Lebanon Valley 98-09-12

HEARN KING OF 358'S, MARCUS WINS SPORTSMAN FEATURE WEST LEBANON, NY - Brett Hearn, of Sussex, NJ, won the 100-lap Race of Kings at Lebanon Valley Saturday night. It was the second year ...

HEARN KING OF 358'S, MARCUS WINS SPORTSMAN FEATURE WEST LEBANON, NY - Brett Hearn, of Sussex, NJ, won the 100-lap Race of Kings at Lebanon Valley Saturday night. It was the second year in a row that Hearn has won this event for the 358-modifieds. George Marcus won a very exciting race in the 30-lap Lebanon Valley sportsman feature. Henry Tanner was victorious in the 20-lap Street Stock feature. Jeff Heotzler led the early portion of the 100-lap 358-modified event. Many of the top guns from the modified ranks were mired in the middle of the pack and trying to work their way to the front. Brett Hearn had started the race in 21st and had worked his way up to ninth by lap eight. Todd Burley stalked early race leader, Heotzler, as the leader approached lapped traffic by the tenth lap. Burley had a scary moment in turn four as he drifted high and almost spun out. He was able to save the car from spinning but did lose second to Andy Bacchetti. The caution flag did fly as Burley almost spun. The restart would find Hearn up to eighth, Rich Ricci Jr 13th and Kenny Tremont 17th. Burley would try and challenge Bacchetti for second on lap 18, but Bacchetti held the position. Hearn was up to seventh when the caution flew on lap 20. The caution would fly again on lap 24 as Tremont lost the handle and spun around in turn two. No one made contact with Tremont, but several other cars crashed together. Tremont continued on after losing ten spots on the track. Hearn would grab fourth on the restart and take third by lap 31. Hearn would pas Bacchetti for second on lap 33. Tremont had worked his way back to ninth by lap 34. Chuck McKee had worked his way up to fifth by lap 31. Good race for seventh between Todd Wilkinson and Danny Johnson on lap 38. Hearn would begin to close the gap on first by lap 40. Hearn would catch Heotzler by lap 41 and take the lead on lap 43. Hearn would encounter heavy traffic by lap 47. As the field crossed the start-finish line at halfway Hearn was the leader, Heotzler was second, Bacchetti was third, Alan Johnson was fourth and McKee was fifth. Pete Bicknell would challenge McKee for the fifth spot on lap 54, McKee would hold off Bicknell until the next lap. The yellow would fly on lap 58, under the caution McKee would pull in the pits and be done for the evening. Heotzler would suffer mechanical failure on lap 78 giving second to Bacchetti. Bicknell and Danny Johnson would race for fourth on lap 81. Tremont would begin to slow on lap 86. The caution flew on lap 89 and Tremont would go pitside with a right rear flat tire. Tremont would return to finish 14th. The restart would see Bacchetti, Alan and Danny Johnson go three wide for second. Bacchetti would hang on for the time being. Alan Johnson would grab second on lap 91. Danny Johnson would take over third on after a lap 93 caution. Bicknell would try to pass Bacchetti for fourth in the last laps of the event but could not make the pass stick. No one could touch the front running Hearn and he easily won the Race of Kings for the second year in a row. Alan Johnson came home second, Danny Johnson third, Bacchetti fourth and Bicknell fifth. Over seventy cars attempted to qualify for the Race of Kings feature. The Lebanon Valley Sportsman ran a special 30-lap feature on Saturday night. Bobby Hackel was the early race leader with John Alberti in tow for second. Chris Kokosa would grab second on a lap three restart. Art Collins would challenge Kokosa for second on lap four, but Kokosa was strong to the challenge. George Marcus would take over fourth on lap ten. Marcus moved up to third on a lap 12 restart. The field was slowed again on lap 13 for a yellow flag. Marcus would challenge Kokosa for second on lap 