Berlin Raceway results, notes 2003-06-10

DeVos beats Benson for $10,000 Berlin points leader wins Meijer/Tony's Pizza 100 MARNE, MI -- Rockford's Tim DeVos, who currently leads the Coors Light Late Model points standings, claimed the big prize tonight at Berlin Raceway, taking home a...

DeVos beats Benson for $10,000
Berlin points leader wins Meijer/Tony's Pizza 100

MARNE, MI -- Rockford's Tim DeVos, who currently leads the Coors Light Late Model points standings, claimed the big prize tonight at Berlin Raceway, taking home a $10,000 payout by winning the Meijer/Tony's Pizza 100. DeVos held off NASCAR Winston Cup driver Johnny Benson for the victory, while Winston Cup Champion Tony Stewart finished 20th.

Benson was the fastest qualifier in time trials, clocking a 101.493 mile-per-hour lap to beat Stewart's second-place effort by a 10th of a second. After the inversion Benson, driving the #10 car, lined up fourth on the starting grid for the first of two 50-lap qualifying races. #22 Brian Campbell led the race most of the way, until Benson passed him for the lead on lap 39. #101 Joe Bush then powered by Benson on lap 45, but Benson took it back with one lap to go and held on to win the race.

In the second 50-lap qualifying race, #1 Tony Stewart got around #28 Scott Thomas at the half-way point of the race, then worked his way around #79 Jake Meyerink for second on lap 39. He almost took lead from #47 Fred Campbell on lap 49, but going into turn 1 of the 50th lap, Stewart came up on the slower car of #19 Brad Keselowski, catching his bumper in an attempt to put him a lap down and causing the two cars to spin. Stewart was sent to the back of the field for causing the caution flag and finished 13th. Through all those fireworks, Fred Campbell managed to lead every official lap of the race for the win.

In the Meijer/Tony's Pizza 100 feature race, Stewart, who was forced to use a provisional to make the field, chose to start at the very back of the 29-car field. Stewart was on the move, putting away a car a lap for the first seven laps and moving up to 16th place by lap 15. Meanwhile, #12 Tim DeVos held the lead, followed by #49 Dave Sensiba, #11 Leroy Magoon and #47 Fred Campbell through 30 laps. Magoon took second position on lap 23. On lap 25, the red flag was waved after #57 Rick Senneker flew off the backstretch and into the foam barrier. Benson was forced to pit to try to fix a transmission stuck in high gear and came out at the end of the field after the stop. Magoon took the lead on lap 27 and on the same lap Stewart cracked the top 10. Magoon pulled away from the pack by a straightway and Stewart moved into seventh around Sensiba on lap 36.

The roles were then reversed as Stewart ran near the front of the field while Benson was in the back fighting his way forward after the red flag pit stop. Benson had the same success Stewart had earlier, passing nine cars by lap 40.

Caution came out on lap 43 as #18 Keith Herp, running in 13th place, spun on the frontstretch. Magoon's huge lead was erased as the field was bunched up for the restart. Stewart sat in sixth and Benson in 12th. Stewart passed #88 Tim Yonker to enter the top five on lap 48, the same lap Benson entered the top 10 by passing #61 Bob Holley. At the halfway point Magoon was the leader, followed by DeVos, Fred Campbell, Joe Bush and Stewart.

Benson moved into seventh place by lap 67 and on lap 71 passed Brian Campbell to move into sixth, right behind Stewart, while DeVos passed Magoon for the lead. On the same lap, Magoon pinched Fred Campbell up into the wall at the start/finish line, causing heavy right side damage and bringing out the red flag once again. Campbell's bid for the victory was over.

DeVos opened up a full straightaway lead on Magoon, who held a 20-car-length lead on Bush. On lap 83, Benson passed Stewart for fourth place, and the battle shaped up to be among positions 2 through 5 as DeVos had checked out. Caution came out on lap 88 for a spin by #31 Mike Bursley in turn 4, setting up a 12-lap shootout for the finish. On the restart, Benson took third spot from Bush and set his sights on Magoon. He maked the pass on the outside for second place as the fans cheered him on. The final caution flew on lap 94 as Stewart and Bush, who were racing side-by-side for fourth place, got together on the frontstretch and spun. Stewart headed to the pits after the spin and retired for the night. Back on the track, DeVos jumped out to a 10 car-length lead on the restart, but Benson chased him down to get back into the hunt. DeVos held him off and came across the line first, winning the Engine Pro/Federal Mogul Speed Pro trophy by a .13 second margin over Benson. Stewart ended the night in 20th position.

In the Hitches By George Sportsman feature, #55 Dave Lake got by #9 Mike Root with one lap to go for the win and the Engine Pro/Hastings Manufacturing Powerflex Trophy

Complete race results and point standings can be found online at

Berlin Raceway will be back in action Saturday, June 14, with the Sunoco Super Series making its first-ever appearance here. Super Stock and Sportsman divisions will also race. Tickets are $11 in advance and $12 at the gate for general admission and $25 for pit passes. Gates open at 11 a.m. and the first race begins at 7 p.m.

<pre> RESULTS - Meijer/Tony's Pizza 100 1. 12 DeVos, Tim 2. 10 Benson, Johnny 3. 88 Yonker, Tim 4. 11 Magoon, Leroy 5. 22 Campbell, Brian 6. 61 Holley, Bob 7. 11 Grega, John 8. 28 Thomas, Scott 9. 94 Usher, Greg 10. 31 Bursley, Mike-R 11. 49 Sensiba, Dave 12. 33 Stehouwer, Dave 13. 99 Tull, Aaron 14. 101 Bush, Joe 15. 72 Hantz, Scott 16. 74 Namey, Paul 17. 97 Vander Vliet, Doug 18. 19 Keselowski, Brad 19. 1 Wiersma, Brian 20. 1 Stewart, Tony 21. 18 Herp, Keith 22. 90 Corwin, Cort 23. 47 Campbell, Fred 24. 24 Clay, Ray 25. 222 Bisacky, Caleb 26. 79 Meyerink, Jake 27. 57 Senneker, Rick-R 28. 11 Porter, Toby 29. 98 Curry, Bob


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Tony Stewart , Johnny Benson , Brad Keselowski