CRA: Anderson preview

CRA SUPER SERIES READY TO CHALLENGE ANDERSON SPEEDWAY Salem, IN (June 7, 2007) -- The CRA Super Series is ready to challenge Anderson Speedway this Saturday in the Anderson 125 Presented By Great Deals Coupon Magazine, this event is a ...


Salem, IN (June 7, 2007) -- The CRA Super Series is ready to challenge Anderson Speedway this Saturday in the Anderson 125 Presented By Great Deals Coupon Magazine, this event is a reschedule of an event that was postponed because of weather on April 14th. The famous high-banked quarter mile racetrack located in Anderson, Indiana has hosted more CRA Super Series events than any other track since the series first event ever event on Saturday, April 26, 1997. Anderson Speedway has had a total of 41 CRA Super Series events to date. Former two time series champion Brian Ross is the all-time series victory leader at Anderson Speedway with nine victories.

Series points leader Chris Gabehart leads a strong group of CRA Super Series regulars into Saturday's event, Gabehart has a 46 point lead in a season were he has yet to finish outside the top five the five series events so far this season. Gabehart opened the season with a fifth place finish in Nashville, got fourth place finishes at Winchester Speedway and at Baer Field Speedway, got a dominating win at Toledo Speedway, and fought back through the field three times to finish fifth in last weeks event at Columbus Motor Speedway. Gabehart has also claimed the last two events Appleton Rack & Pinion Fast Qualifier Awards and set a new track record last week at Columbus.

Scott Hantz is currently second in points with one win at Baer Field Speedway this season and has one career win at Anderson Speedway. Jeff Lane is currently third in series points, and comes into Saturday's event with two career wins at Anderson Speedway including last seasons Anderson 250 event. Rookie contender John Van Doorn is currently fourth in series points, only one behind Lane, Van Doorn finished second in last weeks event at Columbus Motor Speedway, his best ever finish with the series. JR Roahrig is currently fifth in season points and is seeking his first series win at Anderson Speedway.

Jason Shively is sixth in points and was the Fast Qualifier at last years Anderson 250. 1997 series Champion Kenny Tweedy is currently seventh in series points, he is second on the all time series win list at Anderson Speedway with four wins. Veteran Rick Turner is currently eighth in series points, his lone series victory was at Anderson Speedway. A. J. Ganino is currently ninth in series points, but is not expected to compete Saturday after damaging his car at Columbus Motor Speedway. Jack Smith, who made his NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series debut a few weeks ago at Mansfield Motorsports Speedway, is currently tenth in series points and will be making his first ever start at Anderson Speedway. Everyone in the top ten except Ganino is pre-entered for Saturday's event.

1998 series Champion Brian Rievley will be making his second start of the season with the series, competing in a car owned by his father Bill Rievley. Brian Rievley has one win with the series at Anderson Speedway and was the 1997 Anderson Speedway Late Model Champion. The famed duo plan to make selected starts with the series during the remaining 2007 schedule.

Third Generation driver Bret Miles Jr. will be making his first start in a late model at Anderson Speedway. Miles Jr. is running a limited schedule in 2007 to get experience to make a run for Rookie Of the Year honors in 2008. Miles finished 15th at Winchester Speedway in April and finished 15th in last weeks event at Columbus Motor Speedway. In 2006, the Muncie, Indiana native placed second in the Anderson Speedway Street Stock point standings earning Rookie of the Year honors. He recorded a division-leading four feature wins along with seven fast times and 14 top-10 finishes.

Other series drivers entered to date include Bull Baker, a former Street Stock Champion at Anderson Speedway and winner of the Anderson 400 in 2001, Eddie Van Meter, Greg Boone, Terry Fisher Jr., John Heck, and 1994 Anderson Speedway Late Model Champion Bobby Fields will make his second ever series start in a second Floyd Fehl owned car as a teammate to Kenny Tweedy. The series has a great group of Rookie Of The Year contenders entered including Ray Mooi, Sean Matthuis, Donald Karr Jr., and Nick Baran. Two drivers making long hauls for Saturday's event include Robert Maynor from Colgate, Wisconsin and Tim Gittemeier from St. Charles, Missouri.

Pit gates open for Saturday's event at 1:30pm, CRA Super Series practice will begin at 4:30pm with qualifying at 6:30pm. The race program will begin at 8pm and will include the Anderson 125 Presented By Great Deals Coupon Magazine. More information on the event can be found at or at

-credit: cra

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Terry Fisher , Brian Ross