Hardeeville report 2001-06-23

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (June 23, 2001) ? Hardeeville Motor Speedway had a blast celebrating their summer beach bash. With beach balls flying and beach music playing, racing action was just as hot as the summer season. Also celebrating, after taking...

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (June 23, 2001) ? Hardeeville Motor Speedway had a blast celebrating their summer beach bash. With beach balls flying and beach music playing, racing action was just as hot as the summer season. Also celebrating, after taking the checkered flag, were Tommy Porter, Jr., Don Dean, Mark Terry, Jonathan Haidon, Nicholas Haidon, Billy Tysinger and Poppy Colson.

The O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models had three drivers lead laps in their 50-lap feature race. Leland Prewitt of Savannah, Ga. led the first three laps until five-time winner Chris Beach of Hardeeville, S.C. took over. Beach held on to the top spot until lap nine when Tommy Porter, Jr., also a five-time winner this season, captured the first position. Porter, Jr. pulled away from the rest of the competition until two cautions by Bubba Jones of Savannah, Ga. slowed the field. Porter, Jr. accelerated on the restarts and was able to pull off his sixth victory of 2001 and increasing his points lead.

The Xtreme Stock Cars took to the track with the first caution waving on lap one after Christie Anderson of Ellabell, Ga. spun in turn one. The next caution didn?t wave again until lap 24, when the leader, Scott Thorne of Hardeeville, S.C., spun after taking the white flag. This allowed Don Dean of Sheldon, S.C., last week?s victor, to capture the lead and take his third victory of the season. Ray Smith of Early Branch, S.C. came home in second place, with points leader Tim Dasher of Bluffton, S.C. finishing off the podium in third position.

This weekend?s Mini Stocks race proved to be detrimental in the chase for their divisional championship. Mark Terry of Rincon, Ga. picked up his sixth win of the season, which moved him into the points lead by one point over second place finisher, Stephen Moore of St. George, S.C. Marcus Dampier, the third place points man, also finished third in the caution-free 25-lap feature race.

Twenty-one cars took the green flag for the combined Legends Cars Pro/Semi-Pro/Masters race. Chris Beach, a regular in the O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models, entered his first Legends Cars event this season and started from the pole. Beach led for the first 15 laps, until Jonathan Haidon of Hilton Head, S.C. dove under him on lap 16 and took over the lead. Haidon held off Beach?s constant charges for the remainder of the 25-lap feature race to take his second victory of the 2001 season.

The Bandolero Cars returned to the track for the first in over a month Saturday night. The Haidon brothers had a big night, as Jonathan?s younger brother, Nicholas Haidon, took the victory over Zack Tysinger of Hardeeville, S.C.

The Legends Cars Young Lions division had a returnee to victory lane. Hardeeville, S.C. resident Billy Tysinger took his sixth victory after finishing second last weekend. Jimmy Lang of Bluffton, S.C. finished in second place with David DeTorre of Raleigh, N.C. finishing in third position.

The Lady Legends had four strong competitors vying for the victory. Poppy Colson of Rincon, Ga. took her second victory, after finishing second in their previous bout. Wanda Sondles of Johns Island, S.C. finished second, followed by Terry Tighe.

Sprint PCS Night is on tap for next weekend, along with a Hardeeville Motor Speedway Drivers Autograph Session. Scheduled to compete on June 30 are the O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models, Legends Cars, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and Xtreme Stock Cars. Hardeeville Motor Speedway is located three miles southeast of I-95 on Highway 17. Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m., with qualifying races beginning at 6:00 p.m. Feature races will begin at 7:30 p.m. Ticket prices are $10 for adults, with reduced rates for seniors, military and children. Children under five are admitted free.

The car show scheduled for July 6-8 at the Hardeeville Motor Speedway has been postponed to a later date.


O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models: 1. Tommy Porter, Jr. (Savannah, Ga.), 2. Chris Beach (Hardeeville, S.C.), 3. Leland Prewitt (Savannah, Ga.), 4. Skeeter Godbee (Sylvania, Ga.), 5. Mickey Carter (Savannah, Ga.), 6. Bubba Jones (Savannah, Ga.)

Legends Cars (Pro/Masters/Semi-Pro): 1. Jonathan Haidon (Hilton Head, S.C.), 2. Chris Beach (Hardeeville, S.C.), 3. Corey Fletcher (Bloomingdale, Ga.), 4. Tommy Wrape (Heath Springs, S.C.), 5. Bob Gossett (Hilton Head, S.C.), 6. Garrett Shurling (Ellabell, Ga.), 7. Thomas Coburn III (Tillman, S.C.), 8. Walter Reardon (Savannah, Ga.), 9. Kevin Eves (Guyton, Ga.), 10. Adam Congrove (Hilton Head, S.C.), 11. Steve Desimone (Hilton Head, S.C.), 12. Charles Turner (Sandersville, Ga.), 13. Darren Gordon (Hilton Head, S.C.), 14. Kevin O?Brien (Burton, S.C.), 15. Steve Johnson (Hampton, S.C.), 16. Jason Colson (Rincon, Ga.), 17. Bill Mathers (Charlotte, N.C.), 18. Bill Werkheiser (Glennville, Ga.), 19. Lee Varner (Savannah, Ga.), 20. Tad Segars (Hilton Head, S.C.), 21. Dave Sondles (Johns Island, S.C.)

Xtreme Stock Cars: 1. Don Dean (Sheldon, S.C.), 2. Ray Smith (Early Branch, S.C.), 3. Tim Dasher (Bluffton, S.C.), 4. Keith Sanchez (Hardeeville, S.C.), 5. Randy Crews (Estill, S.C.), 6. Jonathan Jones (Savannah, Ga.), 7. Scott Thorne (Hardeeville, S.C.), 8. Christie Anderson (Ellabell, Ga.), 9. Donnie Cannon (Rincon, Ga.)

Mini Stocks: 1. Mark Terry (Rincon, Ga.), 2. Stephen Moore (St. George, S.C.), 3. Marcus Dampier (Savannah, Ga.), 4. Johnny Brown (Bluffton, S.C.), 5. Neal Jordan (Pelion, S.C.), 6. Randy Day (Beaufort, S.C.), 7. Joseph Williams (Beaufort, S.C), 8. Doug Butler (Hardeeville, S.C.), 8.

Legends Cars (Young Lions): 1. Billy Tysinger (Hardeeville, S.C.), 2. Jimmy Lang (Bluffton, S.C.), 3. David Detorre (Raleigh, N.C.), 4. Jeremiah Dennen (Beaufort, S.C.)

Legends Cars (Lady Legends): 1. Poppy Colson (Rincon, Ga.), 2. Wanda Sondles (Johns Island, S.C.), 3. Terry Tighe 4. Laura McKenzie (Hardeeville, S.C.)

Bandolero Cars: 1. Nicholas Haidon (Hilton Head, S.C.), 2. Zack Tysinger (Hardeeville, S.C.)


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Steve Johnson
Teams Williams