Hagerstown report 97-06-15

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: http://members.aol.com/dirtnews/digest =================================== CONTENTS: June 13-14 results (published June 15) HAV-A-TAMPA: Moran rallies past Moyer at Hagerstown CAPSULES: Other results from Friday and Saturday =================================== HAV-A-TAMPA DIRT RACING SERIES Third Annual Maryland Silver Cup Nationals

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (Saturday) Donnie Moran, putting on one of the most brilliant driving exhibitions in the history of 50-year-old Hagerstown Speedway, rallied from his 23rd-starting position to catch polesitter Billy Moyer in the closing laps and win $10,000 in the third annual Maryland Silver Cup Nationals.

The 100-lap race came down to a four-lap duel between the two winningest drivers on the Hav-A-Tampa circuit this season as Moran notched his third victory of the year, one fewer than Moyer, who won $5,000 in Friday's feature at Hagerstown. Moran grabbed the lead Saturday on the 96th lap, Moyer regained the point for lap 97, but Moran took over for good on the 98th lap for the victory on the half-mile oval.

Wendell Wallace finished third, followed by Hagerstown veteran Gary Stuhler and Clint Smith. Ronnie Johnson, Rodney Franklin and Rick Eckert finished sixth through eighth on the lead lap, while Bart Hartman (ninth) and Booper Bare (10th) finished a lap behind.

Moyer took the early lead, leaving Franklin, Stuhler, Arp and Wallace to fight for the second spot. Wallace eventually settled the dispute on the 18th lap, but Moyer kept a comfortable advantage except for restarts on laps 26 and 27.

Moran, meanwhile, had broken into the top 10 by the 18th lap, and was running sixth when the third caution appeared on the 27th lap. Moran rode contentedly in sixth until his tires warmed up, and he got past Franklin for fifth on the 37th lap before passing Eckert -- who had started 14th -- by lap 42. Moran grabbed Clint Smith's third position on the 45th circuit and knocked Wallace out of the second spot by the 56th lap.

By this time, Moyer had a 25 car-length lead. Moran, however, drove high into the turns and came off the second and fourth turns low to began slicing into Moyer's advantage. Just as Moran caught Moyer on the 72nd lap, the caution flag waved.

Wallace jumped past Moran on the restart, giving Moyer some breathing room until Moran regained the second position on the 87th lap. On lap 96, Moran took the lead, but lost it the next time around. On the 97th lap, Moran slid up into Moyer going for the lead and when the leaders came off Turn 2, Moyer had the advantage and went on to win by five car lengths.

Moran has captured three of the past five Hav-A-Tampa sanctioned events, starting his hot streak May 3 in Meridian, Miss., and winning May 17 at West Virginia Motor Speedway in Mineral Wells before Saturday's triumph.

CAR COUNT: 35 late models.

FAST QUALIFIER: Billy Moyer, 19.309 seconds (half-mile oval).

FIRST HEAT: Billy Moyer, Skip Arp, Marshall Green, Ray Cook.

SECOND HEAT: Rodney Franklin, Clint Smith, Wendell Wallace, Rodney Combs.

THIRD HEAT: Booper Bare, Roy Deese Jr., Nathan Durboraw, C.S. Fitzgerald.

FOURTH HEAT: Gary Stuhler, Dale McDowell, Ronnie Johnson, Rick Eckert.

CONSOLATION WINNERS: Freddy Smith, Bart Hartman

FEATURE (100 laps): (1) Donnie Moran, (2) Billy Moyer, (3) Wendell Wallace, (4) Gary Stuhler, (5) Clint Smith, (6) Ronnie Johnson, (7) Rodney Franklin, (8) Rick Eckert, (9) Bart Hartman, (10) Booper Bare, (11) C.S. Fitzgerald, (12) Ray Cook, (13) Freddy Smith, (14) Rodney Combs, (15) Steve Shaver, (16) Brent Rhebergen, (17) Marshall Green, (18) Skip Arp, (19) Roy Deese Jr., (20) David Green, (21) Nathan Durboraw, (22) Jim Daversa, (23) Dale McDowell, (24) Earl Pearson Jr.

