CRA: Anderson summary 2002-09-07

Ron Breese Jr. scores first career victory at Anderson. Anderson, Ind. (September 7, 2002) - Ron Breese Jr. scored his first career Sunoco Super Series victory at Anderson Speedway in the Eagle Creek Aviation 150 Presented By Great Deals of ...

Ron Breese Jr. scores first career victory at Anderson.

Anderson, Ind. (September 7, 2002) - Ron Breese Jr. scored his first career Sunoco Super Series victory at Anderson Speedway in the Eagle Creek Aviation 150 Presented By Great Deals of Indiana. Breese Jr. raced in second position for a majority of the event and then grabbed the top position on lap 145 when race leader Joel Kauffman hammered the outside retaining wall coming out of the fourth corner. Kauffman, who led all but one lap to this point, suffered a blown right front tire that forced him into the outside retaining wall. Breese held off Junior Hanley and Scott Hantz to win his first ever Sunoco Super Series event over the course of the final five green flag laps.

"We had an awesome car," said race-winner Ron Breese Jr. "I was worried about Junior there at the end. He is a great driver and I have a lot of respect for him, but I had a pretty good idea I could hold him off. I look forward coming back here next year," added Breese Jr.

At the drop of the green flag, Joel Kauffman appeared to get the jump on the field, but the caution quickly appeared after Bull Baker bounced off the outside retaining wall. A complete restart was ordered for the 25-car starting field. When racing action restarted, Kauffman again darted into the lead spot with Breese, Baker and Brent Downey comprising the top four runners with Jeff Lane in fifth position.

The initial caution flew on lap eight when Kenny Tweedy was caught up in a chain reaction accident in the second corner of the quarter-mile oval. Back under green, Kauffman established a healthy margin over Breese.

The action heated up towards the 50-lap mark as Kauffman approached to the tail of the lead lap machines. Boxed in while trying to put Matt Hagans and Kent Baledge one lap down, Breese was able to sneak underneath Kauffman to take command of the field on lap 57. But it was short-lived as Kauffman utilizing the upper groove, motored by Breese one lap later.

On the 61st circuit, Kenny Tweedy, Todd Oliver and Terry Fisher were all involved in an alteration in the turn two ending the night for Oliver and causing Fisher to have extensive damage repaired. When green returned to the speedway, Junior Hanley followed the two front runners of Kauffman and Breese Jr. The three competitors raced nose-to-tail battling for the victory as Scott Hantz made a charge from his ninth starting position. Hantz bypassed J.R. Roahrig on lap 78 to grab sixth place.

The three top drivers continued to battle nose to tail as the 120th lap was completed as Hantz moved into fifth position on lap 125 around Brent Downey. The on the 134th go-around, Hantz powered past Baker for fourth place as he set his sights on the top three of Kauffman, Breese and Hanley.

On the 144th circuit, Kauffman abruptly drifted high coming off the fourth corner and made hard contact with the outside retaining wall after suffering a blown right-front tire. The 16-year-old sensation wasn't able to continue as Breese Jr. inherited first position with Hanley and Hantz making up the top three slots with five laps to go.

After cleanup was completed, Breese survived one late caution to hold off Canadian Legend Junior Hanley with Scott Hantz finishing in third position. Brent Downey crossed the line in fourth with Bull Baker rounding out the top five. Andy Ponstein made a charge from 13th to grab sixth place honors with Jim Crabtree Jr., Eddie Van Meter, Tim Phillips and Scott Wolfe rounding out the top-ten finishers.

After 17 of 20 events, Kauffman had his points lead slithered to just 52 markers over Junior Hanley. Scott Hantz ranks third, just 105 points behind Kauffman with Jim Crabtree Jr. and J.R. Roahrig rounding out the top five.

Bull Baker recorded his fourth career pole and was the fastest of 27 cars to earn the Tobacco Depot Fast Qualifier Award. Baker toured the .250-mile oval in 12.260 seconds / 73.409 mph. Eddie Van Meter was the winner of the Lane Automotive/K&N Performance Filters Hard Charger, finishing in eighth position after starting in 21st slot. Andy Ponstein was the Hubler Group/Blake Carburetion Rookie of the Race. Junior Hanley and Eddie Van Meter were the winners of the Goodyear Performance Awards. Scott Hantz was the winner of the Sweet Move the Race.

The next Sunoco Super Series event is the Columbus 150 at Columbus Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 21. For up-to-the-minute coverage, fans can visit the official series website at


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Terry Fisher , Andy Ponstein , Jeff Lane , Joel Kauffman , Matt Hagan