Indianapolis Speedrome results 2003-08-13

Doug Greig snagged his first career Speedrome Red Line Graphics Late Model Figure-8 Wednesday night with a stunning victory over points leader R. J. Norton, Jr. Greig has triumphed on tracks throughout the Midwest and Florida and has won ...

Doug Greig snagged his first career Speedrome Red Line Graphics Late Model Figure-8 Wednesday night with a stunning victory over points leader R. J. Norton, Jr. Greig has triumphed on tracks throughout the Midwest and Florida and has won championships in open competition figure-8 events elsewhere plus championships in the Speedrome's Stock division and multiple Legend Car crowns. Greig got around early leader Leonard Basham and held off a spirited charge from Norton for the win. Bill Tunny, Jr., Bruce Tunny and Bobby Douthitt rounded out the top five.

Mark Tunny put another one in the record books as the teen-aged rookie claimed the 25-Lap Late Model oval feature to go with his Figure-8 win of two weeks ago. Tunny charged past front-row starters Bob Foster, Sr. and Casey White on the first lap and never looked back. Mark's father, defending track champion Bruce Tunny, chased the boy to the checkers with Doug Greig, Rodney Sizemore and Steve Frost a half-lap back. Fast time went to Bobby Douthitt with Greig tops in the dash. Sizemore, Frost and Bill Tunny, Jr. took heat races with Jeff Hizer winning the Last Chance Race.

Another new winner entered victory lane as Wayne Garner took his first feature of 2003 in the Chuck's Race Car Parts Outlaw Stocks 25-Lap oval feature. A daring last-turn, last-lap move by Jimmy Kirby landed him second place followed by Rick Gillespie, Corey Turner and Chris Stewart with points leader Kerry Wright cruising to seventh. Kirby was quickest in the time trials with Garner and Dusty Hunt claiming the qualifying races.

D. J. Rhodes was undeniable in the Sunshine Cafe Roadrunner 20-lapper with his first win of 2003 over Barry Coy. Bill Norris, Jacob Miller and Dusty Sapp survived for top five spots in a race that saw many favorites drop out including championship challengers Robert Buskirk and John Collins. Points leader Scott Tabor was not in attendance. Qualifying races went to Collins, Coy and Michael Carson.

The Speedrome Hornets celebrated another new winner as John Davenport topped a scrappy field including runner-up "Biskit" Smith who drew even with Davenport for a near photo-finish. Former points leader Bobby Keith was third followed by Darrell Keith, Dan Carson and points leader Michael George. Preliminaries went to points challenger Rob Hurt, "Biskit" Smith and Tim L. Smith.


FAST QUALIFIER - Bobby Douthitt 13.405
HEAT RACE WINNERS - Rodney Sizemore, Bill Tunny Jr., Steve Frost
1. Mark Tunny
2. Bruce Tunny
3. Doug Greig
4. Rodney Sizemore
5. Steve Frost
6. Bobby Douthitt
7. R. J. Norton, Jr.
8. George Sutton
9. Curtis McMurtrey
10. Jeff Hizer
11. Victor Rybolt
12. Casey White
13. Bill Fortner
14. Speedy Teepe
15. Bob Foster, Sr.
16. Bill Tunny, Jr.
17. Bobby Whitaker
18. Christopher Green

1. Doug Greig
2. R.J. Norton, Jr.
3. Bill Tunny, Jr.
4. Bruce Tunny
5. Bobby Douthitt
6. Rodney Sizemore
7. Curtis McMurtrey
8. Mark Tunny
9. Leonard Basham
10. George Sutton
11. Ben Tunny
12. Christopher Green
13. Victor Rybolt
14. Bobby Whitaker
15. Casey White
16. Speedy Teepe
17. Bob Foster, Sr.
18. Steve Frost
19. Jeff Hizer

FAST QUALIFIER - Jimmy Kirby 14.324
HEAT RACE WINNERS - Wayne Garner, Dusty Hunt
1. Wayne Garner
2. Jimmy Kirby
3. Rick Gillespie
4. Corey Turner
5. Chris Stewart
6. Brian Luttrell
7. Kerry Wright
8. Dusty Hunt
9. Al Fullenkamp
10. Jimmy Swatts

HEAT RACE WINNERS - Michael Carson, Barry Coy, John Collins
20-LAP "A" MAIN -
1. D. J. Rhodes
2. Barry Coy
3. Bill Norris
4. Jacob Miller
5. Dusty Sapp
6. Bill McLain
7. Robert Perkins
8. Robert Buskirk
9. Diane Bohnenkamp
10. Brad Bohnenkamp
11. Danny Moon
12. Danny French
13. Rob Matney
14. Jason Perkins
15. Ricky Martin
16. Michael Carson
17. John Collins
18. Zach Ridener
19. Mark Alderson
20. William Clark

HEAT RACE WINNERS - Rob Hurt, Biscuit Smith, Tim L. Smith
20-LAP "A" MAIN -
1. John Davenport
2. Biscuit Smith
3. Bobby Keith
4. Darrell Keith
5. Dan Carson
6. Michael George
7. Terry Pierson
8. Tim L. Smith
9. Claude Hopper
10. Shorty Gross
11. Howard Wessel
12. Jeff Thomas
13. Tom Carson
14. Robert Carson
15. Brad Brookshire
16. Terry Neal
17. Trevor Lay
18. Donnie Scurry
19. Jimmy Foster III
20. Larry Patrick
21. Michael Gross
22. Allen Pavey
23. Rob Hurt
24. Dan Troope
25. R.J. Norton III
26. Anna Wessel


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Tom Carson , Bob Foster