Cajon Speedway race results 2001-07-04

Arnold And Krempp Win Cajon Enduro EL CAJON, CA. (07/04/01). It took a while to figure out who won. But finally Matt Arnold and John Krempp were declared the victors in the factory stock enduro at Cajon Speedway Wednesday night. The duo split...

Arnold And Krempp Win Cajon Enduro

EL CAJON, CA. (07/04/01). It took a while to figure out who won. But finally Matt Arnold and John Krempp were declared the victors in the factory stock enduro at Cajon Speedway Wednesday night. The duo split the driving chores in the 150-lap contest and pocketed the $1000 first prize money.

Billy Arban Jr. had initially been declared the winner of the event. But a post-race recheck of the scoring sheets gave the victory to the Arnold-Krempp team. Arban ended up second. The team of Jimmy Gamboa and Wade Treadwell were third ahead of Vernon Gilmore. Jeff Uran was fifth.

The result was thrown into dispute just five rounds from the checkered when Richard Elliott, who had dominated the action, spun as he came of the fourth turn. Elliott was unable to get his car restarted and sat perpendicular to the track for the remainder of the race. At the time he spun, Elliott, a veteran Cajon Train Racer, was more than two laps ahead of the rest of his competition.

Tim Neuhaus trawled his way to the finish line first in the 20-lap Boat Trailer race. Neuhaus is a Cajon veteran of bomber, street stock, and train racing. Arnold, a Cajon street stock competitor, finished second while Adam Poe took third. Fifteen boats started that crazy event. But half of those were sunk in the opening five laps.

Elliott was dominant in Cajon's first enduro race since 1988. He started fifth and jumped out front for the first time on lap 3. Pole sitter Dan Hildebrand led laps one and two. Neuhaus made his way to the front from ninth starting position by lap 11. On lap 24 Neuhaus gave way to Arban, who was making his first racing start after being a Cajon official for several years. Arban had started 11th.

Neuhaus' enduro night came to an end when he was turned around on the front stretch on lap 33 and nailed head-on by Beau McCasland. This resulted in a red flag.

Four laps after the racing resumed, Arban saw his fine ride slowed when he was spun in turn three and lost a couple of laps. That put Hildebrand back on top, but he looped it in turn four on the 43rd circuit when a tire went down. Elliott then had it on cruise control until Channel 10's Rett Lawrence pulled his Lincoln past into the lead on lap 67.

But at the lap 75 intermission, the scorers said Elliott had never lost the lead and he started first for the second half. Krempp drove the opening 75 for the eventual winners. Despite making his first racing start, he ended up sixth. Arban was scored 11th. Thirty-three drivers were still running at the halfway point.

The cars were turned around and raced in the traditional direction for the final 75 rounds. Lawrence turned his driving chores over to KGB's bomber stock ace Chris Boyer, but his run was short lived. Arnold took over the driving chores from Krempp. Arnold wanted to race in the direction he was used to.

Elliott was never headed in the final 75 rounds even though he spun out in the south turn on lap 123. Fifteen laps later he had to weave through the infield when some cars tangled in front of him. But the race was his to lose and he did. On lap 145 he got a bit sideways as his Monte Carlo came off the fourth turn. Another car finished him off and Elliott sat helplessly just off the track as the final laps unfolded.

Factory Stock Enduro (150 laps) -1. John Krempp, El Cajon and Matt Arnold, San Diego; 2. Billy Arban Jr., El Cajon; 3. Wade Treadwell, San Diego and Jimmy Gamboa, San Diego; 4. Vernon Gilmore, Santee; 5. Jeff Uran, El Cajon; 6. Richard Elliott, El Cajon; 7. James Boissier, Santee; 8. Chris White, Spring Valley; 9. Doug Ingalls, Alpine; 10. Tyson Short, Escondido; 11. Adam Poe, La Mesa; 12. John Robinson, Poway; 13. Terry Adams, Ramona; 14. Bryant Cosby, Santee; 15. Paul Fletcher, San Diego and Eric Evans, Imperial Beach; 16. Jason Frieze, El Cajon; 17. James Kelly, El Cajon and Max Stanfill, El Cajon; 18. David Evangelou, Santee; 19. Rett Lawrence, La Mesa and Chris Boyer, San Diego; 20. Dave Cole, Santee; 21. Steve Dickerson, El Cajon and Larry Collie, El Cajon; 22. Patrick Vaughan, San Diego; 23. Scott Denton, Fallbrook and Mike Speed, Fallbrook; 24. Nick Kruczkowski, San Diego; 25. Martin Keppeler, El Cajon; 26. Matt Dugan, San Diego; 27. Darrell Moore, Ramona; 28. Dan Hildebrand, El Cajon; 29. Jim Tucker, Lemon Grove; 30. Tom Nelson, El Cajon; 31. Scott Rodieck, San Diego; 32. Mark Spence, Lakeside and Bruce Hartsuyker; 33. Marv Evans, National City; 34. Dave Liedike, El Cajon and Johnny Borneman III, Ramona; 35. Pamela Elliott, El Cajon; 36. Claude Bell, El Cajon; 37. Ryan Gay, El Cajon; 38. Ron Overacker, Lakeside; 39. Brent Sexton, Lakeside; 40. Beau McCasland, Santee; 41. Donny Tunnell, Lakeside and Mark Weimann, Temecula

Boat Trailer Race (20 laps) - 1. Tim Neuhaus; 2. Matt Arnold; 3. Adam Poe; 4. Ben Hazel; 5. Ken Rose; 6. Tom Nelson; 7. Rich Orman; 8. Dan O'Hanlon; 9. Bruce Hartsuyker; 10. Rett Lawrence; 11. Dan Hildebrand; 12. Richard Elliott; 13. Ben Fields; 14. Rodney Shaw; 15. Randy Wallace

Attendance - 4961


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers John Robinson , Terry Adams