Champions from Michigan dominate at Berlin

Pendleton, Ind. (July 9, 2003) -- The previous 37 events at the .438-mile Berlin Raceway in Marne, Mich., has showcased ASA Champions from the Wolverine State in a dominating fashion. Seven-time series titlist Mike Eddy has been to...

Pendleton, Ind. (July 9, 2003) -- The previous 37 events at the .438-mile Berlin Raceway in Marne, Mich., has showcased ASA Champions from the Wolverine State in a dominating fashion. Seven-time series titlist Mike Eddy has been to the winner's circle on 11 occasions with 1990 Champion Bob Senneker winning seven times and three- time ASA titlist Butch Miller bagging five victories.

Starting from the seventh position, Eddy notched his initial victory at Berlin in August of 1983, leading the final 86 circuits after powering by Senneker. Eddy returned to the winner's circle in June of 1985, making a late-race pass on Wisconsin standout Alan Kulwicki.

In 1986, Eddy swept both events, holding off local favorite Miller in the June edition. Eddy finished .10 seconds ahead of Miller with Bobby Dotter crossing the line in third position. In August, Eddy pulled away at the finish, pacing the final 98 laps. Mark Martin and Senneker filled out the podium finishers.

Recording a fifth win at Berlin, Eddy held off Senneker in June of 1988. In the No. 88 Howe Enterprises Buick, Eddy bypassed Miller with 74 circuits remaining. At the conclusion, Eddy finished .18 seconds ahead of Senneker with Harold Fair of Detroit in third spot.

Mike Eddy led for 163 laps of the Valvoline 200 in June of 1990 and started a streak of four consecutive victories at the challenging .438-mile oval. In August, he passed Senneker with 18 laps remaining in the Michigan 400, finishing ahead of Fair and Senneker.

In June of 1991, Eddy started in the 17th position, but quickly charged to the top of the leaderboard. He took the point on lap 32 and led the final 169 laps, crossing the line 1.09 seconds ahead of Tim Steele and Senneker. In August of 1991, one of the most dramatic finishes in ASA history at Berlin took place when Eddy passed Senneker with two laps remaining and held off Senneker and Wisconsin's Jay Sauter.

After powering by Benson with 51 laps remaining, Eddy then fended off a late-race challenge from Miller, edging him out by less than a half car length. Scott Hansen finished third. Eddy's final victory at Berlin took place in 1994 after passing Miller with 18 laps remaining and finishing ahead of Miller and Senneker.

With awesome performances, Senneker captured the opening three victories at Berlin from 1981 through 1983. He led an impressive 286 of the 475 laps run in these events. Senneker notched his fourth victory in five attempts in June of 1984, finishing ahead of Jim Sauter and Eddy. His fifth victory took place in August, outlasting Eddy and Trickle.

With three circuits remaining, Senneker snuck by Ohio racer Glenn Allen Jr., and then produced his sixth victory at Berlin. Allen held on for second with Tony Raines of Indiana finishing third. Senneker's final victory occurred after a 12-race drought, dominating the final 108 laps of the Port City Racing 200 in June of 1996.

Getting around Canada's Russ Urlin on the 169th go-around, Miller scored the first of his five wins at Berlin. Miller's second victory occurred in June of 1987, initially grabbing the pole position and then leading the final 60 laps of the 200-lap event. He produced his third checkered flag in August of 1988, pulling away from front-runners Kenny Wallace and Dick Trickle at the finish. Miller has captured the two most recent victories at Berlin, winning in 2001 with car owner LeRoy Throop and then making his debut with SS Racing in 2002, bagging the victory.

In the 2002 event at Berlin, three-time ASA Champion Butch Miller made his return, leading the final 97 laps to score the victory, his second consecutive checkered flag at Berlin Raceway.

Miller, who took over the driving chores on the No. 04 ASI Limited Chevrolet for the Indianapolis-based SS Racing, started on the pole and grabbed the lead when all the leaders pitted on the 203rd circuit. The pole and victory were both the 44th of his storied ASA career and delighted the capacity crowd.

At the conclusion of the night, just as he had done in 2001, Miller climbed on the roof of his winning car and raised his arms in jubilation. Miller last won an ASA race the previous season at Berlin. For the second consecutive season, Miller broke a five-race winning streak for one of ASA Racing's young guns. In 2001, Miller's win broke a run of five wins in a row by Johnny Sauter and in 2002 stopped the streak of Joey Clanton.

Miller had to avoid an incident on lap 199 that resulted in the leader pitting and him claiming the lead. Miller was going inside the lapped car of Jeff Emery when the two touched and Emery collected Chris Wimmer. Miller finished 1.248 seconds ahead of Gary St. Amant with Garvey, Dave Sensiba and Todd Kluever filling out the top-five finishers.

ASA returns to Berlin Raceway for the Meijer 250 Presented by BFGoodrich Tires on Saturday, August 2, with the first of two practice sessions beginning at 1 p.m. Pole qualifying is set for 5 p.m. with the on-track autograph session and live musical entertainment to follow. The Meijer 250 Presented by BFGoodrich Tires goes green at 9 p.m. (Eastern)

Tickets are available through the ASA office at $25 for general admission seats. Discounts are available when purchasing in advance. For additional information, contact the ASA ticket line at 1-888-ASA-1020.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Dick Trickle , Kenny Wallace , Jay Sauter , Tony Raines , Bobby Dotter , Tim Steele , Johnny Sauter , Jim Sauter , Joey Clanton , Butch Miller , Mark Martin