Hardeeville Motor Speedway 2001-04-21

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (April 21, 2001) -- Tiny bubbleswere afloat at the Hardeeville Motor Speedway on Saturday night, as bottles of bubbles were distributed to the children attending the night's events. Drivers receiving accolades, instead of bubbles...

HARDEEVILLE, S.C. (April 21, 2001) -- Tiny bubbleswere afloat at the Hardeeville Motor Speedway on Saturday night, as bottles of bubbles were distributed to the children attending the night's events. Drivers receiving accolades, instead of bubbles were feature winners Tommy Porter, Jr. in the O.C. WelchFord-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models, Ellis Huggins in the Street Stocks, TimDasher in the Xtreme Stock Cars, Steven Moore in the Mini Stocks and KeithWells in the Open Wheel Modifieds.

The O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late Models sawTommy Porter, Jr. take the lead, spin out, fall to the rear and come back totake the victory for the third time this season. The caution flag waved for the first time on lap nine, when theNo. 91 of Tommy Porter, Jr. spun the yellow No. 27 of Bubba Jones, who wasleading the field. Porter, who residesin Savannah, then took the lead after the spin.

While lapping the field, Porter was attempting topass the No. 77 of Jeff Knight. Knight,from West Columbia, S.C., pinched Porter to the apron of the track, causingPorter to spin his Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Chris Beach, Hardeeville Motor Speedway's latest late model winner, thentook the lead due to Porter's spin. Hardeeville, S.C.'s Beach pulled out to a 10-car length lead, whilePorter was making his trek back up to the front. On lap 35, the No. 27 Monte Carlo of Jones spun through theinfield grass, causing the second caution of the evening. Porter was then able to make a challenge forthe lead on the restart, obtaining the lead on lap 36 and holding off Beach forthe remainder of the 50-lap feature.

Skeeter Godbee of Sylvania, Ga. and Leland Prewittof Savannah battled for third place in the closing laps of the race, withGodbee winning the position over Prewitt. Rounding out the top-five was Bubba Jones from Savannah.

Ellis Huggins of Richmond Hill, Ga. came homevictorious for the third time this season in the Street Stock division. Huggins led flag-to-flag, narrowly edgingout Rick Hunter from Savannah by less than half a car length. The 25-lap feature went caution free, withthe No. 91 of Huggins and the No. 92 of Hunter battling for the top spotthroughout the race. Savannah's RoyCox, piloting "The Pink Flamingo" came home in third place.

Don Dean of Sheldon, S.C. came out Saturday nightfor revenge over Scott "The Problem Child" Thorne in the Xtreme Stock Cars division. Unfortunately, Thorne was unable to fix a "belt problem" following practice and went home. Dean went after the No. 14 of Tim Dasher fromBluffton, S.C. instead, but just couldn't make his way up to the front. A spin on lap 21 by Jonathan Jones ofSavannah brought out the only caution in the 25-lap feature event. Jones recovered to finish third in theXtreme Stock Car's third outing of the season.

The Mini Stocks had an exciting dual between the twoprevious winners of the class. Steven Moore of Harleyville, S.C. now leads the battle over Mark Terry of Rincon, Ga.,after coming home with the victory. Thecaution-free event saw Marcus Dampier from Port Wentworth, Ga. finish third.

The Open Wheel Modifieds returned to the HardeevilleMotor Speedway for their second race of the season. Keith Wells, who resides in Summerville, S.C., came outvictorious over last weekend's winner, Raef Judd. The caution flag waved twice during the 25-lap event. A spin by the No. 3 of Dusty Lee Garrusbrought out caution number one; while Dan Schultz's blown motor brought outcaution number two. Richard Branton ofSummerville, S.C. rounded out the top-three.

Hardeeville Motor Speedway will have more racingexcitement next Saturday, April 21 with the Legends Cars, Mini Stocks, StreetStocks, Open Wheel Modifieds and Bandolero Cars. Hardeeville Motor Speedway is located three miles southeast ofI-95 on Highway 17. Grandstands open at5:00 p.m., with qualifying races beginning at 5:30 p.m. Feature races will begin at 7:30 p.m. Ticket prices are $10 for adults, withreduced rates for seniors, military and children. Children under five are admitted free.

For complete event information, contact theHardeeville Motor Speedway at (843) 784-RACE (7223) or visit online atwww.hardeevillespeedway.com.


O.C. Welch Ford-Lincoln-Mercury Late ModelFeature: 1. Tommy Porter, Jr.(Savannah, Ga.), 2. Chris Beach (Hardeeville, S.C.), 3. Skeeter Godbee(Sylvania, Ga.). 4. Leland Prewitt (Savannah, Ga.), 5. Bubba Jones (Savannah,Ga.), 6. Rob Coker (Bloomingdale, Ga.), 7. Steve Smith (Savannah, Ga.), 8. JeffKnight (W. Columbia, S.C.), 9. Tom Haidon (Hilton Head, S.C.), 10. Bruce Taylor(Savannah, Ga.), 11. Bill Marburger (Beaufort, S.C.) Heat Winners: Jones and Beach

Street Stocks Feature: 1. Ellis Huggins (RichmondHill, Ga.), 2. Rick Hunter (Savannah, Ga.), 3. Roy Cox (Savannah, Ga.), 4. JeffMerrit (Ridgeville, S.C.), 5. James Beckett (Ridgeland, S.C.), 6. Robert Myers(Ridgeville, S.C.), 7. David Wallace (Goose Creek, S.C.), 8. Glenn Mappus(Ridgeville, Ga.) Heat Winners: Huggins and Hunter

Xtreme Stock Cars Feature: 1. Tim Dasher (Bluffton, S.C.), 2. Don Dean (Sheldon, S.C.), 3.Jonathan Jones (Savannah, Ga.), 4. Keith Sanchez (Guyton, Ga.), 5. JeffMcWaters (Ridgeland, S.C.), 6. Ray Smith (Early Branch, S.C.), 7. Donald Cannon(Rincon, Ga.), 8. Christie Anderson (Ellabell, Ga.) Heat Winners: Anderson and Smith

Mini Stocks Feature: 1. Steven Moore (Harleyville, S.C.), 2. Mark Terry (Rincon, Ga.),3. Marcus Dampier (Pt. Wentworth, Ga.), 4. John Brown (Bluffton, S.C.), 5.Patrick Mikell (Rincon, Ga.), 6. Neal Jordan (Pelion, S.C.), 7. Andrew Blaske(Beaufort, S.C.), 8. Kevin O'Brien (Beaufort, S.C.), 9. Randy Day (Beaufort,S.C.) Heat Winners: Moore and Terry

Open Wheel Modifieds Feature: 1. Keith Wells(Summerville, S.C.), 2. Raef Judd(Charleston, S.C.), 3. Mark Armstrong (Summerville, S.C.), 4. Dan Schultz(Beaufort, S.C.), 5. Dusty Lee Garrus (Summerville, S.C.), 6. Richard Branton(Summerville, S.C.) Heat Winners: Schultz and Wells


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Steve Smith , David Wall