CRA: All American 300 Nashville race summary

Jason Hogan Wins The All American 300 In Nashville Nashville, TN (November 6, 2005) -- Cleveland, Georgia native Jason Hogan fought back from one lap down, worked his way to the front and put himself in a position to fight for...

Jason Hogan Wins The All American 300 In Nashville

Nashville, TN (November 6, 2005) -- Cleveland, Georgia native Jason Hogan fought back from one lap down, worked his way to the front and put himself in a position to fight for the lead if given the chance over the last few laps. He got that chance when the leaders bumped with 12 laps to go crashing together leaving Hogan with the lead. He then drove home to win the All American 300 event of the All American 400 Weekend at the Music City Motorplex at the Fairgrounds in Nashville, Tennessee. Hogan ended a two race-winning streak for the North in the annual North-South Challenge jointly sanctioned by the Southern All Stars and the CRA Super Series presented by Spray Power.

"I have been trying to win a race here since 2000. I have raced in three All American races here, finishing third last year was great, but to win at this track is the highlight of my career so far." An elated Hogan stated from Victory Lane. "It was luck and the good Lord above looking over us. We were junk all day, I was ready to pull off and park it on lap 200, and thank goodness I didn't do that. This was a tough field of late models from all over, I'm just the lucky one who got the victory today!"

Hogan just beat a hard charging Boris Jurkovic who had managed to stay in the top five through out the second half of the event. Jurkovic was the top Northern driver to finish.

"I want to thank my guys. We elected to pit late and saved what we could for the end, and it worked." Jurkovic commented. "I should have pushed a little harder there at the end I really like guitars." He said with a laugh.

JR Norris jumped out with the early lead before Ryan Mathews caught him on the 17th lap to take over the lead and he held it until the 70th lap when Jeremy Pate took over. Mathews regained the lead when Pate pitted during a yellow flag brought out when CRA Driver Points Champion Jeff Lane was spun after contact from another competitor and was hit in turn three. Lane struggled with an ill handling car all weekend, but had moved up from his 23rd starting spot to 15th when the incident ended his day.

The race then settled into a long green flag run from lap 95-186. JR Norris took over the lead again on the 95th lap and held on until Mathews retook the lead on lap 127. Mathews was dogged by Hooter Pro Cup Series regular Wayne Willard for many laps. Willard took the lead on the 179th lap, but was knocked out on lap 186 when a lapped car had its engine let go and race leader Willard was caught up in the accident.

During this long run most of the field was lapped as cars were forced to pit under green or they ran out of gas. Those put a lap down included eventual race winner Hogan, Norris, Mathews, Charlie Bradberry, Nathan Haseleu, Eddie Hoffman, Chris Gabehart and 2004 All American 300 winner Chuck Barnes Jr.

When Willard was forced out, Jeremy Pate took over the lead, he held it until the 265th lap, when a very fast Mathews regained the lead after passing the leaders to get back on the lead lap. On lap 282 Landon Cassill, a sixteen-year driver from Fairfax, IA, had his engine let go while running in the Top 10. This brought out a yellow, on the ensuing restart Pate ran up over Mathews left rear wheel. Pate was unable to continue.

"I had to roll out of the gas a little there and the 10s car (Jeremy Pate) must have been to close to avoid me. But we had a good race coming back from a couple of laps down after putting on new tires." Mathews said.

This accident put Hogan in the lead, setting up a dash to the finish between him and Jurkovic. Southern driver Charlie Bradberry finished third, with CRA regular Chris Gabehart finishing fourth and Ryan Mathews recovering to come home fifth.

The All American 300 capped a full weekend that started Friday with an open practice. 71 cars participated in the weekend's events with 62 actually making a qualifying run. The top 24 were locked into the All American 300. Pensacola, Florida hot shoe Scott Carlson started on the pole winning the Faster than a Speeding Bullet Trophy and the Bicycle Clay Poker Chips - Menards Fast Qualifier Award. The events top 42 qualifiers were separated by a half-second.

Many strong cars were eliminated during practice including 2003 CRA Super Series Champion Bobby Parsley, who backed into the wall hard during Saturday practice damaging his rear end housing. ASA Late Model Series regular Brent Downey also was knocked out after finding the wall on Saturday. Salem Speedway regulars Brad Craven, Brett Hudson and Chris Harmon were also eliminated from the event because of damage in practice crashes. Mike Bargo, Heath Hindman, Brad Lemley, Eric Wallace and Tommy Climer all had their weekend end with engine problems.

Dan Fredrickson and Dexter Bean raced their way into the 300 by winning their Last Chance races. Keith Cahlea, Jason Shively, Eddie Mercer and Dennis Schoenfeld also made the feature via their finishes in the Last Chance races. Eddie Van Meter, Chris Gabehart and JR Roahrig were CRA Super Series point's provisionals. 2005 Southern All Star Series Champion Matt Hawkins, Ken McFarland and Johnny Brazier were Southern All Star Series point's provisionals. Sammy Sanders and Randy Pedley were Promoter's Additional Starters.

Everyone who did not make the All American 300 starting field were invited to race in the inaugural Blue Gray 100 immediately preceding the All American 300. Jeremy Miller won the race just beating CRA regular Kenny Tweedy to the line. Miller was then given the option to start the All American 300 on the tail as an additional starter, which he took. Rich Loch finished third in the Blue Gray 100, with Keith Gardner fourth, and Terry Fisher, Jr. fifth.

The Halfway leader award went to Mathews. Hogan won the Holley Performance Award. Five Star Racecar Bodies and ARP Stock Car Bodies each gave a complete ABC Off Set Body via random draw of all the weekends' competitors. David Hole won the Five Star Body and Harold Fair, Jr. took home the ARP Body. Chris Gabehart earned the Sweet Manufacturing "Sweet Move of the Race Award". The Leaf Race Products Tough Luck Award went to Tweedy as the last car not to make the race after finishing fourth in the last chance race and second in the Blue Gray 100.

This is the last race of the 2005 season for the CRA Super Series. The management of the CRA Super Series wishes to thank our fans, drivers, crews, owners, sponsors and officials for another great year of racing. The 2005 season awards banquet is scheduled for January 7, 2006 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Downtown Indianapolis, IN. For more information about the banquet, news about the series and future announcements about the 2006 schedule go to


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Terry Fisher , Charlie Bradberry , Sammy Sanders , Dexter Bean , Eddie Mercer , Brett Hudson , Ryan Mathews