April 18-20 race capsules 97-04-22

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: http://members.aol.com/dirtnews/digest =================================== CONTENTS: April 18-20 race capsules (published April 22) =================================== WEEKEND'S SPECIAL EVENTS

DALE HARRIS WINS MLRA OPENER: Dale Harris of Decatur, Ark., earned his second career Midwest Latemodel Racing Association victory Saturday, leading the final two laps when a deflating tire slowed early leader Leslie Essary in the series season-opener at Joplin (Mo.) 66 Speedway. Harris, whose first MLRA victory came June 15, 1996 in Pocola, Okla., collected $2,000 and led Rex McCroskey and Essary across the finish line after 40 laps. Brad Looney crossed the line fourth but was light at the scales. Ken Essary, who started on the front row with his son, blew an engine on the 23rd lap and finished 19th. Hometown driver Denny Felker had a tough night, missing the feature after getting his car upside down during hot laps. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Dale Harris, (2) Rex McCroskey, (3) Leslie Essary, (4) Brandon Ball, (5) Terry Muskrat, (6) Shane Collins, (7) Jeff Floyd, (8) Kenny Shelton, (9) Shorty Acker, (10) Bill Street, (11) David Turner, (12) Steve Hennies, (13) Robert Dunn, (14) Al Purkey, (15) Larry Jones, (16) Jason Bodenhammer, (17) Chad Clark, (18) Darrell Mooneyham, (19) Ken Essary, (20) Jack Simmons, (21) Brad Looney, (22) Alan Vaughn.

RICE COOKS UP VICTORY AT ELDORA: Jerry Rice of Verona, Ky., collected $2,000 Saturday with a victory in the UMP-sanctioned American Late Model Series event at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. Rice took the checkered flag ahead of defending ALMS champion Shane Yoder, Bob Flinn, John Lawhorn and Brian Stinson in the season-opening ALMS race. John "Weasel" Rhoades was the fast qualifier among 53 cars at 16.764 seconds on the historic half-mile. FEATURE (30 laps): (1) Jerry Rice, (2) Shane Yoder, (3) Bob Flinn, (4) John Lawhorn, (5) Brian Stinson, (6) Scott Sexton, (7) Matt Miller, (8) Kris Patterson, (9) Steve Casebolt Jr., (10) Randy Woodling, (11) Don Seaborn, (12) Duane Chamberlain, (13) Weasel Rhoades, (14) Jerry Bowersock, (15) Rick DeLong, (16) Audie McWilliams, (17) Dave Gray, (18) Curtis Roberts, (19) Tim Sills.

RICKY INGALLS GETS SECOND STRAIGHT SUPR WIN: Ricky Ingalls of Longview, Texas, won his second consecutive Southern United Professional Racing (SUPR) race, outdueling polesitter Bubba Mullins on Sunday at Super Bee Speedway in Chatham, La. The event, originally scheduled for Saturday, was delayed when the main transformer went out before Saturday's heat races for the 34 cars began. Ingalls started outside the front row Sunday and took the lead when Mullins bobbled on the third lap. Mullins roared back to grab the lead on the 17th lap, but Ingalls regained the point five laps later and held on for a victory worth $2,000. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Ricky Ingalls, (2) Butch Patton, (3) Bubba Mullins, (4) Doug Ingalls, (5) Ronnie Poche, (6) Jeff Chanler, (7) Eddie Taylor, (8) John Lovas, (9) Jason Ingalls, (10) Mike Boland, (11) Marlon Wild, (12) Jamie Traweek, (13) Kenny Merchant, (14) David Ashley, (15) Donald Watson, (16) Brent McGee, (17) Wynn Riser, (18) Ronny Adams, (19) Rusty Cummings, (20) Lee Davis, (21) Eric Courville, (22) Scott Slay.

BILLY SCOTT GETS $3,000 WIN AT CHEROKEE: Billy Scott won a rough-and-tumble feature Saturday at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C., outdueling Buckshot Miles early in the race then fighting off Dennis "Rambo" Franklin for a victory worth $3,000 in the Burns Automotive Crazy Eight Series. The 61-year-old Scott dispatched of Miles after an early-race battle, then got into a door-to-door banging match with Franklin around the half-mile oval. The leaders spun each other during a caution period and got a warning from track officials before Scott held on to win the UDTRA-sanctioned event. FEATURE: (1) Billy Scott, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) Buckshot Miles, (4) Tim Headen, (5) Petey Ivey, (6) Dan Breuer, (7) Dan Ivey, (8) Robert Long, (9) Heath Brown, (10) Dennis Williams, (11) Jack Pennington, (12) Hot Rod Lamance, (13) Randy Woodward, (14) Roger Hamrick, (15) Mike Tubbs.

GARY WEBB WINS DEERY BROTHERS OPENER: Two-time series champion Gary Webb of Blue Grass, Iowa, a 25-lap IMCA-sanctioned feature Saturday at Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa, for a season-opening victory on the Deery Brothers Series, which saw Friday's race at Columbus Junction get rained out. Johnny Johnson held the early lead at Lee County, but Webb worked past after a mid-race caution for his third Deery Brothers victory in the past four events dating back to last year. There were 41 cars in attendance. FEATURE (25 laps): (1) Gary Webb, (2) Tommy Elston, (3) Johnny Johnson, (4) Jay Johnson, (5) Kevin Cale, (6) Dean Wagner, (7) Greg Kastli, (8) Lonnie Bailey, (9) Chris Smyser, (10) Craig Jacobs, (11) Greg Hunter, (12) Harry Walker, (13) Boone McLaughlin, (14) Jim Swank, (15) Doak Allen Jr., (16) Darrel DeFrance, (17) Kevin Pittman, (18) Thad Trump, (19) Dennis LaVeine, (20) Jody Wood, (21) Kevin Kirkpatrick, (22) Billy Allen, (23) Brian Sexton, (24) Todd Cooney, (25) Ted Pallister, (26) Tom Darbyshire.

CHUPP CAPTURES JOE WADLEY MEMORIAL: Randle Chupp of Knoxville, Tenn., won $6,000 and the Joe Wadley Memorial title at Garner Town (Tenn.) Speedway on Saturday. Mike Head, Donnie Barnhart, Mark Mears and Eddie Rickman rounded out the top five in the Rick's Late Model Series event. FEATURE: (1) Randle Chupp, (2) Mike Head, (3) Donnie Barnhart, (4) Mark Mears, (5) Eddie Rickman, (6), Rick Rickman, (7) Johnny Stokes, (8) Gar Dickson, (9) Ronnie Poche, (10) Jason Smith, (11) Jerry Inmon, (12) Garry Mann, (13) Bubba Weeks, (14), Al Atkinson, (15) Barry Wright, (16) Jim McDuffie, (17) Brian Rickman, (18) John L. Cliett, (19) Billy Scarbrough, (20) Jerry Brunsfield, (21) Jimmy Cliburn, (22) Keith Flurry.

NASCAR BUSCH ALL-STAR TOUR ALL WET AGAIN: For the third time, the NASCAR Busch All-Star Tour season-opener was spoiled by the weather. Qualifying was halfway completed when showers came at Davenport (Iowa) Speedway on Friday, and more rain came after the track was repacked and nearly ready for more qualifying, forcing the postponement. The race has been rescheduled for Friday, April 25. More than 50 late models were in attendance and Jeff Wildung of St. Paul, Minn., was the fastest driver who qualified at 22.927 seconds on the half-mile oval. -------------------------------------------------------------

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Jason Smith , Lee Davis
Teams Williams