CRA: Mansfield race notes

Evan Jackson Becomes The First Sunoco Super Series Repeat Winner of 2004 Mansfield, OH (July 24, 2004) - Evan Jackson won the Sunoco Super Series Goodyear 100 Saturday night At Mansfield Motorsports Speedway, leading all but the first lap of...

Evan Jackson Becomes The First Sunoco Super Series Repeat Winner of 2004

Mansfield, OH (July 24, 2004) - Evan Jackson won the Sunoco Super Series Goodyear 100 Saturday night At Mansfield Motorsports Speedway, leading all but the first lap of the event, the first of three straight series events in the Buckeye state. Running nearly even with Bobby Parsley on the first lap, Jackson took over the lead going into the first turn of the second lap and never trailed. Chris Gabehart ran second for most of the race with Jeff Lane finishing third, and fast qualifier Fred Campbell setting a new Sunoco Super Series record with his 13 consecutive Top 5 finish finishing fourth, Scott Hantz pushed Campbell for the last several laps and ended up fifth.

"We just had an awesome car tonight," stated a jubilant Jackson. "It just kept getting better, I thought it was going to be a little tight there for a while, but it came to us and it just got better."

Campbell set the Corteco fast time for the event breaking the old track record by more than ½ second after having a rear end problem that prevented him from getting more than 3 laps of practice. He went out at the tail of qualifying and broke the record Brian Campbell, his son, had set a few minutes earlier. Jeff Lane had the third fastest time, and had lent the parts Campbell needed to fix his car to Campbell. In all 26 of 28 cars qualifying for the Goodyear 100 broke Lane's previous track record set last season.

"I just want to thank my crew who got this car back together, Jeff Lane for the parts necessary to fix the car. Eddie Van Meter was going to loan us the parts, but it turned out we needed others, so I need to thank him also," Campbell said after qualifying.

Campbell drew an eight for the invert, the highest number possible, meaning he started in eighth place and putting Jackson on the pole, with Parsley on the outside front row.

The first several laps of the race saw most of the field running side by side with the front 6 in a tight group jockeying for position. On the seventh lap Junior Hanley and Brett Jursik got together in the third turn spinning sideways and blocking the track. Several cars slid into the corner and bounced around knocking out Bud Adams, Tommy St. John, and Brett Jursik, bringing out the red flag. Hanley restarted on the tail moved steadily to the front and finished ninth.

Hantz dogged Campbell for many laps, and passed him once, but due to a yellow flag on that lap was forced to give the spot back as scoring reverted to the previous lap. Campbell pushed Lane for the last 40 laps with Lane holding him off.

"We had a great car, but it took it 5-6 laps to get going. We had it set up for long runs, but the cautions came at the wrong times." Commented Lane.

The season points race tighten up with Hanley maintaining the lead he took over with his win last week, but the margin was cut to only 15 points over Chuck Barnes, Jr. and Jeff Lane only 2 points behind Barnes. Scott Hantz gained several points on Hanley to get within 36 points of the leader.

Jackson won the Muller Motorsports/ARP Stock Car Bodies ½ way leader award for leading the 50th lap of the Goodyear 100. Jimmy King won the Gladiator GarageWorks Crew Chief of the Race Award, with Scott Hantz and Scott Baker winning Goodyear Performance awards. Baker also won the Lane Automotive/Isky Racing Cams Hardcharger Award moving up 12 positions

to finish sixth. Frank Kreyer, driving a new car after last week's hard crash, moved up 10 positions to finish 13, making several strong moves while passing cars, which earning him the Sweet Manufacturing Sweet Move of the Race Award.

His second place finish earned Chris Gabehart his first Backstretch Performance/Reed Cams/Blake Carburetion Rookie of the Race Award. This performance has solidified a very good Rookie Season for Gabehart that has him in the lead for the Rookie of the Year Award in both actual points and adjusted Rookie points, by a few points over Frank Kreyer and Steve Moenck.

The next Sunoco Super Series event is the Ludlow Automotive & Accessories 150 Presented by Lucas Oil Products at Shadybowl Speedway on Saturday, July 31 with the Sunoco 100 at Toledo Speedway the next day, on Sunday, August 1. This rare series double-header weekend happened do to a rain makeup for the Sunoco 100, which was originally scheduled to take place on May 29. More information on both events is available at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Jeff Lane