Fulton results 2005-09-30

HEFTI, STEFANSKI, & BURNELL OPEN 20TH ANNUAL DYNOMAX VICTORIA 200 WEEKEND 2005 WITH FEATURE WINS FULTON, NY -- Russ Hefti of Jordan claimed the headline 2006 Motorsports Expo Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman Super DIRT Series 30-Lap ...


FULTON, NY -- Russ Hefti of Jordan claimed the headline 2006 Motorsports Expo Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman Super DIRT Series 30-Lap Victoria Championship on Friday to kick off the 20th Annual Dynomax Victoria 200 Weekend at Fulton Speedway. Other winners were Pete Stefanski of Wheatfield in the Leaf Racewear Stacker 2 Pro Stock Super DIRT Series 30-lap event and Frank Burnell of Waterloo in the Top Stitch Custom Embroidery Victoria Pure Stock Championship.

Hefti came from the sixth starting position to claim the $1,500 victory, his first ever at Fulton Speedway. Sammy Reakes, IV raced out to the early lead, but Hefti was steadily working his way to the front, taking the lead on lap 12 and never looking back. Jim Bowman finished in second, 2.958 seconds behind the winning Hefti, who was never seriously challenged. Scott Schrader claimed third, his best ever Fulton finish. Fourth was early leader Reakes, while Mark Yorker was in fifth.

Brett Tonkin charged from the twenty-second starting position to finish a strong sixth, while Kyle Inman finished in seventh. Rounding out the top ten finishers was consi winner Greg Doust, Rob Pratt, and Jeremy Pitcher. Recently crowned Fulton Sportsman Track Champion Kevin Bates was running fifth on lap 19 and looked like he would eventually challenge for a victory, but he ripped off the right front tire after contact with the fourth turn wall.

Six cautions slowed the event, the most serious came on lap one as Joe Williams, Brian Sage, Chris Higgins, Billy Shantel, and Jim LaRock tangled on the backstretch. All drivers were ok but Williams was unable to continue.

Sportsman qualifying heat race victories were claimed by Jim Bowman, Russ Hefti, Sammy Reakes IV, Kyle Inman, Kyle Lewis and Kevin Bates. Greg Doust, Mike Entwistle and Roger Chrysler copped the consolation events.

Pete Stefanski used the outside pole starting position to his advantage to take the lead at the drop of the 30-lap Leaf Racewear Stacker 2 Pro Stock Super DIRT Series $1,000 to win Victoria Championship event. Stefanski lost the lead on lap 9 when a hard charging Louie Jackson took over command of the top position. Jackson, who started seventh, looked to have the race in control but began fading near the halfway mark when Stefanski regained the lead.

Stefanski had to thwart off the numerous challenges of Allen Peters, who finished 1.274 seconds behind in second place. Jackson recovered to finish third while Bob Buono finished a solid fourth. Pro Stock Track Champion T.J. Fitzgibbons finished in fifth. Rounding out the top ten it was 2004 Track Champion Lee Burnett who made his return from early season motor problems, Clayton Benedict, Jipp Ortiz, Billy Clark Jr., and P.J. Peters.

Pro Stock heat winners were recent first time feature winner Bob Buono, Mike Williams, Louie Jackson, and Billy Clark Jr. Bret Belden and Mitchell Jock won the Pro Stock consi events.

Frank Burnell invaded Fulton Speedway to claim the 25-lap Top Stitch Custom Embroidery Pure Stock Victoria Championship $500 to win event in what was possibly the most exciting event of the night. Todd Raabe took off from the pole position to take the early lead but Brandon Warner claimed the top spot on lap 3. Warner held the lead until lap 11 when Phil Marsden.

Dave Mannise, all-time winner in the Pure Stock ranks at Fulton, made his return a memorable and somewhat controversial one by racing with Marsden for the lead at this point. Side by side the two veteran drivers rode in and out of lapped traffic, until lap 22 when Marsden spun out in turn four with Mannise right underneath him.

