Brownstown results 97-03-29

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: Web site: =================================== CONTENTS: March 29 results (March 31) UMP: Car-builder/driver C.J. Rayburn captures Hoosier Dirt Classic =================================== UNITED MIDWESTERN PROMOTERS Hoosier Dirt Classic

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. (Saturday) Venerable chassis-builder and driver C.J. Rayburn blew into Brownstown Speedway and dominated the proceedings at the 14th annual Hoosier Dirt Classic on a chilly night in southern Indiana.

After setting fast time among 61 late models, Rayburn started fourth in the first heat, outran Billy Drake to earn the feature's pole position, then launched into a lead he would extend throughout the 57-lap race. Because the race was run without a single caution, fans were deprived of what certainly would have been a feisty battle among contenders who worked their way to the front throughout the race on the quarter-mile oval.

Rayburn's special guest, Indy Racing League and USAC open-wheel standout Tony Stewart, piloted a Rayburn entry and followed in the car owner's tiretracks to claim second ahead of local driver Gary Dewitt Jr., 14th-starting Rick Aukland, and 17th-starting Terry English, who debuted his new racing team. Lance Matthees, Dion Deason, James Huff, Bart Hartman and Terry Eaglin finished sixth through 10th in Brownstown's opening race of the season.

"For my fans that thought I was too old, I brought (25-year-old) Tony Stewart in," the 57-year-old Rayburn said with a smile. "I love my Brownstown fans ... even the ones that boo me!"

When the green flag flew over the 22-car field, Rayburn jumped into the lead followed by outside polesitter Kevin Claycomb, Minnesota's Matthees and Stewart. After a lap of side-by-side racing, Stewart took third from Matthees on the third circuit while DeWitt, who started eighth, challenged Mark Barber for fifth.

By lap 5, as Rayburn began building a substantial lead, DeWitt got past Barber for good. One lap later, Stewart slipped underneath Claycomb to take over second place as they ran into Turn 3.

By the 10th lap, Rayburn continued to lead Stewart, who was trailed by Claycomb, Matthees and DeWitt. Behind the leaders, Hartman, Deason, Aukland, Mike Jewell and English continued to swap positions among themselves, often racing three-wide through the turns.

Up front, DeWitt made a strong move off Turn 4 on lap 14 to blow past Claycomb and Matthees and settle into third. Six laps later, Aukland drove high around Deason to grab seventh as Claycomb began to fade, losing fourth to Hartman on lap 24. Following Hartman's lead, Aukland and Deason dropped Claycomb back to eighth three laps later.

English, who won the first of the two consolations, advanced quickly through the pack and was sitting seventh behind Aukland by lap 30. Two laps later, Aukland dove to the bottom to dispense with Hartman and join the top five. English followed suit on lap 39, moving Hartman back to seventh.

Lap 40 saw Aukland's most daring move as he went off the front straightaway and launched the Bullitt house car back onto the track ahead of Matthees to snag fourth. English again followed Aukland's high line, moving past Matthees for fifth.

With the yellow flag tucked away, Rayburn ran away from Stewart as the pair worked lapped traffic. Aukland set sail for third-running DeWitt late, but was never able to make up enough ground. As the checkered flag fell, Rayburn enjoyed a straightaway lead over Stewart.

(Results are official according to Brownstown Speedway) CAR COUNT: 61 late models.

FAST QUALIFIER: C.J. Rayburn 15.602 seconds.

FIRST HEAT (top four advance): C.J. Rayburn, Billy Drake, Steve Godsey, Greg Williams, Brad Barrow, Jeff Wildung.

SECOND HEAT: Kevin Claycomb, Mark Barber, Bart Hartman, Rick Aukland, Terry Eaglin, Doug Ault.

THIRD HEAT: Tony Stewart, Dion Deason, Dan Sturgeon, Mike Jewell, John Lawhorn, Terry English, Rohn Moon.

FOURTH HEAT: Lance Matthees, Gary DeWitt Jr., James Huff, Greg Barrow, Scott James, Kevin Weaver, Al Atkinson.

