I-55 Raceway report/results 2001-07-07

Dixon Drives to ...

Dixon Drives to #499 at I-55!

PEVELY, MO (July 7, 2001) Ed Dixon of Washington, MO claimed his 499th career feature win at I-55 Raceway. Dixon got the jump on the start of the race from the outside front row, and never looked back, leading all 25 Laps. He was able to hold off early challenges from Steve Shive and a late race challenge from points leader Mark Oller. It was Dixon's third UMP Late Model feature win this season at I-55 Raceway. Oller came from his eleventh place starting spot to finish second. Shive was third and Jason Frankel and Tim Ratajczyk rounded out the top five.

Ray Walsh picked up his first win of the season at I-55 Raceway in the UMP Modified division. Walsh dominated the event by leading all twenty laps. Six different drivers battled for second place. On lap 14 they battled five-wide for the position. Dean Hoffman eventually took the spot and finished second. Rusty Griffaw was third, points leader Scott Weber fourth and Brent Mullins came home fifth.

Paul Belken and Troy Naeger battled side-by-side the final five laps of the feature in the AARA Sportsman division. For the second straight week, Belken beat Naeger across the line by about two feet. Mark Blanke, Brian Worley and Scott Stuppy completed the top five.

For more information on upcoming events at I-55 Raceway call 636-479-3219 or visit I55Raceway.com. <pre> RESULTS: UMP Late Model: FEATURE: 1. 50 Ed Dixon 2. 67 Mark Oller 3. 51 Steve Shive 4. 33 Jason Frankel 5. 112 Tim Ratajczyk 6. 11 Kevin Gundaker 7. 77 Clay Bauman 8. 26 Billy Faust 9. 16 Mike Hammerle 10. 87 Ken Rumble

Heat Winners: Ken Rumble, Jason Frankel & Ed Dixon

UMP Modifieds FEATURE: 1. 1W Ray Walsh 2. 1D Dean Hoffman 3. 16 Rusty Griffaw 4. 4J Scott Weber 5. 4M Brent Mullins 6. 12 Tom Ratajczyk 7. 7 Keith Grider 8. 99 Brian Wolfmeier 9. 6 Ray Wagner 10. 14 Leroy Haney

Heat Winners: Dean Hoffman, Tom Ratajczyk & Brent Mullins

AARA Sportsman FEATURE: 1. 46 Paul Belken 2. 12 Troy Naeger 3. 38D Mark Blanke 4. 166 Brian Worley 5. 00 Scott Stuppy 6. 87 Gary Haynes 7. 500 Dan Dixon 8. 01 Steve Borgetti 9. 24 Paul Bauman 10. 44 Nick Werner

Heat Winners: Nathan Walsh, Paul Belken, Paul Bauman & Troy Naeger

I-55 Raceway is Co-Promoted by NASCAR star Kenny Schrader and Ray Marler.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car