Miller wins at Gateway

MADISON, Ill. (October 14, 2000) -- Butch Miller used a two-tire pit stop to hold off rookie sensation Scott Wimmer in the season ending BFGoodrich Tires 200 at Gateway International Raceway. Miller ran into good fortune when leader Kevin Cywinski...

MADISON, Ill. (October 14, 2000) -- Butch Miller used a two-tire pit stop to hold off rookie sensation Scott Wimmer in the season ending BFGoodrich Tires 200 at Gateway International Raceway. Miller ran into good fortune when leader Kevin Cywinski cut a tir e and stopped on the front stretch, allowing Miller and Wimmer to fight it out for the lead over the final 43 laps.

For Miller, it was his 42nd-career victory and the third this season for the #52 Meijer Pontiac. Miller got underneath Wimmer in turn three at lap 181 and never looked back, collecting the win. Wimmer kept the heat on, but with a vibration that developed late in the event, Miller kept the car out front.

"I didn't know where the vibration came from, but it caused me to be afraid to shift," said Miller. "I knew Wimmer was right there on me. He caused me to run harder than I had al night long. He is a great racer and he showed it tonight. I wish him the b est next year."

With the runner-up finish, Wimmer, who will move to the Bush Grand National Series next season, ended a season that saw many ups and downs, included a late season slump.

"This is what this team needed to end this season," said Wimmer. "It was a good run to end the really bad second half of the season we had this year. Butch ran a good, hard race and deserved this win."

Gary St. Amant capped off his championship season in style, collecting another podium finish, his 12th of the year, finishing third. The night was all celebration for the Columbus, Ohio-native, as the skies opened up with showers just after the completion of the event, and St. Amant officially celebrated his second ASA ACDelco Series National Championship in three years. St. Amant led the points from the very first race of 2000 in Lakeland, Fla.

The rookie battle was still up for grabs, as Joey Clanton, after winning the pole, had a 105-point advantage on Robbie Pyle. After leading for much of the early event and leading the most laps, Clanton ran into mechanical problems, putting him down to a 2 7th-place finish. With Pyle's eighth-place finish, he came up just short, allowing Clanton to capture the $50,000 Pat Schauer Memorial Rookie of the Year Award.

The 2000 season will conclude with the National Awards banquet on December 9 at the Opryland Hotel in Nashville, Tenn.

<pre> ASA BFGoodrich Tires 200

MADISON, Ill. -- The finish from Saturday's American Speed Association ACDelco Series $226,700 BFGoodrich Tires 200 at the 1.25-mile Gateway International Raceway. Listed is finishing position, starting position (in parenthesis) driver, make of car, laps co mpleted and reason out, if any.

1)(5) Butch Miller, Pontiac, 200 2)(13) Scott Wimmer, Chevrolet, 200 3)(8) Gary St. Amant, Chevrolet, 200 4)(21) Ricky Johnson, Chevrolet, 200 5)(10) Larry Foyt, Pontiac, 200 6)(7) Greg Stewart, Pontiac, 200 7)(16) David Bonnett, Chevrolet, 200 8)(22) Robbie Pyle, Chevrolet, 200 9)(25) Mike Cope, Chevrolet, 200 10)(4) Glenn Allen Jr., Chevrolet, 200 11)(42) Tim Taylor, Chevrolet, 200 12)(27) Ryan Hemphill, Chevrolet, 200 13)(23) Rick Beebe, Pontiac, 199 14)(39) Dennis Lampman, Chevrolet, 199 15)(38) Kenny Phillips, Chevrolet, 199 16)(28) Ken Alexander, Chevrolet, 199 17)(9) Brian Schwartz, Chevrolet, 198 18)(32) Paul Dallenbach, Pontiac, 198 19)(2) Kevin Cywinski, Chevrolet, 197 20)(20) Dave Sensiba, Pontiac, 197 21)(31) Peter Cozzolino, Pontiac, 197 22)(36) Mark Plows, Chevrolet, 197 23)(24) Tristan Dupuis, Pontiac, 195 24)(35) Johnny Spaw, Pontiac, 193 25)(43) J.C. Beattie Jr., Chevrolet, 190 26)(30) Ted Smokstad, Chevrolet, 190 27)(1) Joey Clanton, Pontiac, 175, electrical 28)(18) Mike Miller, Pontiac, 172, accident 29)(15) Jack Landis, Ford, 168 30)(3) Mike Garvey, Chevrolet, 163 31)(40) Charlie Menard, Chevrolet, 161 32)(11) Greg Edwards, Chevrolet, 141, handling 33)(12) Scott Fraser, Chevrolet, 136, wheel bearing 34)(26) Steve Carlson, Chevrolet, 122, rear end 35)(29) Russ Tuttle, Pontiac, 119, brakes 36)(33) Brandon Sperling, Chevrolet, 104, mechanical 37)(17) Scott Hansen, Ford, 91, transmission 38)(34) Ricky Bryant, Pontiac, 63 39)(6) Mark Dismore, Chevrolet, 52, rear end 40)(14) Joe Nott, Chevrolet, 30, accident 41)(37) Buddy Gainey, Chevrolet, 21, accident 42)(41) Jeff Fultz, Pontiac, 8, accident 43)(19) Tim Sauter, Chevrolet, 6, accident

Race Statistics: Time of Race: 2 hours, 32 minutes, 27.994 seconds Average Speed: 98.382 mph Margin of Victory: 0.129 seconds Lead Changes: 9 among 9 leaders

Lap Leaders: Clanton, 1-54; Cywinski, 55-63; Beebe, 64-69; Allen, 70-83; Carlson, 84-121; Dupuis, 122-133; St. Amant, 134-139; Cywinski, 140-157; Wimmer, 158-181; B. Miller, 182-200.

Cautions: 9 for 50 laps

Final ACDelco Series points after 20 events: 1) St. Amant, 3,584; 2) Cywinski, 3,087; 3) B. Miller, 3,052; 4) Sauter, 2,982; 5) Garvey, 2,943; 6) Hansen, 2,833; 7) Johnson, 2,758; 8) Clanton, 2,741; 9) M. Miller, 2,734; 10) 2,697.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mark Dismore , Larry Foyt , Tim Sauter , Scott Wimmer , Jeff Fultz , Mike Miller , Ryan Hemphill , Joey Clanton , Greg Stewart , Paul Dallenbach , Butch Miller , Mike Garvey , Steve Carlson , Ricky Johnson , Scott Hansen