CRA: Anderson race report

Chet Fillip Wins 36th Annual Chevy Dealers 400. Anderson, Ind. (July 13, 2002) - Making his first appearance of the 2002 season in the Sunoco Super Series, Chet Fillip captured the glory of winning the 36th Annual Chevy Dealers 400 Presented By...

Chet Fillip Wins 36th Annual Chevy Dealers 400.

Anderson, Ind. (July 13, 2002) - Making his first appearance of the 2002 season in the Sunoco Super Series, Chet Fillip captured the glory of winning the 36th Annual Chevy Dealers 400 Presented By Choo Choo Customs and Great Deals Coupon Magazine at Anderson Speedway. Fillip passed Ron Breese Jr. on lap 301 and led the final circuits to capture his third series victory. Fillip, driving the Brownsburg Auto Parts / Hendricks Motor Sports Chevrolet, collected $10,690 for his winning efforts. Fillip has the honor of being the first driver to win the Little 500 and Chevy Dealers 400 at Anderson Speedway.

"I couldn't believe how good the car was at the end of the race. When you have a car that works that good, it makes you look good. I appreciate everything that Jim Cooper did on this car the last few days. He has worked days and nights getting this car good," said Chet Fillip. "It's a nice piece of history. It hasn't sunken it yet," added Fillip about winning the Little 500 and the Chevy Dealers 400.

At the beginning of the historic event, pole sitter Bull Baker jumped into the early lead, driving the Car Brite / Stoops Automotive Group Chevrolet. Then on the second lap, a multi-car accident took out several contenders including Junior Hanley, Eddie Van Meter, Terry Fisher and Brad Mueller. Competitors that were able to continue but damaged included Evan Jackson and Jim Crabtree Jr. A driver change occurred with Eddie Van Meter jumping in the number 20 that Tim Sibila started.

When racing resumed, Baker built a lead with Bobby Parsley, Joel Kauffman, Matt Hagans and J.R. Roahrig all chasing the race leader. Baker, the defending race champion, set a torrid pace, but then towards the 75-lap mark, Parsley, Kauffman, Roahrig, and 20th place-starter Breese Jr. were on the deck lid of the race leader.

Baker was able to hold them off, but then on lap 133, Baker was penalized for brake checking on the restart and was forced to serve a stop-and-go penalty on pit road under caution. This turned the lead over to Parsley, who had raced in the second position for the initial part of the event and was applying pressure to Baker over the last 50 go-arounds.

After serving the penalty, Baker decided to make an additional pit stop for new Goodyear Tires on the next caution period. Baker proved to have a strong machine, advancing to third on lap 164 around Brent Downey and then around second place J.R. Roahrig on the 171st circuit. On the 185th lap, Baker passed Parsley to retake the lead for the second occasion in the event.

By the lap 193 mark, Baker built a half-straightaway lead on the second place machine of Parsley, with Roahrig and Breese Jr. in third and fourth. On the 260th circuit, Todd Currier hit the outside retaining wall in turn one after contact with another competitor.

During this caution period, Parsley, Roahrig, Scott Hantz, Chet Fillip and Brent Downey all elected to visit pit road for service. Then when the event restarted, Hantz quickly advanced to the front. The 2000 series champion and rookie of the year pulled behind Baker near lap 288. Then on lap 292 he turned underneath Baker heading down the straightaway and the two touched. They both restarted on the tail of the lead lap machines.

This handed the top spot to Breese Jr. When the green was waving, Fillip got underneath Breese Jr. down the backstretch and completed the pass for the race lead. During the final 100 circuits, Fillip was able to hold of Breese Jr. who finished in second and Hantz regrouping to claim third-place honors. Baker finished in fourth with Eddie Van Meter, filling in for Tim Sibila in fifth slot.

Bull Baker earned the Tobacco Depot Fast Qualifier Award. Baker toured the .250-mile oval in 12.183 seconds / 73.873 mph. Tim Sibila was the winner of the Lane Automotive/K&N Performance Filters Hard Charger, finishing in fifth position after starting in 28th slot. Eighth-place finisher Tim Phillips was the Hubler Group/Blake Carburetion Rookie of the Race. Sibila and Phillips were the winners of the Goodyear Performance Awards. Fillip was the winner of the Sweet Move the Race. Baker was the awarded lap leader bonus from Kingen Interstate Express.

The next Sunoco Super Series event is the Shady Bowl 150 at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday, July 27.

For up-to-the-minute coverage, fans can visit the official series website at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Terry Fisher , Chet Fillip , Joel Kauffman , Matt Hagan