Lake Erie, I-70 and Pikes Peak added to 2004 schedule

Pendleton, Ind. (November 11, 2003) - The 2004 ASA Racing Series schedule continues to form with the addition of three new dates at state-of-the-art Lake Erie Speedway in Pennsylvania, legendary I-70 Speedway in ...

Pendleton, Ind. (November 11, 2003) - The 2004 ASA Racing Series schedule continues to form with the addition of three new dates at state-of-the-art Lake Erie Speedway in Pennsylvania, legendary I-70 Speedway in Missouri and the one-mile Pikes Peak International Raceway in Colorado. With three events added to the 2004 schedule, 16 of the 18 dates have been filled for the 37th season of championship stock car racing for the series that builds champions.

ASA makes it second consecutive visit to the state-of-the-art Lake Erie Speedway, located in Erie, Pa. on Saturday, May 29. Series veteran Robbie Pyle won the inaugural event at the .375-mile oval in 2003, finishing ahead of three-time ASA Champion Butch Miller and first-year driver Toby Porter.

Lake Erie Speedway is just a short 15 minutes commute from the shores of Lake Erie and offers one of the most beautiful spots for a racetrack in the country. "It truly is a great setting for a racetrack, but even more importantly it has every thing necessary to host a show of our nature," said Joe Balash, ASA Operations Director. "For our marketing partners and competitors, everyone was thrilled with Lake Erie Speedway in 2003. The racing was sensational!"

Making its 29th appearance at the legendary I-70 Speedway located in Odessa, Missouri, just 30 miles east of Kansas City, ASA returns to the challenging .54-mile oval on Saturday, June 26.

The 36-year-old, high-banked facility in western Missouri has been the scene of some of the greatest races in the "Show-Me State." The track has been running in continuous operation since it was opened in August 1968. At the time of it's opening, it was the only paved track in Missouri and the Kansas City area.

"ASA's history is almost to the year the same length as I-70 Speedway and because of that there has been a close relationship between the two entities through the years," said Larry Kemp, General Manager of I-70 Speedway. "With the improvements that we are making and our traditionally great fan base, I believe ASA will continue to succeed here for a long time to come."

ASA has held 28 events at I-70 Speedway with Dick Trickle atop the victory charts with five. Mike Eddy has visited the winner's circle on four occasions with Mike Garvey, Mike Miller and Bob Senneker winning two races. Glenn Allen Jr., Joey Clanton, Larry Detjens, Todd Forbes, Brad Loney, Mark Martin, Butch Miller, Adam Petty, Ruttman, Johnny Sauter, Tim Sauter, Gary St. Amant and Dave Watson are single-event winners. Garvey won the 2003 event at I-70 after powering around Donny Reuvers on the 171st circuit of the 250-lap event.

After a five-year absence, the ASA Racing Series returns to the Pikes Peak International Raceway in Fountain, Co. on Sunday, July 4. In ASA's first visit in August of 1998, Mike Garvey captured the victory fending off challenges from all-time victory leader Bob Senneker and eventual 2001 ASA National Champion Johnny Sauter.

Pikes Peak International Raceway consists of a 1-mile D-shaped oval with grandstand seating for over 42,000 fans. The lowest row of grandstand seating is elevated 16 feet above ground level, providing a complete view of the track from nearly every seat.

"The quality of racing and the total facility at Pikes Peak is strictly big league," said Mark Gundrum, ASA Vice-President of Sales and Marketing. "ASA had a successful outing there in 1998 and this is another opportunity to bring the ASA brand of racing to Colorado."

The ASA Racing Series completed its 36th season at Nashville, Tenn. in October. Kevin Cywinski, of Wausau, Wis., earned $200,000 for his 2003 National Championship while Reed Sorenson, of Peachtree City, Ga., won honors as the $50,000 Rookie of the Year.

Both Cywinski, previously the 1997 series champion, and Sorenson will be honored at the ASA National Awards Banquet on Saturday, January 24, at Caesars Indiana hotel Casino near Louisville, Ky.

The entire 2004 ASA Racing Series schedule continues to be formulated with a total of 18 events making up the expected final slate.

For additional information on the ASA Racing Series visit


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Dick Trickle , Tim Sauter , Johnny Sauter , Reed Sorenson , Mike Garvey