Lincoln Speedway report 2001-06-09

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/9/01 - In only his second race back after over a year lay-off, Phoenixville's Brian Montieth made the most of it by starting on the pole and leading all 25 laps to score the win in the 25 lap super sprint feature at Lincoln ...

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/9/01 - In only his second race back after over a year lay-off, Phoenixville's Brian Montieth made the most of it by starting on the pole and leading all 25 laps to score the win in the 25 lap super sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Montieth was the class of the field as he drove around lapped traffic for the final 15 non-stop laps and pulled away to a convincing 3.28 second win over Darren Eash.

"We got lucky," said a happy Montieth in victory lane.

The only luck Montieth needed this night was in making the decision to start up front in only his second week of racing this season after opting to start at the rear last weekend while working the bugs of a car he hadn't raced in since 1999. Ironically, the car he raced use to be driven by none other than four-time defending track champion Fred Rahmer.

Montieth, who led all 25 laps in his last win at Lincoln on August 7, 1999, again followed the same route to victory this night as he grabbed the lead at the outset and led the rest of the way to register the win.

"We took a year off and got our finances in's tough to run these things with no money," explained Montieth on his year-long absence. "We didn't have the money to rebuild the motor half-way through the season this year so we said we'd bag half of it and try the last half."

The original start of the 25 lap super sprint feature saw last week's feature winner Glenndon Forsythe and Chris Knopp tangle in the third and fourth turn, bringing out the caution.

The complete restart saw polesitter Montieth grab the lead over outside frontrow starter Mark Coldren. Fourth-starting Niki Young drove by Coldren into second on the opening lap as well, with Coldren, seventh-starting Darren Eash, and third-starting Cliff Brian in tow at the end of the opening lap.

By the time Montieth starting lapping backmarkers on the sixth lap he had already opened up a sizeable 2.90 second lead over Young. Young's chances at a possible victory ended on the 10th lap when he jumped the cushion in the first and second turns and slammed hard into the outside concrete wall - bringing out the red.

This put Darren Eash into second place with two lapped cars between himself and the race-leading Montieth on the restart, with Coldren lurking in third, Brian fourth, and Billy Sims fifth.

On the restart 12th-starting Rahmer entered the fray driving around Sims, Brian, and Coldren into third place by the end of the 10th lap and looked to be mounting a charge to the front.

But Montieth hooked up to the cushion on the highside of the track and slowly began to pull away and had opened up a 1.07 second advantage when he entered lapped traffic on the 15th lap. As Montieth kept his momentum going around the topside of track it became obvious that he only needed to run mistake-free the rest of the way to pick-up the win.

"I like running up top against the's easy," Montieth added with a smile. "We have a Don Ott motor, it's actually a year old and has 14 races on it...and we don't have the money to rebuild it so we just keep running it until it stops."

Montieth took the checkered going away by 3.28 seconds over Darren Eash in the end to register his third career win at the Pigeon Hills oval and collected the $2,500 top prize.

Eight-time 2001 Lincoln winner and defending four-time track champion Rahmer had to settle for third, with Johnny Mackison Jr. fourth, and Brain fifth.

Completing the top-10 were Steve Siegel, Cris Eash, Billy Sims, Mark Coldren, and Bobby Weaver.

Heats for the 24 super sprinters on hand were won by Montieth, Brian, and Rahmer.

Carlisle's Greg Leiby also came back from a year long lay-off to lead all 20 laps of the 358 sprint feature for his inaugural 2001 season win. Leiby, who was injured earlier this year after coming back from a year-long break in racing, grabbed the lead from his outside frontrow starting position at the drop of the green over polesitter Jerry Stinson, with third-starting Kevin Bastian slipping into the runner-up spot before the first lap was in the books.

Fifth-starting Adrian Shaffer drove around Bastian for second place on the fourth lap and tried to race-down the high-flying Leiby. But Leiby was not to be denied this night as he led the rest of the way and took the checkered 2.52 seconds ahead of Shaffer for his sixth career win at Lincoln.

Two-time 2001 winner and defending 358 sprint champion Doug Esh finished third, Brian Eichelberger finished fourth and Allen Krimes finished fifth.

Completing the top-10 was Jake Raudabaugh, Cory Haas, Joe Ilg, Kevin Bastian, and Tony Strine.

Heats for the 29 "358" sprinters were won by Shaffer, Bastian, and Gary Gollub, with Joe Ilg winning the consolation.

Stoverstown's Mike Ziegler Jr. grabbed the lead from Pat McClane on the sixth lap and led the rest of the way to pick-up his fourth win of the season in the 20-lap thundercar feature. McClane, who started on the pole, lead the first five laps of the caution-filled event. Seventh-starting Zeigler moved into fifth place by the end of the fourth lap, into fourth by the second lap, and into second place by the third.

Ziegler then made his race-winning move around McClane on the sixth lap and then had to hold-off a persistent Steve Clabaugh and Bobby Beard over the final laps for his sixth career Lincoln win.

Clabaugh settled for second and was followed by Bobby Beard in third, Neil Smith in fourth and Gary Potts fifth.

Heats for the 29 thundercars were won by Berwager, McClane, and David Prunkl, with Tony Kuhn winning the consolation.

Lincoln Speedway will reel-off two special shows next week. The biggest being the Thurdsday night, June 14th show featuring the ALL STARS & NARC SPRINTERS TAKING ON THE PENNSYLVANIA POSSE in the mid-week special ALL STARS VS. NCRA EASTERN SHOWDOWN. Joining the sprinters will be the thundercar regulars. Gates open at 5:30 PM, with hotlaps at 7 PM and time trials set to get underway at 7:30 PM.

Then next Saturday night, June 16th, the super sprint & thundercar regulars will be host to the traveling UNITED RACING CLUB sprinters. Again gates will open at 5:30 PM, with hotlaps at 7 PM and the first heat taking the green flag at 7:30 PM.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car