped to 334 points over Cywinski heading into next weekend's Winchester 400 at the half-mile, high-banked Winchester Speedway. The event will mark the series' return to one of legendary short tracks in the country. The Winchester 400 will take the green at 1 p.m. (local) on Sunday, October 1 and will be telecast LIVE on TNN Sports.

<pre> ASA ACDelco Series ASA 200

CLERMONT, Ind. -- The starting line-up for Saturday's American Speed Association ACDelco Series $200,650 ASA 200 at the .686-mile Indianapolis Raceway Park. The top 20 positions were locked in during qualifications with the remainder of the field set by sea son points and a 100-lap qualifying race. Second round qualifiers could not start higher than 11th. Listed is starting position, driver, make of car and speed for the top 20 qualifiers.

1)      Butch Miller, Pontiac, 112.204 mph
2)      Joey Clanton, Pontiac, 111.888 mph
3)      Larry Foyt, Pontiac, 111.742 mph
4)      Joe Nott, Chevrolet, 111.726 mph
5)      Mike Garvey, Pontiac, 111.575 mph
6)      Gary St. Amant, Chevrolet, 111.404 mph
7)      Derrick Gilchrist, Pontiac, 111.233 mph
8)      Scott Hansen, Ford, 110.894 mph
9)      Glenn Allen Jr., Pontiac, 110.884 mph
10)     Kevin Cywinski, Chevrolet, 110.804 mph
11)     Ted Smokstad, Chevrolet, 111.208 mph
12)     Scott Fraser, Chevrolet, 110.774 mph
13)     Tim Sauter, Chevrolet, 110.705 mph
14)     Tim Taylor, Chevrolet, 110.655 mph
15)     Rick Beebe, Pontiac, 110.630 mph
16)     Scott Wimmer, Chevrolet, 110.586 mph
17)     Tristan Dupuis, Pontiac, 110.432 mph
18)     Robbie Pyle, Chevrolet, 110.368 mph
19)     Chad Wood, Ford, 110.344 mph
20)     Russ Tuttle, Pontiac, 110.319 mph
21)     Mike Miller, Pontiac
22)     Ricky Johnson, Chevrolet
23)     Jack Landis, Ford
24)     Greg Stewart, Pontiac
25)     Dave Sensiba, Pontiac
26)     Ryan Hemphill, Chevrolet
27)     Brandon Sperling, Chevrolet
28)     Mark A. Dismore, Chevrolet
29)     John Brolick, Chevrolet
30)     Kenny Phillips, Chevrolet
31)     Tommy Grimes, Chevrolet
32)     Paul Dallenbach, Ford
33)     Ricky Bryant, Pontiac
34)     Brian Schwartz, Chevrolet
35)     Dennis Lampman, Chevrolet
36)     John Silverthorne, Chevrolet
37)     David Bonnett, Chevrolet
38)     Matt Hagans, Chevrolet
39)     David Stremme, Pontiac
40)     Mark E. Dismore, Chevrolet
41)     J.C. Beattie Jr, Chevrolet
42)     Matt Hagans, Chevrolet
43)     Ken Alexander, Chevrolet

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Larry Foyt , Tim Sauter , Scott Wimmer , Mike Miller , Ryan Hemphill , David Stremme , Joey Clanton , Tommy Grimes , Greg Stewart , Paul Dallenbach , Butch Miller , Mike Garvey , Matt Hagan , Ricky Johnson , Scott Hansen