Ice Chips 1999-04-14

ICE CHIPS BY DEBI DOMBY, SOUTHGATE, MICHIGAN The list continues to grow with drivers running the AC Delco/Murray's Iceman Series in 1999. The entry list is headed by three series champions, 1998 & 1992 champion Fred Campbell, 1997 champion ...



The list continues to grow with drivers running the AC Delco/Murray's Iceman Series in 1999. The entry list is headed by three series champions, 1998 & 1992 champion Fred Campbell, 1997 champion Glenn Gault and 1996 champion Dave Kuhlman. Also sending in entry blanks are: Jim Baker, Scott Baker, Doug DeGarmo, Harold Fair Jr, Mike Hennesey, Phil Massuch, 1998 Rookie of the Year - Claude Plante Jr (with a new sponsor Wynn's), Don St. Denis, Steve Seegott. Three Rookie of the Year challengers are signed up - Dan Ford Jr, Brett Reaume and Bill Vinton. Returning to the series after a year's absence is Jason Mignogna.

The series is still in negotiations with three tracks, Baer Field, Mansfield and Springport.

The AC Delco/Murray's Iceman Series will open their 1999 season at Flat Rock Speedway on May 8. Practice sessions for that race (along with the local divisions) is on April 22. Practice for Toledo will be held on April 30 from 4-8 pm and May 2 from 12-5 pm.

Two Iceman cars were at Flat Rock's open practice last Saturday. Jim Baker was shaking down his unsponsored two tone blue #74 Monte Carlo while rookie Brett Reaume was getting some laps on a new track in his Westside Performance parts Black & yellow #77. Also seen walking around the track was another rookie Dan Ford Jr who will be behind the wheel of a blue & silver #99 this season with sponsorship from Walt Michals RV.


Flat Rock Speedway August 24, 1991

Sheppard emerged as the victor over Dave Sensiba in the eighth race of the Iceman 1000 Series, Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway. This was Sheppard's third victory this year in the series. It was the tightest and most exciting battle for the lead this season.

Sheppard of Mt. Clemens, Michigan took the lead from his pole position and never relinquished it. It is the second race this season in which he has led from green to checker and the Mt. Clemens, Michigan driver is the only one ever to do so in the series.

Dave Sensiba abruptly took over second place when he was propelled past Jerry Cook after receiving a jolting shot from the car behind him on lap 28. The second generation driver promptly began pressuring Sheppard for the lead.

The duel between the first and second place was so impressive that it kept the standing room only crowd on the edge of their seats. Sensiba running the slippery second groove tried to pass Sheppard and the pair ran door handle to door handle for many laps. It was impossible to tell who the winner would be until the checker flag fell. At the end of 100 laps it was the Sheppard Motors Sales Pontiac by two feet over Sensiba's Western Michigan Oldsmobile.

The win moved Sheppard and Sensiba, who had been tied for third going into this race, into second and third place. They have 41 and 40 points, and trail point leader Tim Ice (59) with two races remaining.

Eighteen of the twenty-four starters were still running at the end of the race. This was quite unusual, considering it was an all green 100 lap race on the high banked quarter mile track. A loss of half the field is normal for long distance races on this track. Dennis Berry, who entered tonight's race in second place in points, dropped to fourth after being involved in two skirmishes. The second incident ended his race, with a broken right rear shock. Other retirees from the race were: Dave Kuhlman, water pump; Kenny Vaughan, broken rear axle; Bobby Thomsen, overheating; Brian Conz, rear end and Bobby Moore, too slow.

Race winner Rick Sheppard commented after the race, 'Dave Sensiba raced me hard but very clean. I was very impressed with his driving, there were a few times out there tonight when he could've taken me out, but he didn't, especially there towards the end, since my car had developed a push."

An excited second place finisher Dave Sensiba remarked, "This is my first time running here at Flat Rock and I really like this track. The track reminds me of my home track, Kalamazoo Speedway, except you turn more and all the corners are the same here at Flat Rock. I enjoyed myself out there tonight and I'll be back."

Margin of Victory: two feet Cautions: 10 Lead Changes: none Fast Qualifier: Jay Sommers 11.741 (76.654 mph) Last Chance: Jim Baker, Kenny Vaughan, Scott Baker, Bobby Thomsen, Bobby Moore, Brian Conz, Brian Pelletier, Randy Basballe

Feature: Rick Sheppard, Dave Sensiba, Tim Ice, Jay Sommers, Steve Lee, Mark Johnson, Steve Bunge, Joy Fair, Scott Baker, Terry Cook, Sam Herron, Roger Waldecker, Jerry Cook, John Sawatsky, Gary Hawes, Jimmy Baker, Ronnie Allen, Jeff Sullivan, Dave Kuhlman, Bobby Thomsen, Dennis Berry, Kenny Vaughan, Brian Conz

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Terry Cook , Brian Conz