I-70 Speedway Race Report and Results

ODESSA, Mo. (June 24, 2000) – On a hot and humid night at I-70 Speedway, Tim Sauter picked up his fifth career win and avoided two major accidents, one of which saw two cars get upside down and another catch fire, to capture the Missouri 300 ...

ODESSA, Mo. (June 24, 2000) – On a hot and humid night at I-70 Speedway, Tim Sauter picked up his fifth career win and avoided two major accidents, one of which saw two cars get upside down and another catch fire, to capture the Missouri 300 presented by Jani-King. The victory for Sauter comes on the second high-banked track the series has visited in 2000, the other being Nashville Speedway USA, where Sauter also collected the win.

“This is an incredible feat to win here,” said Sauter, driving the #9 Build A Mold Chevrolet. “We kept trying to free the car up all night and by the end, we were just rolling through the corners. This is what short-track racing is all about.”

The first of the two major crashes occurred on lap 86, when Tristan Dupuis spun across the track and was struck by two other cars. The accident eliminated four cars and slowed the event for 15 laps.

A red flag was brought out on lap 123 when Mike Garvey and Philip Kranefuss got together coming off turn two. Kranefuss’ #27 Mobil 1 car barrel rolled several times and was hit in mid air by Mark E. Dismore’s #44 Chevrolet. The chain reaction involved 14 cars, including Ricky Johnson #22 Herzog Motor Sports Chevrolet as it went upside down, but would later return to the event.

Sauter led 44 of the 300 laps in a race that saw 13 different drivers lead at least one lap. He pocketed $17,800 for the win. Greg Stewart posted his best career finish with a runner-up result. He led for 41 laps, but couldn’t hold off Sauter. National Championship points leader Gary St. Amant finished third.

St. Amant continues as point leader heading to Chicago Motor Speedway on July 16. Second-place Sauter trails St. Amant by 131 points. After a two-week break, the ASA ACDelco Series returns for the USAMeats.com 200 in Chicago. The event will take the green at 2 p.m. (Central) and will be telecast live on TNN Sports.

ASA ACDelco Series Missouri 300

ODESSA, MO – The unofficial finish from Saturday’s $199,300 American Speed Association ACDelco Series Missouri 300 presented by Jani-King at the half-mile I-70 Speedway. Listed is finishing and starting position (in parenthesis) driver, make of car, laps completed and reason out, if any.

<pre> 1)(19) Tim Sauter, Chevrolet, 300 2)(18) Greg Stewart, Pontiac, 300 3)(7) Gary St. Amant, Chevrolet, 300 4)(3) Mike Miller, Pontiac, 300 5)(10) Dave Sensiba, Pontiac, 300 6)(20) Derrick Gilchrist, Pontiac, 300 7)(6) Butch Miller, Pontiac, 300 8)(2) Scott Hansen, Ford, 300 9)(8) Larry Foyt, Pontiac, 299 10)(14) Rick Beebe, Pontiac, 299 11)(21) Kevin Cywinski, Chevrolet, 299 12)(17) Jack Landis, Ford, 299 13)(13) Scott Wimmer, Chevrolet, 299 14)(4) Jeff Klem, Chevrolet, 298 15)(25) Brian Hoppe, Chevrolet, 298 16)(32) Tracy Goodson, Pontiac, 297 17)(31) Mike Eddy, Chevrolet, 294 18)(24) Russ Tuttle, Pontiac, 294 19)(29) Paul Dallenbach, Pontiac, 294 20)(1) Mike Garvey, Chevrolet, 279 21)(15) Joey Clanton, Pontiac, 270 22)(11) John O’Neal, Pontiac, 257 23)(28) J. C. Beattie Jr., Chevrolet, 251 24)(22) Tristan Dupuis, Pontiac, 208 25)(30) Ken Alexander, Chevrolet, 188, accident 26)(16) Ricky Johnson, Chevrolet, 183 27)(23) Tim Taylor, Chevrolet, 170, ignition 28)(5) Robbie Pyle, Chevrolet, 123, suspension 29)(26) Philip Kranefuss, Pontiac, 122, accident 30)(9) Mark E. Dismore, Chevrolet, 122, accident 31)(12) Brandon Sperling, Chevrolet, 86, accident 32)(27) David Bonnett, Chevrolet, 85, accident

RACE STATISTICS: Time of Race: 2 hours, 42 minutes, 40.868 seconds Average Speed: 59.749 mph Margin of Victory: 1.246 seconds Lead Changes: 18 among 13 drivers

Lap Leaders: Garvey, 1-12; Hansen, 13; Klem, 14-19; B. Miller, 20-23; M. Miller, 24-25; B. Miller, 26-42; M. Miller, 43-50; B. Miller, 51-82; Pyle, 83-84; B. Miller, 85-87; Sensiba, 88-116; Sauter, 117-123; O’Neal, 124-131; Landis, 132-159; M. Miller, 160- 162; Gilchrist, 163-194; St. Amant, 195-222; Stewart, 223-262; Sauter, 263-300.

Unofficial ASA ACDelco Series point standings after 8 of 20 events: 1) St. Amant, 1,397; 2) Sauter, 1,266; 3) M. Miller, 1,242; 4) Cywinski, 1,220; 5) B. Miller, 1,193; 6) Hansen, 1,132; 7) Beebe, 1,117; 8) Sperling, 1,083; 9) Johnson, 1,076; 10) Clanton, 1,065.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Larry Foyt , Tim Sauter , Scott Wimmer , Mike Miller , Joey Clanton , Greg Stewart , Paul Dallenbach , Butch Miller , Mike Garvey , Ricky Johnson , Scott Hansen