Hardeeville results 2003-09-13

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (September 13, 2003) - All track championships were settled when the dust cleared and three Legends drivers earned spots as they won the Regional Qualifier and an invitation to the National Championships as local drivers competed...

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (September 13, 2003) - All track championships were settled when the dust cleared and three Legends drivers earned spots as they won the Regional Qualifier and an invitation to the National Championships as local drivers competed for Double Points and the Legends series fought after National Double Points. The Legends Series saw three divisions compete with drivers from all across the southeast making a stop on their way to the finals. Drivers came from the Carolinas, Georgia and Florida to "The World's Finest Short Track" to compete.

Skeeter Godbee of Sylvania, GA overcame a red flag stoppage of the race due to a multiple car pileup in the OC Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Model 50 lap feature, to not only win the race but cap off the night with the 2003 Season Championship. The red flag came at about the mid point when Tommy Porter Jr. of Savannah, GA and Randy Cook of Guyton, GA got tangled at the apex point of Turn 2. The remainder of the field was close in pursuit and unable to check up fast enough-more cars were sent out of control and Billy Shea of Savannah, GA caught the worst end of it. Shead had to be transported to a local hospital for a routine check. Steve Smith of Savannah, GA finished second and Russ Brown of Beaufort, SC was third. Charles Turner of Sandersville, GA won the Legends Masters race ahead of Ralph Snowden and Tony Maddelena of Newberry, SC, however, with his third place finish, Maddelena was crowned track champion for the first time. The Semi Pro/ Pro race featured some of the fastest and most exciting rac g of the evening. Once again Billy Tysinger of Hardeeville, SC and Andrew Smith of Pooler, GA were in the thick of things only to be joined, albeit equally, by Beau Slocumb of Juliet, GA. Slocumb, who has built a national name for himself in the ranks of Legends racing fought the two local drivers throughout the race with Smith coming out on top, Slocumb second and Tysinger third. Smith was crowned Pro Division Track Champion and Tysinger won the title of Semi Pro Track Champion. Both drivers will be competing at the National Finals. Timmy dasher of Bluffton, Sc found the finish line ahead of the rest of the Xtreme Stocks and found himself as Track Champion for 2003. Ricky Buzard of Hampton, SC finished second and Don Dean of Sheldon, SC was third. Glenn Mappus of Ridgeville, SC continued his impressive run in the Street Stock class as he led the way to victory ahead of Hubert Into of Bloomingdale, GA and Robert Dean of Brunswick, GA, but it was Dean's night as he claimed his first ever Track Championshii in this class. Doug Butler of Hardeeville, SC found victory lane for the second time this season and exclaimed during post race interviews that " maybe winning to start the season and winning to end the season is an omen for something to come in 2004". Butler finished ahead of George Brown of Ridgeland, SC and Bobby Duncan of Ludowici, GA. The Track championship was won by Johnny Brown of Bluffton, SC who was visibly overjoyed to learn of his feat. The final event of the night showcased a full field of Road Warriors for their 20 lap feature. Things got off to a hot start as several cars were involved in crashes but it was toward the end of the event that saw Landon Thorne of Hardeeville, SC get underneath the car of Bill Johnson of Hampton, SC and sent him barrel rolling through the infield. Johnson was not injured in the wreck. Ronnie Ramsey was the winner with Cody Sauls and Tommy Crowe finishing second and third. The first ever Road Warrior Track Championship went to Frank Fegal III of Kingsland, GA.

The next event schedule at the Hardeeville Motor Speedway is the IPRA Professional Rodeo, set for Friday and Saturday September 26th and 27th. Making their third straight appearance at HMS, the IPRA features some of the highest quality cowboys and cowgirls in the Nation. Many of the competitors come from Oklahoma and Texas trying to earn a National Title. Local cowboys and cowgirls are also entered in several events. Gates open at 5:00 each day and the Rodeo events start at 7:00.

The Hardeeville Motor Speedway is located three miles south of I-95 (exit 5 in SC) on Speedway Blvd./Highway 17 or just ten miles north of Savannah on Speedway Blvd./Highway 17. For more information, contact (843) 784 RACE (7223) or visit online at www.hardeevillespeedway.com.

Hardeeville Motor Speedway Race Results from Saturday, September 13, 2003

O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models (50 laps): 1. Skeeter Godbee (Sylvania, GA), 2. Steve Smith (Savannah, GA), 3. Russ Brown (Beaufort, SC), 4. Johnny Brown (Bluffton, SC), 5. Rick Hunter (Savannah, GA), 6. Corey Hendrix (Statesboro, GA), 7. Lyn Godbee (Sylvania, GA), 8. Randy Cook (Guyton, GA), 9. Tommy Porter, Jr. (Savannah, GA), 10. Billy Shea (Savannah, GA). Fastest Qualifier: Randy Cook 14.913

Legends Cars Masters Feature (25 Laps): 1. Charles Turner (Sandersville, GA), 2. Ralph Snowden (Fitzgerald, GA) 3. Tony Maddelena (Newberry,SC), 4. Tad Segars (HHI, SC), 5. Steve Johnson (Hampton, SC), 6. Troy Martin (Prosperity, SC).

Legends Cars Semi Pro/ Pro Feature (25 Laps): 1. Andrew Smith. (Pooler, GA), 2. Beau Slocumb (Juliet, GA), 3. Billy Tysinger (Hardeeville, SC), 4. Mike Sboro (Mooresville, NC), 5. Billy Schilling (HHI, SC), 6. Michael Pope( E.Dublin, GA), 7. Adam Gay (Dublin, GA) , 8. AJ Fulgenzi (Jacksonville, FL), 9. Ryan Hall (Moncks Corner, SC), 10. Scott Brunson (Hampton, SC), 11. Lance Brunson (Hampton, SC), Thomas Van Wingerden (Huntersville, NC), 13. Kevin O'Brien (Burton, SC).

Xtreme Stock Car Feature (25 Laps): 1. Timmy Dasher (Bluffton, SC), 2. Ricky Buzard (Hampton, SC), 3. Don Dean (Sheldon, SC), 4. Scott Thorne (Hardeeville,SC), 5. Ray Smith, 6. Loy Cribbs (Hardeeville, SC).

Mini Stock Car Feature (20 Laps): 1. Doug Butler (Hardeeville, SC), 2. George Brown (Ridgeland, SC), 3. Bobby Duncan (Ludowici, GA), 4. Johnny Brown (Bluffton, SC), 5. Randy Day (Beaufort, SC), 6.James Groover (Bluffton, SC), 7. Harry Yoho (Bluffton, SC).

Road Warrior (20 Laps): 1.Ronnie Ramsey, 2. Cody Sauls, 3. Tommy Crowe, 4. Ben Smith, 5. Cody Parker, 6. unreadable, 7. Dustin Brown, 8. Chris Morris, 9. Mike Bader, 10. Landon Thorne, 11. Carl Fogle, 12. Bill Johnson, DNS: Paul Day

Street Stocks Feature (25 Laps): 1. Glenn Mappus (Ridgeville, SC) 2. Hubert Into (Bloomingdale, GA), 3. Robert Dean (Brunswick ,GA), 4. Billy Gorman, DNS: Tommy Gorman


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Steve Smith , Bill Johnson , Troy Martin , Andrew Smith , Steve Johnson , Ryan Hall