CRA: Winchester race report

Car Brite 200 Trophy to Bull Baker. Winchester, Ind. (October 5, 2002)-- Completing the pass on 2000 Sunoco Super Series champion Scott Hantz on lap 178 for the race lead, Bull Baker then dominated the remainder of the Car Brite 200 Presented ...

Car Brite 200 Trophy to Bull Baker.

Winchester, Ind. (October 5, 2002)-- Completing the pass on 2000 Sunoco Super Series champion Scott Hantz on lap 178 for the race lead, Bull Baker then dominated the remainder of the Car Brite 200 Presented By LA West Luxury Vehicles at Winchester Speedway. Baker rocketed to his fifth career victory and earned $7,590 for his winning efforts.

"This is one of the biggest victories in my career," said race winner Bull Baker. "I knew Scott (Hantz) couldn't keep the pace I could. His tires weren't as fresh, so I ran him hard. This is my favorite track, I wish we raced here every week," added Baker.

At the drop of the green flag, Chuck Barnes Jr. darted into the lead position, but on the second trip around Winchester Speedway, Kenny Tweedy powered by Barnes to grab the top spot. Once in first slot, Tweedy began to dominate the early portion of the event.

The front duo seemed conformable completing laps as Tweedy led for much of the first half of the event. Then on the 55th circuit, the top three-runners of Tweedy, Barnes and Ray Skillman raced nose-to-tail battling for the top position.

The yellow flag flew on lap 57 by series flagman Keith Ousley. Series veteran Scott Hantz elected to take on some Goodyear Racing Tires. This was a move for track position later in the Car Brite 200.

Green flag conditions appeared near lap 64 and the top-three remained the same until lap 98, when Ray Skillman bypassed Tweedy for the lead going into turn one. Then on the 99th circuit in the first corner, Skillman spun and this gave Tweedy the top position back on lap 100 that awarded the 1997 series champion a $1,000 bonus from Car Brite.

Under this caution period, a large percentage of the lead lap machines elected to pit which handed the first position to Brent Downey with Scott Hantz, Dave Jackson, Chuck Barnes Jr. and Alan Troxell rounding out the top five.

Hantz wasted little time going for the first position after a battle with Downey, Hantz grabbed the first spot on lap 109. Dave Jackson was also able to get around Downey. After a brief yellow flag, Hantz continued to lead and built a full-straightway advantage over Dave Jackson. During this stretch, Joel Kauffman and Junior Hanley began to charge to the front as they were scored in fourth and fifth respectively on lap 145 when the caution flew after contact with Kenny Tweedy and J.R. Roahrig in turn two, which ended the racing for both series standouts.

Then on the restart on the 148th circuit, the lapped machine of Ray Skillman made contact with Sunoco Super Series stars of Joel Kauffman and Junior Hanley. Skillman initially made contact with Busch and then Kauffman and Hanley hammered the outside wall. Kauffman suffered heavy damage, resulting in a 25th place finish with Skillman also done for the night. Hanley was able to continue with damage.

After the accident was cleared from the speedway, Hantz continued to show the way with Dave Jackson, Chuck Barnes Jr., Bull Baker and Evan Jackson comprising the top five. As the 161st circuit was completed, the top-four raced nose-to-tail.

On the 165th circuit, with an unbelievable move Baker passed Chuck Barnes Jr. and then the next lap, Baker took second from Dave Jackson. Baker then raced second behind the race leader of Hantz.

After the caution flew on lap 166th circuit, Hantz and Baker then had a great battle for the lead. Baker drove underneath Hantz and they battled until lap 177, when Hantz slipped in turn four and Baker motored around him to take over the race lead on lap 178.

Surviving a few-late race pass, Baker collected his fifth career victory, finishing ahead of Barnes Jr., Crabtree Jr., Hanley and Downey. With Hanley placing fourth and Kauffman in the 25th position, Kauffman has a six point lead over Hanley in the Sunoco Super Series standings with one race remaining on the schedule.

Chuck Barnes Jr. recorded his first career pole and was the fastest of 41 cars to earn the Car Brite/Tobacco Depot Fast Qualifier Award. Barnes Jr. toured the .500-mile oval in 15.580 seconds / 115.533 mph. Kent Baledge was the winner of the Lane Automotive/K&N Performance Filters Hard Charger, finishing in seventh position after starting in 36th slot. 14th-place finisher Tim Phillips was the Hubler Group/Blake Carburetion Rookie of the Race. Jim Crabtree Jr. and Baledge were the winners of the Goodyear Performance Awards. Baker was the winner of the Sweet Move the Race. Kenny Tweedy was the awarded lap leader bonus from Safety Systems Inc. Tweedy was the winner of the Car Brite/Kingen Interstate Express Halfway Leader Award.

The next Sunoco Super Series event is the Sunoco 100 at Indianapolis Raceway Park on October 19-20. The second annual Sunoco Festival also includes, outlaw late models, street stocks, super stocks and super trucks. For up-to-the-minute coverage, fans can visit the official series website at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Joel Kauffman