Felipe Fraga and Sperafico win the first race of the 2014 StockCar Brazil season

Five-time Brazilian go-karting champion Felipe Fraga, 18 years old, who doesn’t even have a regular driver’s license yet, was very emotional during the celebrations.

Felipe Fraga made his StockCar Brazil debut in style, winning the first race of the 2014 season. The 18 year old Fraga and his partner Rodrigo Sperafico beat a field of 66 drivers from 8 different countries through changing weather and tricky track conditions to make it to the flag first after having been as low as 5th in the race.

The field of 33 cars started the race behind the safety car due to the rain and low visibility. The regular championship contenders drove all cars in the first stint, which was action filled due to the challenging conditions.

#88 Felipe Fraga and Rodrigo Sperafico
#88 Felipe Fraga and Rodrigo Sperafico
Cacá Bueno, a five time StockCar champion, started from pole and led the first half of the race. While the tricky conditions caught out even seasoned drivers like Rubens Barrichello in 2 separate accidents, rookie Fraga recovered to 3rd place before the mandatory driver changes. Fraga had started on the front row but had dropped to 5th in the first lap.

Sound strategy by the Vogel Team put Sperafico in the lead once the pit stop sequence was completed. Sperafico managed a solid lead all the way to the flag, while Dutchman Jeroen Bleekemolen showed his mastery of the wet conditions finishing second. Third to the flag was Argentinian Mauro Giallombardo.

Five-time Brazilian go-karting champion Felipe Fraga, who doesn’t even have a regular driver’s license yet, was very emotional during the celebrations and declared that “… this will take a few days to sink in.”

Final Result:

1. Felipe Fraga/Rodrigo Sperafico, a 00:52:56.982
2. Valdeno Brito/Jeroen Bleekemolen, a 00:53:02.885
3. Marcos Gomes/Mauro Giallombardo, a 00:53:07.786
4. Sergio Jimenez/Mark Winterbottom, a 00:53:08.041
5. Daniel Serra/Alessandro Pier Guidi, a 00:53:14.931
6. Átila Abreu/Nelson Piquet Jr, a 00:53:15.692
7. Cacá Bueno/Juan Manuel Silva, a 00:53:15.917
8. Tuka Rocha/Craig Dolby, a 00:53:19.071
9. Rubens Barrichello/Augusto Farfus, a 00:53:22.256
10. Popó Bueno/Gabriel Ponce de Léon, a 00:53:24.914
11. Julio Campos/Fabio Carbone, a 00:53:29.081
12. Galid Osman/Cesar Ramos, a 00:53:33.148
13. Nonô Figueiredo/Miguel Molina, a 00:53:34.053
14. Ricardo Mauricio/Oswaldo Negri, a 00:53:35.757
15. Bia Figueiredo/Duda Pamplona, a 00:53:47.152
16. Luciano Burti/Ricardo Rosset, a 00:53:52.421
17. Raphael Matos/Felipe Maluhy, a 00:53:57.304
18. Felipe Lapenna/Chico Serra, a 00:53:57.901
19. Gabriel Casagrande/Enrique Bernoldi, a 00:53:58.540
20. Lucas Foresti/Antonio Jorge Neto, a 00:53:58.575
21. Antonio Pizzonia/Bruno Senna, a 00:54:01.518
22. Felipe Tozzo/Claudio Ricci, a 00:54:03.922
23. Fabio Fogaça/David Muffato, a 00:54:07.804
24. Ricardo Zonta/Diego Aventin, a 00:54:08.547
25. Rafael Suzuki/Giuliano Losacco, a 00:54:15.520
26. Diego Nunes/Jaime Melo, a 00:39:55.503
27. Beto Cavaleiro/Fabio Carreira, a 00:35:25.941
28. Vitor Genz/Vitor Meira, a 00:13:12.521
29. Denis Navarro/Alvaro Parente, a 00:10:03.937
30. Max Wilson/Dean Canto, a 00:10:08.173
31. Allam Khodair/Bruno Junqueira, a 00:10:09.443
32. Alceu FeldmannRoberto Merhi, a 00:08:12.980
33. Thiago Camilo/Lucas Di Grassi abandonaram

StockCar Brazil

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Luciano Burti , Antonio Pizzonia , Enrique Bernoldi , Rubens Barrichello , Ricardo Zonta , Bruno Junqueira , Max Wilson , Ricardo Maurício , Ricardo Rosset , Chico Serra , Nelson Piquet , Rodrigo Sperafico , Jaime Melo , Julio Campos , Fabio Carbone , Augusto Farfus , Jeroen Bleekemolen , Dean Canto , Alvaro Parente , Mark Winterbottom , Bruno Senna , Daniel Serra , Tuka Rocha , Alessandro Pier Guidi , Allam Khodair , Sergio Jimenez , Miguel Molina , Diego Nunes , Thiago Camilo , Ana Beatriz , Cesar Ramos , Craig Dolby , Caca Bueno , Claudio Ricci , Lucas Foresti , Rafael Suzuki , Vitor Meira , Juan Manuel Silva , Galid Osman , Valdeno Brito , Nono Figueiredo , Denis Navarro , Felipe Tozzo , Fabio Fogaca , Felipe Lapenna , Duda Pamplona , Beto Cavaleiro , Alceu Feldmann , Popo Bueno , Vitor Genz , Marcos Gomes , Gabriel Casagrande , Felipe Fraga , Mauro Giallombardo , Gabriel Ponce de Leon
Article type Race report
Tags augusto farfus, bruno senna, cacá bueno, felipe fraga, interlagos, jeroen bleekemolen, mark winterbottom, nelson piquet jr, rodrigo sperafico, rubens barrichello, stockcar