FIRST CONSOLATION (top three advance): Terry English, John Lawhorn, Ernie Barrow, Jack Boggs, Rohn Moon, Jeff Wildung.

SECOND CONSOLATION: Kevin Weaver, Terry Eaglin, Doug Ault, Doug McCammon, Pat Doar.

FEATURE (Pos, listed driver, car no., hometown, laps, chassis, purse) 1. C.J. Rayburn (1cj), Whiteland, Ind, 57, Rayburn, $5,000 2. Tony Stewart (1ts), Indianapolis, 57, Rayburn, $3,000 3. Gary DeWitt Jr. (69x), Versailles, Ind., 57, MasterSbilt, $2,000 4. Rick Aukland (12), Fargo, N.D., 57, Bullitt, $1,000 5. Terry English (96), Benton, Ky., 57, Rayburn, $900 6. Lance Matthees (90), Winona, Minn., 57, MasterSbilt, $800 7. Dion Deason (D1), Indianapolis, 57, Rayburn, $700 8. James Huff (5), Milton, Ky., 56, Rayburn, $600 9. Bart Hartman (75), Zanesville, Ohio, 56, MasterSbilt, $500 10. Terry Eaglin (69), Versailles, Ind., 56, MasterSbilt, $400 11. Dan Sturgeon (26), Bloomington, Ind., 56, MasterSbilt, $300 12. Mike Jewell (9), Scottsburg, Ind., 56, MasterSbilt, $290 13. Kevin Weaver (B12), Gibson City, Ill., 56, Warrior, $280 14. John Lawhorn (4), Phillipsburg, Ohio, 56, Rayburn, $270 15. Steve Godsey (G4), Bedford, Ind., 56, MasterSbilt, $260 16. Doug Ault (1a), Brownstown, Ind., 56, MasterSbilt, $255 17. Greg Williams (17), Haubstadt, Ind., 56, Barry Wright, $250 18. Kevin Claycomb (28), Vincennes, Ind., DNF, Rocket, $200 19. Ernie Barrow (57), Bloomington, Ind., DNF, Rayburn, $200 20. Gary Barrow (3), Bloomington, Ind., DNF, MasterSbilt, $200 21. Mark Barber (00), North Vernon, Ind., DNF, Rayburn, $200 22. Billy Drake (9), Bloomington, Ill., DNF, Larry Shaw, $200

NOTES: Tony Stewart, who finished second in the IRL race at Phoenix last weekend, was driving a dirt late model for just the third time .... Stewart is a former champ in three USAC divisions: sprints, midgets and Silver Crown cars .... C.J. Rayburn wanted to put Jeff Purvis in a Rayburn Team car, but plans fell through .... the race was sponsored by Tipton Pointe Auto .... Josh Tarter was the fastest qualifier (eighth fastest at 15.978 seconds) who failed to make the feature .... other notable drivers failing to make the feature were former World 100 winners Jack Boggs and Charlie Swartz, Illinois drivers Bob Pohlman Jr. and Doug McCammon, Wisconsin drivers Al Atkinson, Pat Doar and Dan Schlieper, Ohio drivers John "Weasel Rhoades and Doug Dodd .... Don O'Neal drove a Brett Davis-owned car, but had his time trial voided because the car didn't weigh enough and then wrecked in a heat .... Bob Pierce and Jim Curry were among drivers at the track without their cars .... drivers represented 10 states.

NEXT BIG RACE AT BROWNSTOWN: April 18-19, Hav-A-Tampa, $15,000 to win.

CREDIT: Tim Lee <> of Behind The Wheel's Late Model America and James Essex of Brownstown Speedway. ------------------------------------------------------------- NEXT ISSUE: Dale McDowell ($5,000 on Friday) and Ronnie Johnson ($10,000 on Saturday) get Hav-A-Tampa victories at Super Bee Speedway in Chatham, La. Story expected Monday afternoon. -------------------------------------------------------------

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Tony Stewart , Greg William , Jeff Purvis , Rohn Moon
Teams Williams