Brewerton, Fulton 2006 Awards summary

TOP DRIVERS HONORED AT BREWERTON & FULTON AWARDS BANQUET EAST SYRACUSE, NY -- The 2006 race season for both Brewerton and Fulton Speedways came to a close last Friday as over 400 people attended the annual Season Awards Banquet at the ...


EAST SYRACUSE, NY -- The 2006 race season for both Brewerton and Fulton Speedways came to a close last Friday as over 400 people attended the annual Season Awards Banquet at the Doubletree Hotel in East Syracuse. The top ten drivers in each weekly division were honored along with Rookies of the Year, Most Improved, and several special awards.

Alan Johnson of Phelps won his fourth DIRT Modified track title at Brewerton Speedway in 2006 by just one point over former champion Billy Decker. It was Johnson's fourth championship in the last five seasons, his second with car owner Jeff Rudalavage. Completing the top ten in the final standings, it was Tim Fuller, Jimmy Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Pat Ward, Danny Johnson, Chuck Bower, Ryan Phelps, and Scott Prentice.

In the tough IMCA Modified division at the D-Shaped DIRT Demon, Johnny Hill from Hastings won his second overall title in three years at the track. After Hill in the standings, it was the consistent Kevan Cook, followed by Dale Caswell, Les Hubbard, Rob Keller Jr., Bill Anderson Sr., Bill Anderson Jr., Rich Townsend, Pete Anderson, and Greg Kimball.

Tim Devendorf of Brewerton won the Brewerton ESDCA Mod Lite Track Championship, his third consecutive. Lowell Zehr, Doug Williams, Darren Austin, Kevin Donhauser, Ken Gamlen, Andrew Schartner, Mike Isabell, Dan Williams, and Jeff Isabell Jr. completed the top ten finishers.

The 4-Cylinder Super Stock division at Brewerton found Chuck Powelczyk of West Monroe winning his third title in four years. Powelczyk was followed by Joey Delacruz, Claude Hutchings Jr., Aron Backus, Chris Kranz, Matt Wetterer, Lorraine Powelczyk, Todd Williamson/Steve Randall, and Russell Erwin. In the 4-Cylinder Enduro division, Chad Guthrie won his third Track Championship, followed by Morris Mathews and Josh Herbert in the standings.

At Fulton in the headline DIRT Modified division, Alan Johnson of Phelps continued his dominance and won his first ever Big Block title at the high banked track. Defending champion Tim Fuller was second, followed by Pat Ward, Jimmy Phelps, Danny Johnson, Ryan Phelps, Scott Prentice, Kevin Bates, Chad Phelps, and Tom Sears Jr./Jim Witko Jr.

Shawn Donath of South Onondaga proved himself as a model of consistency in winning his first ever DIRT Sportsman Track Championship at Fulton. Donath led Sammy Reakes, IV, Joe Williams Jr., Shane Donath, Jeremy Pitcher, Roy Bresnahan, Mike Bowman, Dave Reilley, John Pietrowicz, and Jason Rood to the final standings.

Second generation driver Billy Clark Jr. of Fulton also became a first time champion in the DIRT Pro Stocks at Fulton. Bob Buono was second, followed by Ron Marsden, Jason Parkhurst, Jack Terrell, Dave Briggs, Jim Evans, Jerry Button, Dale Guernsey, and Mike Vaughn.

Long time Pure Stock veteran Dave Mannise of Fulton won his sixth overall title at the Route 57 track, his first since 1998. Mannise led Gary Barton, Ron Hawker, Dan Hofmann, Sr., Rusty Marsden, Phil Marsden, Joe Briere, Steve Woodworth, Steve Crouse, and Jim Wallace as top ten points finishers.

Tim Devendorf of Brewerton was the ESDCA Mod Lite Fulton Champion, followed by Ken Gamlen, Doug Williams, Darren Austin, Dan Williams, Andrew Schartner, Frank Sobotka, Tod Simons, Lowell Zehr, and Jeff Isabell, Jr. Chad Guthrie won his second overall 4-Cylinder Enduro title at Fulton, followed by Morris Mathews and Josh Herbert. Chuck Powelczyk and Joey Delacruz were the Outstanding Performers in the 4-Cylinder Super Stock division.

