LM: Odessa results 2005-06-19

Jason Dietsch wins his first career ASA Late Model Series feature in the Kansas City Star 100 at I-70 (MO) Speedway. The ASA Late Model Series Presented by GM Performance Parts invaded the I-70 (MO) Speedway in Odessa, Missouri for the...

Jason Dietsch wins his first career ASA Late Model Series feature in the Kansas City Star 100 at I-70 (MO) Speedway.

The ASA Late Model Series Presented by GM Performance Parts invaded the I-70 (MO) Speedway in Odessa, Missouri for the series' inaugural appearance in the Show-Me State. The Kansas City Star 100 brought a packed house to the ultra fast ½ mile high banked paved oval that is notorious for eating race cars! Four Pat Bourdow Memorial Rookie of the Year title contenders proved that they had nerves as steel as four of the top five finishers were freshmen, led by Edgerton, Ohio pilot, Jason Dietsch, who held off fellow rookie, Brian Campbell over the waning laps to score his first career series win!

Jim Ross and Jason Dietsch led a 28-car field to chief starter, Brad Hockaday's green flag to begin the 100-lap feature! Dietsch beat out Ross to the first corner to take the early lead. Things happen quickly on the big ½ mile as on lap one, the first of eight cautions flew when Brent Downey spun forcing the field to scatter, resulting in Motive Gear Fast Qualifier, Brian Campbell and veteran, Peter Cozzolino to take evasive action. Both ducked into the pits for repairs and started at the rear of the field. On the restart, Dietsch tried in vain to pull away from the field. On lap 12, Jim Ross spun into the front stretch wall and the series point's leader going into the night, Stephen Leicht had nowhere to go and slammed into Ross' machine resulting in Leicht's car ending up climbing the wall and landing on his driver's side! Both drivers were ok but unable to continue! Dietsch would led the field again and try to pull away but Jack Smith would have none of that as on lap 13, Smith drove by Dietsch to take the lead. Smith would set a torrid pace even with five more cautions before the halfway point, most for spins and a couple for serious crashes involving rookie Joey Dennewitz and another hometown favorite, Josh Krug. Both crashes ended both drivers' evenings.

Throughout the restarts, Smith would pull away from the pack as the Buckeye State driver would continue to set a blistering pace when the seventh caution flew on lap 60 when Kris Stump and the lapped car of Jesse Smith touched sending Stump around and Cozzolino once again having to take evasive action. On the restart, Smith's car slowed forcing the drivers behind him to maneuver around the slower car. This gave the lead back to Dietsch who had 15-year-old, Landon Cassill now on his back bumper. Dietsch and Cassill diced in and out of lapped traffic battling for the lead. Campbell, who had patiently worked his way through the pack, found himself now on the two leaders back bumpers. Campbell drove around Cassill for second and set his sights on Dietsch as the laps wound down. Campbell, the Pat Bourdow Memorial Rookie of the Year point's leader, tried every trick in his arsenal to get around Dietsch, but Dietsch, a former series champion with the USA Modifieds Series was up to the challenge as the Edgerton, Ohio driver would fend off Campbell to record his first career ASA Late Model Series victory!

Campbell would settle for second but would take over the overall series points lead as well as maintain the Pat Bourdow Memorial Rookie points lead! Cassill, and Rookies Keeton Hanks and Travis Dassow would round out the top five giving Pat Bourdow Memorial Rookie of the year candidates four of the top five finishing positions! Ryan Tedesco, Stump, Ryan Carlson, Cozzolino, and Joe Ross would complete the top 10. Stump and Carlson are two more Rookie contenders giving the freshmen contenders in the series six of the top 10 positions!

Campbell won the Motive Gear Pole Award for the first time in 2005 as he set a lap time of 16.692 around the ½ mile high-banked paved oval over a 29-car field. Mike Satkowiak won the GM Performance Parts Shootout held earlier in the evening over Tedesco, Joe Ross, Jason Tyler, and Bob Varney, the top five.

The Mid-Michigan Double Weekend Presented by the Michigan Racing Scene is next on tap for the ASA Late Model Series Presented by GM Performance Parts. Friday July 1st will be the Kalamazoo 100 Presented by Tough Coat Powder Coatings at the Kalamazoo (MI) Speedway in Alamo, Michigan. Then the next day, Saturday July 2nd, it will be the Snap-On Tools 100 Presented by Lane Automotive and Q106fm at the Calhoun County (MI) Speedway in Springport, Michigan. For more information, log onto our website at: www.asalatemodels.com

<pre> Kansas City Star 100 (UNOFFICIAL RESULTS) 1. 6 Jason Dietsch 100 Laps 2. 29 Brian Campbell 100 3. 7 Landon Cassill 100 4. 90 Keeton Hanks 100 5. 92 Travis Dassow 100 6. 70 Ryan Tedesco 100 7. 23 Kris Stump 100 8. 32 Ryan Carlson 100 9. 11 Peter Cozzolino 100 10. 27 Joe Ross 99 11. 111 Chase Austin 99 12. 15 Doug Mahlik 99 13. 88 Mike Satkowiak 99 14. 81 Jesse Smith 97 15. 2 Chad Wood 96 16. 3 Bill Tomlinson 94 17. 28 Jack Smith 86 18. 25 Brent Downey 84 19. 97 Jason Tyler 82 20. 84 Brett Piontek 71 21. 93 Doug True 30 22. 31 Derek Bischak 30 23. 4 Josh Krug 18 24. 21 Joey Dennewitz 13 25. 14 Jim Ross 12 26. 89 Stephen Leicht 12 27. 61 Bob Varney 4 28. 98 Nick Mahlik 0 DNS 12 James Butler

Lap Leaders: 14 Jim Ross Pole 6 Jason Dietsch 1-12 28 Jack Smith 13-60 6 Jason Dietsch 61-100

Cautions 8.

GM Performance Part Shootout (UNOFFICIAL RESULTS) 1. 88 Mike Satkowiak 8 Laps 2. 70 Ryan Tedesco 8 3. 27 Joe Ross 8 4. 97 Jason Tyler 8 5. 61 Bob Varney 8 6. 81 Jesse Smith 8 7. 31 Derek Bischak 8 DNS 98 Nick Mahlik DNS 12 James Butler

Lap Leaders: 88 Mike Satkowiak Pole-8

Cautions 0.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Landon Cassill , Ryan Carl , Stephen Leicht , Josh Krug , Chase Austin , Jesse Smith , Jack Smith , James Butler