Autodrome Granby 2000-08-26

Granby, Quebec --- Having been kept out of victory circle since July 14th, after a spectacular season start, Steve Poirier showed the way again to earn his eighth victory of the year, Friday night at Autodrome Granby, DIRT Motorsport Complex. His...

Granby, Quebec --- Having been kept out of victory circle since July 14th, after a spectacular season start, Steve Poirier showed the way again to earn his eighth victory of the year, Friday night at Autodrome Granby, DIRT Motorsport Complex. His outstanding performance has allowed Poirier to increase by 36 points his lead in the Championship battle ahead of Claude Brouillard who had to settle for an eighth-place finish. This Chassel Pièces d'Autos evening program was highlighted by other great performances. In the Modified 358, Real Lafrance assured his title with a 5th season victory while Stephane Larivière scored his third win in the Late Model giving him the title in the Prolab Championship.

Third on the starting grid, Poirier took advantage of a restart on lap-5 to grab the lead over rookie driver Kayle Robidoux. Dominic Dufault, Robert Ranger, Luke Plante and Mike Romano followed Poirier to the checkered flag.

Despite valuable efforts, Dufault was never able to pressure Poirier for the lead. Marco Potvin finished third behind Dufault, while Mike Romano and Alain Boisvert rounded up the top 5.

In the qualifying rounds, Alain Boisvert, Luke Plante and Mike Romano, whose return to Granby speedway was intended to set-up his car for September 16 - Carquest 200, were the respective winners.

Modified 358 -- A complete grid

In the last few weeks, the list of entries in the Modified 358 category has been constantly growing. Friday night, Real Lafrance drove to victory from the 11th place on the 24-car grid. Flawless driving has allowed Lafrance, the 1992 Modified Champion, to become the second driver, after Luke Plante last year, to earn the title in this still young division.

At the green flag of the 20-lap final, Wallace Stacey took advantage of his first spot on the grid to take the lead but only four laps later, Robidoux got into the lead for the next seven laps until Claude Brouillard passed him after a slight driving mistake. Meanwhile, Lafrance was moving up the pack to chase after Brouillard. Within 5 laps to go, Lafrance took charge as soon as the green flag dropped after the third caution, to win over Brouillard, Richard Chauvin, Mario Clair and Clement Therrien.

Two consecutive wins

Having endured several misfortunes since his comeback, Normand Voghell scored a second consecutive win in the Late Model category. From the start up to the checkered flag, Voghell led the way in front of Donald Provencher and Stephane Larivière, whose third place effort gave him the title of the Prolab Championship of this division.

In the Tourism category, Benoit Berube won the 12-lap race. Following were Stephane Langlois and Andre Gauthier.

All cards still open

In the 4-cylinder category, more than 24 participants showed up on Friday evening. Pierre Grondin took the win to match Jean-Marc Moreau and Mario Clair's records for most victories -- all divisions combined- in a season. However, Grondin was followed to the checkered by Patrick Dupont, his most serious opponent in the series title who still leads by 11 points.

Maxime Michon, a newcomer in the series, surprised the everyone with a third place finish after winning in his qualifying session.

Two special events were presented as part of the program. In the women category, Nathalie Messier won over Manon Poulin and Josee Lavoie while in the Modified mechanics' race, Daniel Côte, crew of Richard Chauvin, showed a lot of potential finishing ahead of Ronald Perreault, crew of his brother Jocelyn Perreault.

Next Friday night, the promoter Bob Gatien will present the 15th edition of the Molson Canada-USA. For the occasion, the stars of the Empire Super Sprints will pay their second annual visit to Granby speedway. All eyes should be set on Quebec's rookie driver Alain Bergeron who is raising high expectations in that series. The St-Pie de Bagot driver recently purchased Champion's Mike Woodring's second car and now intends to find his way to the podium in front on his home crowd.


MODIFIED (30 laps)

1- 28, Steve Poirier 2- 63, Dominic Dufault 3- 25, Marco Potvin 4- 97, Mike Romano 5- 73, Alain Boisvert 6- 20, Charles Bisaillon 7- 27, Robert Ranger 8- 3, Claude Brouillard 9- 22, Mario Clair 10- 39, Clement Therrien 11- 17, Patrick Labonte 12- 24, Luke Plante 13- 4, Leon Gonyo 14- 50, Hugues Mercier 15- 15, Pierre Raymond 16- 66, Louis Bouthillier 17- 8s, Christian Salvas 18- 46, Kayle Robidoux 19- 88, Richard Salvas 20- 61, Chad Miller 21- 11, Real Lafrance 22- 31, Richard Chauvin 23- 32, Guy Ouellette 24- 7, Denis Labonte 25- 1, Pierre Mantha.


1- 11, Real Lafrance 2- 2, Real Lafrance 3- 31, Richard Chauvin 4- 22, Mario Clair 5- 39, Clement Therrien 6- 4, Leon Gonyo 7- 82, Randy Howe 8- 15, Pierre Raymond 9- 1, Pierre Mantha 10- 61, Chad Miller 11- 09, Rejean Fortier 12- 66w, Wallace Stacey 13- 24, Luke Plante 14- 83, Lloyd Sturtevant 15- 6, Martin Michaud 16- 33, Robin David 17- 06, Francis McNeil 18- 35, Christian McDermott 19- 46, Kayle Robidoux 20- 26, Jocelyn Perreault 21- 32, Guy Ouellette 22- 20x, Pierre Berthiaume 23- 3, Steve Brodeur 24, 5 Mario Moreau.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car