Rookies of the Year were declared for both Speedways. At Brewerton it was Kevin Bates in the DIRT Modifieds, Pete Anderson in the IMCA Modifieds, Andrew Schartner in the ESDCA Mod Lites, and Claude Hutchings Jr. in the 4-Cylinder Super Stocks. Fulton Rookie of the Year Awards went to Kevin Bates in the DIRT Modifieds, John Pietrowicz in the DIRT Sportsman, Mike Vaughn in the DIRT Pro Stocks, and Quinton Burton in the Pure Stocks.

Each division at both speedways also had a driver honored as Most Improved. Brewerton Speedway honored Jimmy Phelps in the DIRT Modifieds, Kevan Cook in the IMCA Modifieds, Darren Austin in the ESDCA Mod Lites, and Aron Backus in the 4-Cylinder Super Stocks. At Fulton, Most Improved awards went to Ryan Phelps in the DIRT Modifieds, Shane Donath in the DIRT Sportsman, Ron Marsden in the DIRT Pro Stocks, and Gary Barton in the Pure Stocks.

The most emotional and prestigious award of the evening was the inaugural J.J. Michaels Memorial Award, which went to 35-year racing veteran John Barker Jr. of Fulton. The award was presented by Michaels' widow Kelly and mother Penny and the award on a yearly basis will go to the driver who most resembles J.J. both on and off the track. Barker, a close personal friend of Michaels, humbly accepted the award with son Corey.

Media Appreciation Awards went to Dave Medler, Mike Johnson, and Joe Alexander. Each was honored for their media contributions, hard work, and loyalty to both speedways. The Fernandez Auto Mall was also honored for their sponsorship contributions to both speedways as the Official Vehicle Supplier.

Brewerton Speedway Super DIRT Week 358-Modified Championship sponsor Leaf Racewear gave away a total of eight firesuits to Brewerton and Fulton Speedway competitors. Can-Am Enterprises and owner Greg Smith also provided fuel gift certificates for 2007 to the drivers.

Door prizes were graciously provided by Thomas Video, Hoosier Racing Tire, Performance Bodies, Troyer Race Cars, IMCA, Area Auto Racing News, Gater Racing News, Leaf Racewear, Bicknell Racing Products, and Terrell's Potato Chips.

For more information on the 2007 race season, contact the track office at (315) 668-6906 or visit or

BANQUET TIDBITS--The banquet concluded the first season of ownership of both speedways by Don & Benedetta Watros and Rick & Tina Wolff with the promotional team of T.J. Fitzgibbons and Art Halliday operating the popular tracks. Interest remains high in the $25,000 to win 22nd Annual Victoria 200 and Victoria 200 Rules Mini-Series. Track announcers Shane Andrews and Bill Foley emceed the affair, with the video presentation compiled by Mel Thomas from Thomas Video. Track officials recently announced an alliance with the ASCS Patriots for Sprint Car Racing in 2007, in addition to the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars on July 24. Modified veteran Jimmy Phelps of Baldwinsville will return to the weekly wars at Fulton Speedway with his family owned No. 99j. 2006 Brewerton IMCA Modified champion Johnny Hill will be a Big Block Modified Rookie in 2007. Pennsylvania brothers Brett and Garth Tonkin Jr. will be returning to the Big Block ranks at Fulton. 2007 speedway schedules were distributed, along with Victoria 200 and Victoria 200 Mini-Series rules. The loudest applause of the night likely came for DIRT Pro Stock sixth place finisher Dave Briggs of Frankfort. Briggs, a member of the 174th Fighter Wing from Hancock Field in Syracuse, is currently serving in Iraq and had his family accept his award in his behalf.

-credit: fulton, brewerton

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mike Johnson , Greg Smith , John Barker , Dave Briggs
Teams Williams