NOTES: Booper Bare was running seventh on the 12th lap when he was sent to the tail for jumping a restart .... among drivers failing to make Saturday night's feature field were Steve Russell, Charlie Schaffer, Scott Hartley and John Mason .... Rodney Franklin was disqualified for being light at the scales on Friday night.

NEXT HAV-A-TAMPA WEEKEND: June 21, Dixie Speedway, Woodstock, Ga., $10,000 to win; June 22, Rome (Ga.) Speedway, $10,000 to win.

CREDIT: Hagerstown Speedway publicity. ------------------------------------------------------------- FRIDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

MOYER WINS HAV-A-TAMPA RACE AT HAGERSTOWN: Outside polesitter Billy Moyer led all 50 laps for his fourth Hav-A-Tampa victory of the season, winning $5,000 at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway. Gary Stuhler made charge from fourth place after a lap-47 caution to finish second, four car lengths behind Moyer. Donnie Moran had run second the first 30 laps until giving up the spot to Wendell Wallace, and Moran eventually went to the pits with ignition problems on lap 43. Wallace finished third. Moran was the fastest qualifier (19.338 seconds) among 40 late models. FEATURE (50 laps): (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Gary Stuhler, (3) Wendell Wallace, (4) Bart Hartman, (5) Booper Bare, (6) Nathan Durboraw, (7) Clint Smith, (8) Marshall Green, (9) Freddy Smith, (10) Dale McDowell, (11) unavailable, (12) Rick Eckert, (13) Ronnie Johnson (14) Roy Deese Jr., (15) Steve Russell, (16) John Mason, (17) Jeff Robinson, (18) Rick Workman, (19) Kenny Pettyjohn, (20) Donnie Moran, (21) Rodney Combs, (22) Frankie Plessinger, (23) Rodney Franklin, (24) Les Hare, (25) Skip Arp, (26) Brent Smith.

ANDREWS SHUFFLES TO MACS VICTORY AT ACE HIGH: Outside polesitter Todd Andrews was rarely challenged in cruising to a $4,000 Mid-Atlantic Championship Series victory at Ace High Speedway in Conneaut, Ohio, in the first leg of the MACS three-race Northeast Challenge. Andrews was briefly challenged only by Dick Barton, who was forced to the pits on the 22nd lap with a flat right rear tire, and Chub Frank, who finished third while driving Wally Fox's backup No. 90. Rick Jones was running second late in the race when he lost a rear end. Another potential challenger, Lynn Geisler, suffered a broken fuel line in his heat race while leading under caution and track workers had to douse a fire. There were 41 late models from four states on hand. FEATURE: (1) Todd Andrews, (2) Nolan Dalton, (3) Chub Frank, (4) Dutch Davies, (5) Ryan Markham, (6) Dave Satterlee, (7) Danny Armbruster. STARS DEBUT IN ILLINOIS DELAYED: The first-ever Short Track Auto Racing Stars event in Illinois was rained out. The $5,000-to-win event at Red Hill Raceway in Sumner, Ill., may be rescheduled, but no date has been announced. ------------------------------------------------------------- SATURDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

ANDREWS WINS MACS RACE AT STATELINE: Sixth-starting Todd Andrews of Duke Center, Pa., outdueled polesitter Danny Armbruster at dusty Stateline Speedway in Busti, N.Y., for his second consecutive MACS victory, winning $4,000 on the second leg of the three-race Northeast Challenge. Andrews took the lead about lap 13, but Armbruster got back past him in traffic about lap 21. Andrews stayed with Armbuster and made his move underneath the lead in Turn 4 on the 30th lap and went on to win on the one-grooved oval. There were 38 cars in attendance. FEATURE (35 laps): (1) Todd Andrews, (2) Danny Armbruster, (3) Dave Groves, (4) Chub Frank, (5) Dick Barton, (6) Denny Chamberlain. ------------------------------------------------------------- CAPSULE CREDITS: Hagerstown Speedway publicity, Bret Emrick of STARS and Chip Stebbins <chip1@madbbs.com>. -------------------------------------------------------------

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Freddy Smith , Donnie Moran , Rick Eckert , David Green , Steve Russel