Hardeeville race report 2001-09-29

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (September 29, 2001) - Hargray Night at the Hardeeville Motor Speedway provided fireworks both on and off the track. A near capacity crowd saw some great racing action with Chris Beach from Hardeeville, S.C. winning in the Late...

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (September 29, 2001) - Hargray Night at the Hardeeville Motor Speedway provided fireworks both on and off the track. A near capacity crowd saw some great racing action with Chris Beach from Hardeeville, S.C. winning in the Late Model feature. Hubert Into of Bloomingdale, Ga. held on for the win in the action-packed Street Stock feature event. Steven Moore from St. George, S.C. won his fifth consecutive Mini Stock feature event. Don Dean of Sheldon, S.C. extended his winning streak in the Xtreme Stock Car division. Garrett Shurling from Ellabell picked up the Semi-Pro Legends Cars feature victory and Tommy Wrape from Heath Springs, S.C. was awarded win in the Pro / Masters Legends Cars feature after Corey Fletcher from Bloomingdale, Ga. was disqualified in post-race technical inspection. Zack Tysinger from Hardeeville, S.C. won the Legends Cars Young Lions feature and Tish Mock of Ridgeland, S.C. won the Lady Legends division.

The best event of the evening was the 20-lap Street Stock feature. David Huggins from Richmond Hill, Ga. and Bob Gossett from Hilton Head, S.C. started on the front row after winning their respective qualifying heats. Huggins jumped into the lead early and held on to it for the first half of the race. Hubert Into of Bloomingdale, Ga. began applying pressure to Huggins and passed him on Lap 11 coming off turn four. Glenn Mappus of Ridgeville, S.C. also entered into the battle for the lead shortly after Into passed Huggins. Mappus and Into made contact in turns one and two on Lap 14 allowing Huggins to regain the top spot. While leading with two laps to go, the right rear tire of Huggins came off his car bringing out the caution. A two lap shoot out to the finish found Into, Mappus and Gossett in the top three positions. Last lap contact between Mappus and Gossett allowed Into to pick up the win unchallenged. Mappus held on for second followed by Gossett. Dave Wallace from Goose Creek, S.C. finshed fourth. Ron Irvin from Poughkeepis, N.Y., located approximately 60 miles from Manhatten rounded out the top five.

In the 30-lap caution-free O.C. Welch-Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Model feature, Chris "the Shark" Beach jumped out to an early lead from the pole position and never looked back. Although challenged by Tom Haidon of Hilton Head, S.C., the two weaved in and out of lapped traffic. Without a caution to help Haidon, "The Shark," driving the Hargray sponsored Late Model, took the checkered flag first followed by Haidon at the line. Third place went to Leland Prewitt from Savannah, Ga. Newcomer Charlie Chinners from Ridgeville, S.C. and Bubba Jones from Savannah, Ga. finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Steven Moore started on the front row and won the Mini Stock feature by leading the final 18 laps of the 20-lap feature. Mark Terry of Rincon, Ga. lead the first two laps but had to settle for second place behind Moore. Bluffton's Police Chief, Johnny Brown finished third followed by and Jack Jordan from Pelion, S.C. Bobby Duncan from Ludowici, Ga. came in fifth in the event.

In the "full contact" Xtreme Stock Car division, Don Dean extended his feature win total on the all-time career win list by leading the caution -free event on the final 15 circuits. Scott "the Problem Child" Thorne from Hardeeville, S.C. jumped out to the early lead but was overtaken by Ray Smith from Early Branch, S.C. on Lap 5. Smith could only hold onto the lead briefly as Dean passed him on the next lap. Smith finished second followed by Thorne, Chuck Johnson of Dublin, Ga. and Doc Leggett of Bloomingdale, Ga. The finishing order is unofficial following post tech inspection. A final decision will be released on Tuesday.

A caution-free Pro / Masters Legends Cars event had Corey Fletcher of Bloomingsdale, Ga. winning the race, but was later disqualified following post-race tech inspection. Tommy Wrape, of Heath Springs, S.C. was awarded the victory. Kevin O'Brien of Burton, S.C. finished second followed by Tad Segars of Hilton Head, S.C.

The Semi-Pro Legends Cars event was marred by five cautions, but Garrett Shurling of Ellabell, Ga. was able to avoid all accidents and led wire-to-wire in picking up the victory. Walter Reardon and Andrew Smith, both from Savannah, Ga., battled late in the race with Reardon finishing second followed by Smith. Matt Harter from Jesup, Ga. came across the line fourth and Trey Carr, from Evans, Ga. followed next for fifth.

Zack Tysinger of Hardeeville, S.C. and Billy Schilling from Hilton Head, S.C. battled during the Legends Cars Young Lions feature with Tysinger crossing the line first. Tish Mock from Ridgeland, S.C. picked up the Lady Legends feature win over Laura McKenzie of Hardeeville, S.C.

The blood mobile from the Savannah Community Blood Bank was at the speedway from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. for a blood drive. Many individuals donated blood before the races and received a complimentary ticket.

Next weekend, the Hardeeville Motor Speedway will host "NAPA Night at the Race." There will also be prize giveaways, including Winston Cup tickets, all night long. The divisions of racing featured will be the O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models, Legends Cars, Mini Stocks, Street Stocks, and Xtreme Stock Cars.

Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. The green flag waves at 7:05 p.m. for the heat races and then followed by feature event racing for all divisions. The Hardeeville Motor Speedway is located three miles southeast of I-95 on Highway 17. Ticket prices are $10 for adults, with reduced rates for seniors, military and children. Children under 5 years of age are admitted free with a paying adult. Information is available at online at www.hardeevillespeedway.com or by calling (843) 784-RACE (7223).


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Andrew Smith