Hagerstown results

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: http://members.aol.com/dirtnews/digest =================================== CONTENTS: Aug. 9-13 results (published Aug. 14) HAGERSTOWN: Andrews wins Hagerstown opener CAPSULES: Catching up on weekend results =================================== UNSANCTIONED Richard Bonebrake Memorial

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (Wednesday) After leading the first 16 laps, polesitter Todd Andrews of Eldred, Pa., regained the lead on the 25th lap from outside front-row starter Rick Eckert to win the Richard Bonebrake Memorial as Hagerstown Speedway kicked off the four-day 50th Anniversary Late Model Extravaganza.

Besides earning the $2,500 winner's purse, Andrews clinched one of six guaranteed starting spots in Saturday's $50,000-to-win 50th Anniversary 100 with his first career victory at Hagerstown. Eckert, who led laps 17 through 24, also clinched a berth.

Clint Smith finished third Wednesday ahead of Rodney Franklin and Frankie Plessinger. Denny Bonebrake, Brent Smith, Ronnie Johnson (who started last of 28 cars), Jim Bernheisel and Tommy Armel rounded out the top 10 finishers in the lowest-purse late model race of the week.

Andrews and Eckert pulled away from the field early, but the second and final caution of the 40-lap race on the 14th circuit bunched the field. On the 16th lap, Eckert pulled even with Andrews and moved around using the high groove

As Eckert began to work through slower traffic on the 24th lap, he jumped the cushion and allowed Andrews to slip back underneath and into the lead at the half-mile oval. Andrews pulled away to win by 10 car lengths.

CAR COUNT: 50 late models.

FIRST HEAT: Todd Andrews, Jim Bernheisel, Denny Bonebrake, Luke Hoffner, Steve Francis.

SECOND HEAT: Tommy Armel, Marvin Winters, Jim Daversa, David Williams, Chub Frank.

THIRD HEAT: Rick Eckert, Ernie Davis, Brent Smith, Roy Deese, Jeff Robinson.

FOURTH HEAT: Mike Duvall, Clint Smith, Frankie Plessinger, Bill Frye, Richard Irwin.

FIRST CONSOLATION: Rodney Franklin, Bob Wearing Sr., Rusty Sites, Will Rowe.

SECOND CONSOLATION: Les Hare, Mark Miner, Rick Workman, Ronnie Johnson.

FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Todd Andrews, (2) Rick Eckert, (3) Clint Smith, (4) Rodney Franklin, (5) Frankie Plessinger, (6) Denny Bonebrake, (7) Brent Smith, (8) Ronnie Johnson, (9) Jim Bernheisel, (10) Tommy Armel, (11) David Williams, (12) Marvin Winters, (13) Mark Miner, (14) Jeff Robinson, (15) Jim Daversa, (16) Steve Francis, (17) Rick Workman, (18) Will Rowe, (19) Les Hare, (20) Ernie Davis, (21) Rusty Sites, (22) Luke Hoffner, (23) Roy Deese, (24) Bill Frye, (25) Richard Irwin, (26) Mike Duvall, (27) Chub Frank, (28) Bob Wearing Sr.

DRIVERS FAILING TO MAKE FEATURE: Rob Nichols, Doug Burkholder, Jeff Friese, Bill Palmer, Al Richards, Bryan Shockey, Scott Brode, Bobby Stokes, Dick Barton, Andy Fries, Doug Timmons, Davey Johnson, Charlie Schaffer, Freddy Smith, Gary Stuhler, Randy Boggs, Jack Boggs, C.S. Fitzgerald, Ray Kable Jr., Nathan Durboraw, Billy Moyer, Bart Hartman.

UPCOMING HAGERSTOWN 50th ANNIVERSARY RACES: Thursday, STARS $10,000 to win; Friday, $10,000 to win; Saturday, $50,000 to win.

CREDIT: Hagerstown Speedway Publicity. ------------------------------------------------------------- TUESDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

IOWA GOVERNOR'S CUP POSTPONED: The Iowa Governor's Cup race at Hawkeye Raceway in Blue Grass, Iowa, was postponed until Wednesday night after more than two inches of rain fell on the racetrack in the last couple of days. The event is on the IMCA Deery Brothers summer circuit. ------------------------------------------------------------- MONDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

UMP RACE AT DANVILLE RAINS OUT AGAIN: The $5,000-to-win United Midwestern Promoters Outlaw National Series event at Vermilion County Speedway in Danville, Ill., was rained out for the second consecutive Monday night. The race has been rescheduled for Sunday, Aug. 24. ------------------------------------------------------------- SUNDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

FRANK WINS MACS THRILLER AT CHALLENGER: Chub Frank of Sugargrove, Pa., came from the rear and edged Lynn Geisler on a last-lap pass to win $3,000 in a Mid-Atlantic Championship series race at Challenger Raceway near Indiana, Pa. Frank, who had to pit on the third lap because his nosepiece was rubbing a tire, rallied to win by half a car length over Geisler, who himself rallied from the 17th-starting position. There were eight cautions and a red flag during the feature. There were 27 cars in attendance. FEATURE: (1) Chub Frank, (2) Lynn Geisler, (3) Bob Salathe, (4) Denny Chamberlain, (5) Andy Fries. ------------------------------------------------------------- SATURDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

BOLAND GETS SUPR VICTORY AT WHYNOT: Mike Boland took the lead early in the race and ended up beating Eddie Taylor by half a straightaway at Whynot (Miss.) Speedway for his first Southern United Professional Racing victory in 11 months. Boland started inside the second row in the feature, which was comprised of all 21 late models at the track. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Mike Boland, (2) Eddie Taylor, (3) Marlon Wild, (4) James Dean, (5) Larry Ritter, (6) Scott Slay, (7) Steve Latson, (8) John Lovas, (9) David Ashley, (10) Jeff Cooper, (11) Johnny Hughes, (12) Phil Cooper, (13) Butch Patton, (14) Jim McDuffie, (15) Tracy Brown, (16) Ray Myers, (17) Donald Watson, (18) Rusty Cooper, (19) Dwight Falcon, (20) Bubba Mullins, (21) Brach Singleton. ------------------------------------------------------------- CAPSULE CREDITS: Rich Pierce <skiman@penn.com> and Mike McGuire <MCJLMCG@aol.com>. -------------------------------------------------------------

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bill Frye , Freddy Smith , Rick Eckert , Steve Francis , David Williams
Teams Williams