HAV-A-TAMPA Portsmouth Raceway Park Preview


NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP CHASE STILL TIGHT WITH ONLY 5 RACES REMAINING IN HAV-A-TAMPA SEASON - MOUNTAIN DEW 100 SET FOR PORTSMOUTH RACEWAY PARK (FRIDAY & SATURDAY, SEP 18-19) (Portsmouth, OH) The HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series will roar into action on Friday and Saturday (September 18-19) at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, OH as the nations strongest competitors in dirt racing see the chase for the national championship rage on in event number 29 of the seasons tour, sanctioned by the United Dirt Track Racing Association (UDTRA). The intense points battle will resume at the action-packed one-third mile oval on the banks of the Ohio River that will see the winner pocket over $15,000 dollars. Former two-time series title-holder and current points leader Scott Bloomquist will lead the charge into Portsmouth, OH. Bloomquist, from Mooresburg, TN, has scored 6 HAV-A-TAMPA victories this season to add to his series leading all-time win total and holds a close lead over fellow Tennessean Skip Arp in the season-long pursuit of the national crown. Arp has chased Bloomquists success finding victory lane with 5 wins in 1998. Veteran Freddy Smith, who captured the series national title in 1996, has scored one series win on the 1998 HAV-A-TAMPA trail. Smith, also won the recent Show-Me 100 in West Plains, MO, as the likable driver known as the Southern Gentleman heads down the homestretch of this years nationwide campaign looking to charge his way to the front of the title chase. Wendell Wallace picked up his third win of the year last weekend in Kentucky moving the Batesville, AR driver into fourth in the point standings, just ahead of his teammate Dale McDowell in fifth. McDowell, who notched a pair of HAV-A-TAMPA wins in mid-June and Wallace have become dominant forces in the dirt late model racing world. North Carolinas Ray Cook is another of the tours most recent visitors to a HAV-A-TAMPA victory lane after scoring his first-ever victory on the series in the tours June visit to Rome, GA. Cook is posted in sixth in the current standings and is second to Smith in the tours Hard Charger of the Year category. The HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series leading contender for this seasons Rookie of the Year award is Wisconsins Dan Schlieper, who has picked up two series wins during his freshman campaign on the circuit. The HAV-A-TAMPA circuit, known by fans as Americas Favorite Show On Dirt, has already competed in Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, Indiana, Arkansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Kentucky, Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois, Kansas, Ohio, Maryland and Mississippi during this seasons racing action. Following the series stop at Portsmouth, OH the series will head on to West Plains, Missouri (Sep 25-26) and Muskogee, Oklahoma (Oct 2-3) before concluding the 1998 national championship season at the 9th Annual HAV-A-TAMPA Shootout at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA. The winner of this seasons HAV-A-TAMPA Shootout, billed as the Super Bowl of Dirt Racing, stands to earn over $75,000 dollars. Bloomquists six ISKY Racing Cams Fast Gun pole awards puts him ahead of his fellow competitors in the pole category. Last seasons rookie of the year, Earl Pearson Jr., from Jacksonville, FL and Georgias Marshall Green are posted in eighth and ninth in the current point standings heading into this weekends racing on the tour, while defending HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series National Champion Billy Moyer is shown in tenth in the current standings. Entering the final portion of the season and through the first 28 events of the 1998 HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series season, 470 different drivers have competed on the tour with 193 of those competitors making it into at least one feature event. Through the series most recent event in Knoxville, TN 13 different drivers have pulled into a HAV-A-TAMPA victory lane. 15 different drivers have earned an ISKY Racing Cams pole award through the first 28 races of 1998. Other top guns expected to be in action at Portsmouth include the defending champion of the event Rick Aukland, along with Bart Hartman and Donnie Moran. Each have posted at least one HAV-A-TAMPA victory this season. Ronnie Johnson, Bill Frye, Clint Smith, Jimmy Mars, Wade Knowles, Jack Boggs, Kenny Merchant, Shannon Babb and Steve Francis should also be gunning for the lucrative payouts at Portsmouth Raceway Park during the weekend. The 1998 visit to Portsmouth Raceway Park will get underway on Friday night (September 18) with time trials and feature qualifying heat races for the HAV-A-TAMPA drivers. Also on tap for Friday will be feature events in local Modified and Bomber divisions. Following the Friday night racing action a special Mountain Dew 100 celebration will take place at Damons Restaurant located within the downtown Ramada Inn in Portsmouth, OH. On Saturday (September 19), the action will kick off with a pair of last-chance qualifying feature races for the Mountain Dew 100, followed by a feature race in the Street Stock division. The green flag is scheduled to wave on the HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series feature at 10:00 PM on Saturday night. A special autograph session is scheduled for 5:00 PM on Saturday evening giving race fans a chance to meet each of the competitors on the HAV-A-TAMPA tour for autographs and photographs. Grandstand Gates will open for the Portsmouth Raceway Park event at 4:00 PM on both Friday and Saturday. For additional event and ticket information call the speedway office at (740) 858 - 6661 or (740) 354 - 3278. Information is also available on the web site of Portsmouth Raceway Park at www.portsraceway.com Portsmouth Raceway Park is located a half-mile south of U. S. Hwy 52 on State Road 73, then right just before the bridge. Camping is allowed. Friday & Saturday, September 18-19, 1998 Portsmouth Raceway Park (Portsmouth, OH) HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series National Event # 29 of 1998 The MOUNTAIN DEW 100 Directions: 1/2 mile south of U. S. Hwy 52 on State Road 73, then right just before the bridge. Camping is allowed. Advanced Ticket Line: (740) 858 - 6661 Event Information: (740) 354 - 3278 SCHEDULE OF EVENTS FOR HAV-A-TAMPA DIRT RACING SERIES NATIONAL EVENT # 29 OF 1998 PORTSMOUTH RACEWAY PARK Friday, September 18, 1998 2:00 PM - PIT GATES OPEN 3:00 PM - DRIVERS REGISTRATION & TECHNICAL INSPECTION BEGINS 4:00 PM - GRANDSTAND GATES OPEN 6:00 PM - DRIVERS MEETING 6:30 PM - HOT LAPS HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series Late Models Followed by Time Trial Qualifications for HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series Late Models (2 Laps Each) HOT LAPS for Modified and Bomber Divisions FEATURE RACING HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series BORLA Performance Exhaust Feature Qualifying Heat Races Modified Division Feature Bomber Division Feature SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 19, 1998 4:00 PM - GATES OPEN 5:00 - 5:45 - Fan Appreciation Autograph Session On Souvenir Row 6:00 PM - DRIVERS MEETING 6:30 PM - HOT LAPS HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series Late Models Entered In Last-Chance Consolation Qualifiers Street Stock Division RACING PROGRAM HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series Last-Chance Consolation Qualifiers (B-Mains) (Followed by Hot Laps for HAV-A-TAMPA Late Models that transferred from Friday nights Heat Races) Street Stock Division B-Main INTERMISSION Street Stock Division Feature Event FEATURE EVENT HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing National Event # 29 of 1998 The MOUNTAIN DEW 100 - $ 15,000 To Win


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bill Frye , Freddy Smith , Donnie Moran , Steve Francis