FASCAR: New Smyrna results 2005-04-23

Rogers returns to Winner's Circle at New Smyrna Speedway Samsula, Fla. (April 23, 2005) The story of the night at New Smyrna Speedway was NO rain. The skies were gray but luckily the little drizzle that came went over very fast and the track...

Rogers returns to Winner's Circle at New Smyrna Speedway

Samsula, Fla. (April 23, 2005) The story of the night at New Smyrna Speedway was NO rain. The skies were gray but luckily the little drizzle that came went over very fast and the track was fine. With a large crowd in the stands from the second "Fan Free Night", what looked bad turned out very good.

Fans saw one of New Smyrna's favorite drivers return for the 50 lap Super Late Model race, David Rogers with the TM Ranch Super Late Model No. 11. Although only 8 Super Lates showed for the 50 lapper, they were all very good cars. Another surprise driver for the 50 lapper was Larry Osteen who we have not seen for some time. Osteen actually was in a Late Model that he plans to race next weekend in the Goodyear Challenge Late Model 100 at USA International in Lakeland.

Rogers showed that he still knew New Smyrna Speedway as he led from green to checkered.

But it was not just a given win, he had to earn it with Jeff Choquette chasing him and almost passing him for the lead. But Choquette broke an a-arm and had to retire from the race putting Fain Skinner on Roger's tail. Skinner did a fine job of trying to take the lead but never could. David Pollen Jr. and Rich Clouser both had a very good run. Clouser, who has been racing Orlando SpeedWorld in the Keith Williams's owned No. 8 Super Late, was running third but also suffered mechanical problems and had to withdraw. But Pollen gladly took over third when Clouser retired from the field. Fourth place Bruce Lawrence Jr. did a good job and also is one of those faces we have not seen much of in 2005 along with Morgan Hoover in the No. 39 Super Late Model.

Rogers took the checkered and was all smiles followed by Fain Skinner, David Pollen, Jr., Bruce Lawrence, Jr., and Rich Clouser. The Super Lates return May 7 for another 50 lapper.

The Sportsman did not have an easy night as there was a pile-up in turn 1 on the first lap of the race. A few cars were not able to continue and suffered major damage including the race winner Donny Williams who had to have some sheet metal pulled back from his rear tire to continue on.

Even with a damaged rear-end, Donny Williams was able to take the checkered and do some pretty heavy "donut" action on the front stretch. Following Williams to the checkered was new grandpa Dale Clouser who proudly showed off his new granddaughter born April 12. Randy Jones, Jim Snyder, and Ron Lufcy completed the top five.

Ted Helmes lead the Open Wheel Modified division taking his very first win as a Modified driver and lighting up the frontstretch. Helmes, who came out of the Super Stock division, was all smiles and grins in Winner's Circle. Following Helmes to the checkered was Alan Bruns, Art Kunzeman, Bobby Blake and Mike Dahm.

David Castello took yet another Mini Stock win coming from the rear of the field to first. Ted Vulpius and Ben Cutler Jr. entertained the crowd with some very good side-by-side action for second with Vulpius taking the spot. Castello took the checkered followed by Ted Vulpius, Ben Cutler Jr., Mark Broat, and Anthony King. The Mini Stocks are off next weekend for the Mini Stock Challenge race at USA International.

After being disqualified last weekend in the Super Stock 50, it was Josh Wronkowski who lead the way for the Super Stocks. Wronkowski looked to be on a mission to show that he could do it and inspite of all the efforts of Ron Whaley, it was Wronkowski taking the checkered over Ron Whaley, George Spears, James Adams, and Jason Foster.

The biggest story of the night was the FASCAR Pro Truck 50. Jamie Skinner set fast time and pulled the 0 pill starting the field straight up. In the rear of the field were two Quick Kids trucks of Stephen Bishop and Chad Atkins. But what happened was a surprise to everyone including the leader of the race.

Bishop, who started in the rear of the field with Atkins, worked his way up thru the field to pass every single truck and the leader. There was plenty of action and alot of side- by-side racing with a few new faces in the field including the No. 8 truck of Todd Bontrager. This was the first race of the famous No. 8 truck with the Pro Trucks and the fans loved it. Bontrager gave chase to Skinner most of the race but was just as surprised as Skinner to find a 13 year old kid going side-by-side with them and doing it with style.

Bishop won the race but due to the fact that he was a Quick Kid, the win was given to Jamie Skinner for the Pro Trucks. Following Skinner in the top five were Todd Bontrager, Marty Wolf, Charlie Collins and Dawayne Barrus.

Danny Foster, who wheels the No. 99 truck, graciously donated some Outback free Kids meals to the crowd in the stands and they loved it. Young Greg Dame, 17, took his third win in the Strictly Stock division over Kerry Payne, Ray Tanguay, Jose Rivera, and Tammy Clouser. April 30th at New Smyrna Speedway the TBARA Outlaw Winged Sprints will headline the program with Open Wheel Modifieds, Sportsman, Super Stock and Strictly Stock.


1. #11 David Rogers
2. #1 Fain Skinner
3. #65 David Pollen Jr.
4. #116 Bruce Lawrence, Jr.
5. #8 Rich Clouser
6. #22 Larry Osteen
7. #70 Jeff Choquette
8. #39 Morgan Hoover

1. #60 Jamie Skinner
2. #8 Todd Bontrager
3. #9 Marty Wolf
4. #07 Charlie Collins
5. #3 Dawayne Barrus
6. #32 Bill Stacy
7. #99 Danny Foster
8. #05 B.J. Gill
9. #26 Danny Polling
10. #11K A.J. Curreli

1. #61 Ted Helmes
2. #4b Alan Bruns
3. #9 Art Kunzeman
4. #34 Bobby Blake
5. #21 Mike Dahm

1. #111 Donny Williams
2. #30 Dale Clouser
3. #75 Randy Jones
4. #55 Jim Snyder
5. #07 Ron Lufcy
6. #63 Dale Howard
7. #26 Derek Slade
8. #18 Kew Lewton
9. #7 Tom Gamache
10. #6 Bruce McGonigal
11. #45 Mike Soukup
12. #330 Joe Gerard
13. #18D Brian Dula
14. #70 John Nusbaum
15. #27 Phil Luizzo

1. #34 David Castello
2. #71 Ted Vulpius
3. #83 Ben Cutler Jr.
4. #6 Mark Broat
5. #69 Anthony King
6. #23 Wayne Wells

1. #21 Josh Wronkowski
2. #2 Ron Whaley
3. #18 George Spears
4. #29 James Adams
5. #49 Jason Foster
6. #34 Pat Buckley
7. #8 Faris Crews
8. #01 Chuck Smith
9. #210 Bill Wingate
10. #22 Bruce McGonigal Jr.
11. #66 Tim Edmundson
12. #60 Bruce Muh
13. #5 David Rowe
14. #8 Henry Rader
15. #123 Ed Barber

1. #67 Greg Dane
2. #11x Kerry Payne
3. #007 Ray Tanguay
4. #73 Joe Rivera
5. #30 Tammy Clouser
6. #33 Jim Zabele
7. #15 Mike Wofford


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Jason Foster , Fain Skinner , David Rowe
Teams Williams