Indianapolis Speedrome results 2003-06-07

The young lions roared on the Indianapolis Speedrome oval as young Mark Murello took the 25-Lap oval feature over Donnie Garrigus III. Murello used an up-front start to full advantage holding off Garrigus and fast qualifier Curtis McMurtrey. Bruce...

The young lions roared on the Indianapolis Speedrome oval as young Mark Murello took the 25-Lap oval feature over Donnie Garrigus III. Murello used an up-front start to full advantage holding off Garrigus and fast qualifier Curtis McMurtrey. Bruce Tunny gained on points leader R.J. Norton, Jr. with a fourth place and Doug Greig came home fifth. Tunny claimed the Hutchison Signs Trophy Dash with heat wins going to Garrigus, Christopher Green and Jeff Shackelford. Steve Durham claimed the Last Chance Race but struggled in the main.

Bruce Tunny has hit his stride taking the 50-Lap Figure-8 with a commanding win over points leader R.J. Norton, Jr. Bobby Douthitt dueled with Norton but settled for third with Bill Tunny, Jr and a surprising Jeff Shackelford for fifth. Bruce Tunny's win tightens up the championship chase with Norton as Rodney Sizemore and Bill Tunny, Jr. continue to search for those elusive wins.

Kerry Wright continues to blaze the trail in the Chuck's Race Car Parts Outlaw Stocks picking up his fourth consecutive feature gold in Saturday's 25-Lap feature. Wright started deep in the pack with past champion Jimmy Kirby but broke through to line up on mid-race leaders Herb Carson and Larry Hahn which gave us a 1-2-3 run with former Roadrunner division champions. Carson and Hahn faded leaving Jimmy Kirby chasing Wright at the checkers. Jack Smith, Gary Mathes and Tim Mink filled out the top five. Carson in his heavier Bomber Figure-8 car finished ninth. Wright was fast qualifier with heat wins going to Corey Turner, Dennis Sloan and rookie Dusty Hunt.

A pair of features challenged the Sunshine Cafe Roadrunners with Larry Thomas claiming the first event with a win in a 25-lap "normal" oval race. Jeffrey Smith and Kevin Smith followed Thomas in a very tough go that left even Thomas' car smoking and dead at the winner's celebration. The second main was run as a "Flagpole" race, a fan favorite that features a fifth turn at the start/finish line. Danny "The Bruiser" French, former "Iron Man" award winner, stuck his nose in for the win when leaders David Lee Byrd and Jimmy Hardcastle tangled going for the checkered. Points leader Hardcastle took second then Byrd, Shawn Eastridge and Ricky Martin. Heat wins went to Shawn Kloss, Dustin Sapp and Martin.

A heavy car count meant two features for the Speedrome Hornets with Chad Frye picking up a win in his first time on the track since his bicycle racing days. Frye started up front of the first feature with Mike Gross and veteran racer and mechanic Tim Harding in third. The second feature saw Paul McDougalle on top in his second win in two appearances. Points challenger Michael Geaorge and Jerry Moore followed with points leader Bobby Keith last on the finish chart with a rare DNF. Heat wins went to McDougalle, Harding and Tom Courtney.


FAST QUALIFIER - Curtis McMurtrey 13.431
HEAT RACE WINNERS - Donnie Garrigus III, Christopher Green, Jeff Shackelford

1. Mark Murello (first career LM win)
2. Donnie Garrigus III
3. Curtis McMurtrey
4. Bruce Tunny
5. Doug Greig
6. Bobby Douthitt
7. George Sutton
8. Mark Tunny
9. Rodney Sizemore
10. Jeff Hizer
11. Bill Tunny, Jr.
12. R.J. Norton, Jr.
13. Christopher Green
14. Jeff Shackelford
15. Steve Durham
16. Steve Frost
17. Bobby Whitaker
18. Ben Tunny

1. Bruce Tunny
2. R.J. Norton, Jr.
3. Bobby Douthitt
4. Bill Tunny, Jr.
5. Jeff Shackelford
6. Rodney Sizemore
7. Jeff Hizer
8. Mark Murello
9. George Sutton
10. Ben Tunny
11.Donnie Garrigus III
12. Mark Tunny
13. Christopher Green
14. Donnie Sloan
15. Steve Frost
16. Casey White
17. Ronnie Rigdon
18. Doug Greig
19. Bob Foster, Sr.
20. Darrell Doty
21. Curtis McMurtrey

FAST QUALIFIER - Kerry Wright 14.282
HEAT RACE WINNERS - Corey Turner, Dennis Sloan, Dusty Hunt

1. Kerry Wright
2. Jimmy Kirby
3. Jack Smith
4. Gary Mathes
5. Tim Mink
6. Dusty Hunt
7. Dennis Sloan
8. Larry Hahn
9. Herb Carson
10. Rick Gillespie
11. Johnny Hynes
12. Brian Luttrell
13. Corey Turner
14. Richard Amos

HEAT RACE WINNERS - Shawn Kloss, Dustin Sapp, Ricky Martin

1. Larry Thomas
2. Jeffrey Smith
3. Kevin Smith
4. Randy Allen
5. Stephen Wright
6. Ron Enochs
7. Kevin Ciesiolka
8. Mike Smith, Sr.
9. Sam Wilson
10. Joe Johnson
11. Johnny Byrd
12. Jeff Kowell

1. Danny French
2. Jimmy Hardcastle
3. David Lee Byrd
4. Shawn Eastridge
5. Ricky Martin
6. Robert Buskirk
7. Shawn Kloss
8. Barry Coy
9. John Collins
10. Nick Young

HEAT RACE WINNERS - Paul McDougalle, Tim Harding, Tim Courtney

1. Chad Frye
2. Mike Gross
3. Tim Harding
4. Howard Wessel
5. Bill Frye
6. Richard Rose
7. Darryl Keith
8. John Fullenkamp
9. Chuck McGiinis
10. Tom Courtney
11. William Coy
12. Jeremy Biggerstaff
13. Porter Bennett

1. Paul McDougalle
2. Mike George
3. Jerry Moore
4. Rick McCarty
5. Ed Brown, Jr.
6. Ricky Martin
7. Anna Wessel
8. Scott Mckinney
9. Shorty Gross
10. Tim Smith
11. Robert Perkins
12. Shawn Chapman
13. Richard Byrd
14. Bobby Keith


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bill Frye , Bob Foster , Ed Brown , Tom Courtney , Jack Smith , Ben Porter , Mike Smit