Indianapolis Speedrome results 2003-06-11

A huge crowd of fans and special guests gathered at the Indianapolis Speedrome for the second of the track's Community Days. Over 25 local church groups enjoyed a night of racing and fun as the guests of the track and Johnathan Byrd II, the host...

A huge crowd of fans and special guests gathered at the Indianapolis Speedrome for the second of the track's Community Days. Over 25 local church groups enjoyed a night of racing and fun as the guests of the track and Johnathan Byrd II, the host of the weekly radio program "Speedrome Live."

Steve Frost overtook pole-sitter Bob Foster, Sr. early in the 25-Lap oval feature for the Speedrome's Red Line Graphics Late Models and held off a strong challenge from defending division champ Bruce Tunny for the win. Steve becomes the 12th different winner in 13 features. Bobby Douthitt, Jeff Hizer and Bill Tunny, Jr. followed for the top five. Hizer and George Sutton shared heat wins with Bruce Tunny setting fast time.

Steve Frost tried to double-up on feature wins by leading the night's 35-Lap Figure-8 but Bobby Douthitt was not to be denied. Douthitt took control just past halfway and never let go. Top rookie Mark Tunny was second followed by Jeff Hizer, Curtis McMurtrey, Rodney Sizemore and points leader R.J. Norton, Jr. Defending champ Bruce Tunny struggled in traffic for a ninth place finish with Frost dropping back to tenth after encountering traffic problems.

Jack Smith led the most laps but Jimmy Kirby led the one that counted. Three former Speedrome Outlaw Stock Champions ran nose-to-tail into turn one of the white flag lap but only Kirby came out. Smith led at the line with Kirby racing hard to pass on the outside and Brian Luttrell tucked in behind waiting for an opportunity. Smith and Kirby touched with Smith spinning and stalling, Kirby sustaining damage and Luttrell flattening a tire. Luttrell limped home second, Smith was credited with third, early leader Herb Carson and rookie Dusty Hunt rounded out the top five. Kirby had set fast time with Carson tops in the fast heat.

During the week he mows lawns but on Wednesday night landscaper Donnie Wild mowed down the Sunshine Cafe Roadrunner field with a big win over high-schooler Nick Moore, points leader Jimmy Hardcastle, Danny French and Ricky Martin. It was Wild's first win of the season and Moore's best finish since winning a main early in the season. Wild and Todd Amos took the qualifying races earlier in the program.

John Fullenkamp was the man to catch in the Speedrome Hornets but not even last-lap heroics from young Michael George could keep Fullenkamp from the Speedrome's Victory Lane. Saturday night's winner Paul McDougalle, stock car veteran Jamie Brickley and Eddie Brown, Jr followed. Points leader Bobby Keith struggled in the pack and settled for seventh place. George and Shawn Chapman snagged the wins in the preliminary races.


FAST QUALIFIER - Bruce Tunny 13.455
HEAT RACE WINNERS - Jeff Hizer, George Sutton

1. Steve Frost
2. Bruce Tunny
3. Bobby Douthitt
4. Jeff Hizer
5. Bill Tunny, Jr.
6. Rodney Sizemore
7. R.J. Norton, Jr.
8. George Sutton
9. Jeff Shackelford
10. Curtis McMurtrey
11. Bobby Whitaker
12. Mark Tunny
13. Bob Foster, Sr.
14. Casey White
15. Christopher Green
16. Ben Tunny

1. Bobby Douthitt
2. Mark Tunny
3. Jeff Hizer
4. Curtis McMurtrey
5. Rodney Sizemore
6. R.J. Sizemore
7. Doug Greig
8. George Sutton
9. Bruce Tunny
10. Steve Frost
11. Ben Tunny
12. Casey White
13. Bob Foster, Sr.
14. Bobby Whitaker
15. Christopher Green
16. Bill Tunny, Jr
17. Jeff Shackelford

FAST QUALIFIER - Jimmy Kirby 14.513
HEAT RACE WINNERS - Herb Carson, Ricky Schaeffer

1. Jimmy Kirby
2. Brian Luttrell
3. Jack Smith
4. Herb Carson
5. Dusty Hunt
6. Joe Alley
7. Ricky Schaeffer
8. Johnny Hynes
9. Larry Hahn
10. Kelly Fields

HEAT RACE WINNERS - Donnie Wild, Todd Amos

1. Donnie Wild
2. Nick Moore
3. Jimmy Hardcastle
4. Danny French
5. Ricky Martin
6. Dustin Sapp
7. Charlie O'Connor
8. Robert Buskirk
9. Larry Thomas
10. Kevin Woodsmall
11. Barry Coy
12. Todd Amos
13. Shawn Eastridge
14. D.J. Rhoades
15. Scott Tabor
16. Kevin Smith

HEAT RACE WINNERS - Shawn Chapman, Michael George

1. John Fullenkamp
2. Michael George
3. Paul McDougalle
4. Jamie Brickley
5. Eddie Brown, Jr.
6. Howard Wessell
7. Bobby Keith
8. Richard Rose
9. Rob Hunt
10. Jerry Moore
11. Anna Wessell
12. Richy Alexander
13. Richard McCarty
14. Darrell Keith
15. Shawn Chapman


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bob Foster , Jack Smith