CRA: IRP Festival Race summary

Salem, Ind. (October 22, 2002) -- With over 180 racecars and race trucks in the pits, the 2nd Annual Sunoco Race Festival this past weekend at Indianapolis Raceway Park brought together racers from Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Illinois, ...

Salem, Ind. (October 22, 2002) -- With over 180 racecars and race trucks in the pits, the 2nd Annual Sunoco Race Festival this past weekend at Indianapolis Raceway Park brought together racers from Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Illinois, Ohio, Wisconsin, Kansas, Missouri, Canada and even Scotland. All five divisions had spectacular racing action in their feature events on Sunday.

The Sunoco Super Series lead off the day's action with the Sunoco 100 Presented By ASI Limited. Legendary Canadian racer Junior Hanley took the early lead at the drop of the green flag. Pleasant Lake, Indiana's Scott Hantz came from his 8th starting position to grab the lead from Hanley on lap 47 with a strong move to the outside. Hantz's lead was short lived as Hanley got back around Hantz on lap 51 when Hantz was trapped behind a slower car. Hantz stayed right behind Hanley, and power around the outside again on lap 60 to retake the lead for good. Hantz, in his EMF Corporation Chevrolet, held off a hard charging Bobby Murany for the win. Hanley finished third with Fred Campbell and Chet Fillip rounding out the top five. 16-year-old Joel Kauffman claimed the Sunoco Super Series 2002 championship with his 7th place finish.

The Outlaw Late Models, the fastest stock cars to ever race at Indianapolis Raceway Park, hit the oval next for the Gunslinger 75 Presented By EMF. Finishline Fabricating Fast Qualifier Joe Bush blistered the track on Saturday with a qualifying time of 20.3 seconds, with speeds reaching over 125 miles per hour in the straight a ways. Edgerton, Ohio's Jack Landis jumped to the early lead from his outside row one starting position. Landis held the lead until Scott Hantz slipped by on lap thirteen. Hantz, one of three drivers doing double duty in both late model divisions, never looked back holding off a late challenge from Brian Campbell to take the win. Hantz made his car owner Dick Poe very happy, Poe's company EMF Corporation was the sponsor of the event. Main Event Series Champion Tim Felver finished third followed by 2002 Sunoco Super Series Rookie Of The Year Andy Ponstein in fourth and Tim Yonker in fifth.

The American Fasteners 40 Presented By Ray Yockey Motorsports was next on the day's racing agenda. This event featured race trucks from the CARS Series and Anderson Speedway. Action was intense through out the field at the drop of the green flag with Indianapolis native Darel Dieringer leading the first lap. CARS Series 2002 Champion Steve Blair powered by to take the lead on lap two. Blair's lead was short lived as his truck broke after crossing the start finish line to lead lap three. Noblesville, Indiana's Joe Beaver assumed the lead on lap four. Beaver managed to hold the lead for ten laps before Robert Turner in his Marquis Mortgage Ford slipped by Beaver to take the lead on lap forty. Turner held off Tony Broyles to take the win. Dieringer held on to third, with Joe Beaver in fourth and Rob Hazelbaker in fifth.

The Super Stocks then took to the IRP oval for the Sunoco Race Fuel 25. Dorr, Michigan's Steve Sunde grabbed the early lead on lap number one. Jim Ewers then made the pass on Sunde to lead lap two. Ewers managed to stay in front until Wes Bullock brought his Pemmican Beef Jerky Chevrolet to the lead on lap five. Bullock never looked back and cruised to the win. Jerome Branscum came from his ninth starting position to finish second. David Lake, a regular at Berlin Raceway in Marne, Michigan finished third. Jim Ewers held on to finish fourth with Scott Tomasik fifth.

After a very emotional race dedication by the family of former Indianapolis racer Jim Jones Jr. who lost his life racing in this event last season, the Street Stocks took to the track for the Jim Jones Memorial 75 Presented By Liquid Transport Corp. Carthage, Indiana's Johnny Magee took quick advantage of his pole position start to take the early lead over Rob Jawsay and Richard Bower. Last years Street Stock event winner Chuck Barnes, of Louisville, Kentucky, began his assault on the field from his tenth place starting position. Barnes quickly picked his way through the field to take the lead from Magee on lap nineteen.

The Jim Jones Memorial 75 Presented By Liquid Transport Corp featured some of the best racing of the day with the event's first sixty six laps going caution free with competitors sometimes racing three and four wide. Greenfield, Indiana's Phil Jenkins was the happiest driver to see the caution. Jenkins had charged from his twenty-eighth starting position in the Jim Jones Sr. owned Mattingly Automotive Chevrolet to fifth by lap sixty six. Barnes held off Magee over the last five laps to take his second straight Sunoco Race Festival Street Stock victory in his Sunoco sponsored Chevrolet. Jenkins did his best to try and get to the front in the last five laps of the event, but would have to settle for a third place finish. Jeffersonville, Indiana's Roscoe Thompson came from his sixteenth starting position to finish fourth. Linden, Michigan's Tomas Stone held on to finish fifth.

Champion Racing Association would like to thank Sunoco, ASI Limited, American Fasteners, Yockey Motorsports, EMF Corporation, and Liquid Transport Corp for their support of the 2nd Annual Sunoco Race Festival and all it's events.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Chet Fillip , Andy Ponstein , Joel Kauffman