15 but Kokosa held firm. Kokosa would begin to make a bid for the lead on lap 16 and take over first that same lap. Marcus would grab second by lap 17, setting up the exciting finish. Collins would pass Bobby Chalmers for fourth on lap 19. The field stayed single file for the middle portion of the event, many drivers just waiting for the final laps. The yellow was flown on laps 22-24 allowing Marcus to stay right with Kokosa. The top four cars would pull away from the rest of the field by lap 26. Collins would take over third on lap 28. The last lap was quite a barnburner as Marcus caught Kokosa going into turn one. They went side by side down the backstretch. Kokosa on the outside and Marcus was on the bottom as they went into turn three. Kokosa drifted a little high in the corner and Marcus was able to make the pass for the win. Kokosa would take second, Collins third, Hackel fourth and Chalmers fifth. Henry Tanner was a rocket in the 20-lap street stock feature. He grabbed the lead early in the event and was never seriously challenged. John Routhier would take over fourth on lap two. Adam Haas would take the second place spot on a lap four restart. Lorne Browe would grab fourth on lap seven. A good three-way battle for fifth on laps seven between; Rob Yetman, Routhier and Danny Sanchez. By halfway Tanner had opened up a half straightaway advantage over second. Scott Goversten would take second from Haas on a lap nine restart. Haas and Goversten would race for the second the remainder of the feature. Tanner was untouchable on the front of this event and won easily, Goversten was second, Haas third, Browe fourth and Robbie speed fifth. CASTLE SPRING'S WATER RACE OF KINGS SUMMARY-- BRETT HEARN, Alan Johnson, Danny Johnson, Andy Bachetti, Pete Bicknell, Todd Wilkinson, Bobby Hayes, Mike Benson, Todd Burley, Jack Cotters, Bobby Chalmers, Dale Planck, Mike King, Kenny Tremont, Ron Blake, Guy Sheldon, Jerry Higbie, Mike Ricci, Hector Stratton, Danny O'Brien, Mike Perrotte, Lee Niznik, Pierre Dagenais, Jim Chenette, Pat O'Brien, Bill Mullin, Stan Jablonka, Tim Burnett, Dave Mosher, Jeff Heotzler, Chuck McKee, Rich Ricci Jr, Jeff Trombley, Dick Larkin, Art Collins, Maynard Forrette LEBANON VALLEY SPORTSMAN SUMMARY-- GEORGE MARCUS, Chris Kokosa, Art Collins, Bob Hackel, Bobby Chalmers, Hawley Smith, Carmon Carnibucci, Mike Mason, Jay Casey, Chris Moore, John Alberti, Darral Hulbert, Larry Southard, Ryan Odasz, Gary Graham, John Harrison, Ed Riiska, Tony Ferrieao, Mike Visconti, Tony LaPorta, Ron Blake, Mark Pullen, Ernie Palmer, K.C. Goewey, Scott Flammer, Tom Athanis, Dave Baronowski STREET STOCK SUMMARY--HENRY TANNER, Scott Govertsen, Adam Haas, Lorne Browe, Robbie Speed, Rob Yetman, Steve Brownell, John Routhier, Dave Kokindo, Tom Brandt, Dave Dowd, Jeff Kelmel, Victor Hopkins, Shane Peele, Mike McDowell, Don Ely, Bobby Blackburn, Danny Sanchez, Spencer Hughes, Rick Spencer, Chris Morris, Charlie Humes, Larry Turner ROOKIE STREET STOCK SUMMARY-- JOE PLATT, Mark Lathrop, Don Shepard, Tim Emmons, John Denue, Dan Therrien, Mike Bungay, Bob Miller, E J Legeyt, Walt Clark, Jeff Sukup, Wayne Hall, Geo Stalker Jr, Chris Lawlor, Don Collins PURE STOCK A SUMMARY-- ERIC SBREGA, Philip Moffit, Anthony Cotugno, Mark Huston, Anthony Lopresti, Danny Ensign, Ron Irvan, Ed Ashley, Ron Tritchler, John Fachini, Charlie Woodard, Bill Krug, Dave Hall, Bruce Moffit, Joe Hallenbeck PURE STOCK B SUMMARY-- RICH KRATT, Ryan Crellin, Danny Burl, Guy Hughes, Jim Dellea, Jake Coons, Pete Leffler, Ramon Perry, Louis Mellan, B. Houghtaling, Tom Meltz, R. Schumann Jr, Tony Fachini, Spencer Cushing, Tony Gale PURE STOCK C SUMMARY-- PETER DE FIGLIO, Tim Drumm, Henry Warner, George Miles, Kirk Stanaway, Ron Fredericks, William Hammell, Joe Mottoshiski, Scott Kilmer, Wayne Proper Sr, Tom Sanchez Jr, Bob Palmer, Bill Hughes, Josh Webb

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bob Miller , Brett Hearn