Mannise took the green and went right into the pit area with a flat tire, with Burnell inheriting the lead and the win, his first ever at Fulton Speedway. Burnell, who started in seventeenth, had to earn it in the last three laps as Rusty Marsden, Track Champion, heavily pressured him for the win. Marsden had to settle for second, with Mike Welch in third. Todd Raabe was fourth with John Eiss in fifth. Completing the top ten it was Nathan Peckham, Dave Pope, Chad Crouse, Ron Marsden, and Todd Storace.

The Pure Stock heat races were won by Todd Raabe, Brandon Warner, Dave Mannise, John Eiss, Dan Hofmann Sr., Phil Marsden, and Charlie Gilbert. Ron Marsden, Mike Welch, and Dave Pope won the last chance consi qualifying events.

PIT NOTES -- 57 Sportsman, 40 Pro Stocks, 63 Pure Stocks, and over 25 Modifieds filled the Fulton pit area to capacity on the beautiful evening which featured a tremendous sunset off to the west. Both featured Super DIRT Series races drew the largest car counts of the season for a series event, as expected at the popular spacious 3/8-mile clay oval. A large crowd was on hand to open the 20th Annual Dynomax Victoria 200 Weekend amidst chilly temperatures. The Fulton track surface was fast and tacky, as evidenced by the new Sportsman track record of 16.640 (81.130mph) set by eventual feature winner Russ Hefti on lap 3 of heat 1. Louie Jackson also broke the track record in the Pro Stock division, with an 18.698 (72.200mph) in the third heat on lap 5. Modifieds turning fast laps included Jeff Isabell, Bob McCreadie, Chad Phelps, and Gary Tomkins. Fulton Pro Stock regular Bob Buono will represent Fulton Speedway at the Syracuse Mile this week during Super DIRT Week as he won the guaranteed starting position.


SEPTEMBER 30, 2005

2006 MOTORSPORTS EXPO SUNOCO RACE FUELS SPORTSMAN SUPER DIRT SERIES VICTORIA CHAMPIONSHIP (30-Laps) -- RUSS HEFTI, Jim Bowman, Scott Schrader, Sammy Reakes IV, Mark Yorker, Brett Tonkin, Kyle Inman, Greg Doust, Rob Pratt, Jeremy Pitcher, Shane Donath, Billy Shantel Jr., Walt McArdell, Kyle Lewis, Tom Juhl Jr, Lance Willix, Roger Chrysler, Rob Ledingham, Alan Fink, Nick Cupolo, Roy Bresnahan, Kenny Stafford, Rob Knapp, Jordan Bennett, Rob Bellinger, Shawn Donath, Kevin Bates, Marcel Pecore, Brian Sage, Mike Entwistle, Kevin Wills, Jim LaRock, Chris Higgins, Joe Williams Jr., Joe Isabell.

LEAF RACEWEAR STACKER 2 PRO STOCK SUPER DIRT SERIES VICTORIA CHAMPIONSHIP (30-Laps) -- PETE STEFANSKI, Allen Peters, Louie Jackson, Bob Buono, T.J. Fitzgibbons, Lee Burnett, Clayton Benedict, Jipp Oritz, Billy Clark Jr, P.J. Peters, James Henry, Ray Maloney, Bret Belden, John Panattoni, Dennis Kirkpatrick, Jack Terrell, Jody Swamp, Scott Beeles, Joey Ladouceur, Mike Williams, Stephane Lebrun, Derek Boyle, Dave Williams, Mark Effner, Mark Alnutt, John Pietrowicz, Roch Aubin, Jason Parkhurst, Mitchell Jock, Harold Humphrey.

TOP STITCH CUSTOM EMBROIDERY VICTORIA PURE STOCK CHAMPIONSHIP (25-Laps) -- FRANK BURNELL, Rusty Marsden, Mike Welch, Todd Raabe, John Eiss, Nathan Peckham, Dave Pope, Chad Crouse, Ron Marsden, Todd Storace, Dan Hofmann Sr., Adam Depuy, Steve Woodworth, Curt Prevo, Jim Donaldson, Charlie Gilbert, Mike Dooley, Phil Marsden, Ethan Parkhurst, Dave Mannise, Ron Hawker, Don Stevenson, Wayne Ellison, Ricky DeGroff, Brandon Warner, Gary Barton, Tom Harrington, Jay McGillicuddy, Dave Marcuccilli, Mike Minutolo.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Rob Bell
Teams Williams