Indianapolis Speedrome results 2003-06-27

Rodney Smith came into Friday night's All-Phase SuperModified pits full of cautious optimism. The old dirt modified they had found in the local Trader Paper had been a handful in its first two goes but showed a lot of promise with a trophy dash...

Rodney Smith came into Friday night's All-Phase SuperModified pits full of cautious optimism. The old dirt modified they had found in the local Trader Paper had been a handful in its first two goes but showed a lot of promise with a trophy dash win last week. The luck of the draw put Smith outside of pole-sitter Mike Hadley, Jr. where Smith took early control of the 50-lap main. Smith won coast-to-coast with the teenager Hadley giving a strong performance in a very loose race car. After running second for most of the race Hadley spun and fell back just past midway. Johnny Hargraves crossed the stripe a hard-charging second with Max Olmsted right behind followed by last week's winner Cynthia Sizemore and Spike Brickley. Tim George was fastest in qualifying but broke in the preliminaries. Billy George claimed the dash while Johnny Hargraves, Smith and Brickley aced the heat races. Points leader Charlie Hargraves took an early out of the feature as did runner-up Billy George to! keep the championship battle interesting.

Before he even qualified Ricky Schaeffer was predicting a win in the Chuck's Race Car Parts Outlaw Stocks. He was right, mostly. Shaeffer won his heat and led all bt one lap of the Figure-8. The one lap he failed to lead was the last one. Points leader Kerry Wright topped Schaeffer at the line for the win in the 15-lap left/right challenge. Schaeffer was second follwed by Jack Smith, Scott McGill and Brian Luttrell. The 25-lap oval part of the card went to Ricky Amos for his first main of the season. Corey Turner tried everything he could to get around Amos but came up short. Smith, Wright and top rookie Ed Brickley filled out the top five. Brickley and Schaeffer claimed heat wins with Kerry Wright fastest in qualifications.

Ricky Martin was tops in the Sunshine Cafe Roadrunners with Mark Eads, Donnie Wild, John Collins and Jeff Kowell right behind. Heats went to Robert Buskirk and Wild. It was the final night for the April/May/June championship chase in the division with Jimmy Hardcastle sitting out the night with the champ's crown clinched.

The popular Speedrome Hornets put on another slam-bang affair with Danny Carson on top of Rob Hurt, Shawn Chapman, Daniel Keith and Mike Smith, Jr. Heats went to Howard Wessell, Hurt and Tom Courtney. Championship contenders Mike George and Bobby Keith finished well down the sheet and failed to gain points towards the championship.

Mike Fischer had the 15-lap Bomber Figure-8 main sewed up until a white flag cross-over crash took him out of the top spot and giving Rick Howard another gold in the division.Fischer limped home second followed by Scott Cothron, Herb Carson and Jeff Smith. the preliminaries went to Brian Cantor and Smith.

FAST QUALIFIER - Tim George 13.576
HEAT WINNERS - Jonny Hargraves, Rodney Smith, Spike Brickley

1. Rodney Smith
2. Johnny Hargraves
3. Max Olmsted
4. Cynthia Sizemore
5. Spike Brickley
6. Joe Thurman
7. Bob Higgins
8. Ray Evert
9. Billy Boyer
10. Dale McPeak
11. Billy George
12. Mike Hadley, Jr.
13. Chris Shrum
14. Charlie Hargraves
15. Chad Warweg
16. Rob McCalister, Sr.
17. Fred Baumgardner
18. Tim George

FAST QUALIFIER - Kerry Wright 14.533
HEAT WINNERS - Ricky Schaeffer, Ed Brickley

1. Ricky Amos
2. Corey Turner
3. Jack Smith
4. Kerry Wright
5. Ed Brickley
6. Brian Luttrell
7. Johnny Hynes
8. Ricky Schaeffer III
9. Danny French
10. Ricky Martin

1. Kerry Wright
2. Ricky Schaeffer III
3. Jack Smith
4. Scott McGill
5. Brian Luttrell
6. Ed Brickley
7. Johnny Hynes
8. Corey Turner
9. Barry Coy
10. Jimmy Barr

HEAT WINNERS - Robert Buskirk, Donnie Wild

1. Ricky Martin
2. Mark Eads, Jr.
3. Donnie Wild
4. John Collins
5. Jeff Kowell
6. Kevin Smith
7. Shawn Eastridge
8. Frank Hardcastle
9. Barry Coy
10. Scott Tabor
11. Diane Bohnenkamp
12. Shorty Gross
13. Keiffer Tabor
14. Mike Adams
15. Charlie O'Connor
16. Randy Allen
17. Robert Buskirk
18. Gerald Ross
19. Nick Moore
20. Danny French

HEAT WINNERS - Howard Wessel, Rob Hurt, Tom Courtney

1. Danny Carson
2. Rob Hurt
3. Shawn Chapman
4. Daniel Keith
5. Mike Smith, Jr.
6. Ricky Martin
7. Jay Chapman
8. Paul Parker
10. Joe Taylor
11. Tom Courtney
12. Bobby Keith
13. Richie Alexander
14. Howard Wessell
15. Terry Neal
16. Jerry Moore
17. Shorty Gross
18. Greg Wendell
19. Anna Wessell
20. Dave Lambert
21. Sandy Duncan

HEAT WINNERS - Brian Cantor, Jeff Smith

1. Rick Howard
2. Mike Fischer
3. Scott Cothron
4. Herb Carson
5. Jeff Smith
6. Brian Cantor
7. Barry Tabor
8. Richard Rose
9. Tony Hackney
10. Ken Turnipseed, Jr.
11. Jerry Green
12. Buddy Tabor

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Rick Howard , Tom Courtney , Jack Smith , Jeff Smith , Mike Smit