Angola results 2005-06-18

Saturday Night was WLKI 100.3fm Night at the Races featuring the Lane Automotive / Royal Purple Lubricants Heat Race Challenge Series presented by Fort Wayne Oval Track Supply. What a spectacular night of racing with the winners in all the...

Saturday Night was WLKI 100.3fm Night at the Races featuring the Lane Automotive / Royal Purple Lubricants Heat Race Challenge Series presented by Fort Wayne Oval Track Supply. What a spectacular night of racing with the winners in all the heat races claiming $100 Gift Certificates from Royal Purple Lubricants along with a goody bag from Lane Automotive. Heat Race Winners included Craig Mann and Brent Jack in the Budweiser Super Late Models, Troy Moyer and Robby Henderson in the Jack De Late Model Sportsman, Colin Toland, Rob Hicks, and Steve Minich, Jr. in the Superior Auto IMODs, Jerry Oberlin and Mike Overholser in the Chris Johnson Racing Engine Street Stocks, and Mike Murphy and Justin Meriwether in the Smith Enterprises Mini Stocks.

Feature racing in the Budweiser Super Lates found the #68 of Craig Mann trying hard to claim his first feature victory in 2005. Fred Elkins in the #28 was able to grab the lead at the halfway mark away from Mann. Elkins had an extreme battle on his hands as Mann fought for the top spot the entire race until the top 2 contenders got together, moving both cars to the tail for the restart. The new leader would be the #5 of Craig Everage. Everage was able to fend off the #41 of Brent Jack and roll into Line-X Victory Lane for the 1st time in 2005. Jack, Jasper Case, Jeff Brunt, and Jimm Thiel took top 5 honors for the night.

Billy Hutson in the #98 found the early lead in the Jack De Late Model Sportsman 25 Lap Feature. The #42 of Larry Henderson would not give up trying to take over the top spot as the laps wound down. That paid off for Henderson as he put his nose around Hutson and took the lead on lap 18 and went on to claim his first feature victory in 2005. Hutson came across the line in 2nd with Rick Rinehart, Scott Whetzel, and Tony Barcus rounding out the top 5.

Tom Blackburn fought a hard battle the entire race in his familiar #80 Superior Auto IMOD as he lead the pack from the drop of the green in their 25 lap feature. Late Model Sportsman contender Steve Minich Jr. decided to jump into his #37 modified for the night and battled with Blackburn for the second half of the event. The races was decided on the final lap as Blackburn slid a bit high in turn 4 and gave way for Minich to take the checkered flag for his first Superior Auto IMOD feature win of 2005. Blackburn clenched 2nd with Josh Nester third and Economy Auto Parts team cars Bobby Dager and Jeremy Wallen taking home 4th and 5th.

In the Chris Johnson Racing Engine Street Stocks 20 lap feature the #50 of Mike Overholser looked to be on his way to another feature win in 2005 until 2 time Track Champion, #7 Shane Crager worked himself around on lap 12 to take the lead. Crager was able to hold off last week's feature winner Erik Schaeffer in the #10 to take his first feature victory of 2005. Schaeffer, Jeremy Hamilton, Tony Muzzillo, and Jerry Oberlin were the top 5.

Smith Enterprises Mini Stock point leader Kedrin Holliday in his #70 notched another feature win on his growing resume after taking the win in their 15 lap feature race. Chad Minnix finished 2nd with Mike Murphy, Zac Sipe, and Derik Sturdivant crossing the finish line as the top 5.

Next Saturday Night will be Smith Enterprises Night at the Races featuring the 1st Ever Michael Ross Memorial 41 Lap Feature Event for the Mini Stocks. The winner of this event will walk away with $500 presented by the Ross Family and Friends. This is the biggest purse ever for the Smith Enterprise Mini Stocks and will prove to have the hottest action around! The Vintage American Race Cars will be on display for your viewing pleasure. Other racing action will include the Budweiser Super Late Models, Jack De late Model Sportsman, Superior Auto IMODs, and the CJ Racing Engine Street Stocks. Make plans now to visit the "Showplace of Northeast Indiana" for a fantastic night of racing and family fun! Pit gates open at 2pm, Practice at 3pm, Qualifying at 5pm, Racing at 7pm. Log on to for the latest news and information.

Saturday June 18 Results
Angola Motor Speedway

LEAF Racewear Sportsmanship Award Winner: Terry Lake, Hudson

Budweiser Super Late Models
Fast Qualifier: Mike Kugler, Stroh; 13.644

Heat Race Winners: Craig Mann, Pioneer, OH; Brent Jack, Butler
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Jeff Brunt, LaGrange

Feature Top Ten
1) Craig Everage, Stroh
2) Brent Jack, Butler
3) Jasper Case, Wolcottville
4) Jeff Brunt, LaGrange
5) Jimm Thiel
6) Dave Macey, Camden, MI
7) Fred Elkins, Helmer
8) Craig Mann, Pioneer, OH
9) David Campbell, Angola
10) Mike Kugler, Stroh

Jack De Late Model Sportsman
Fast Qualifier: Rick Rinehart, Ashley; 14.834

Heat Race Winners: Troy Moyer, Edon, OH; Robby Henderson, Angola
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Larry Henderson, Hamilton

Feature Top Ten
1) Larry Henderson, Hamilton
2) Billy Hutson, New Haven
3) Rick Rinehart, Ashley
4) Scott Whetzel, Helmer
5) Tony Barcus, Kendallville
6) Al High, Waterloo
7) Larry Wiseman, Orland
8) Robby Henderson, Angola
9) KC Spillers, Fort Wayne
10) Terry Whitney, Edon, OH

Superior Auto IMODs
Fast Qualifier: Bobby Dager, New Haven; 14.661

Heat Race Winners: Rob Hicks, Garrett; Colin Toland, South Bend; Steve Minich, Jr., New Haven
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Bobby Dager, New Haven

Feature Top Ten
1) Steve Minich, Jr., New Haven
2) Tom Blackburn, Waterloo
3) Josh Nester, Edon, OH
4) Bobby Dager, New Haven
5) Jeremy Wallen, Fort Wayne
6) Todd Griggs, Antwerp, OH
7) Todd Gearhart, Fremont
8) Chad Poorman, Montpelier, OH
9) Tony Dager, Spencerville
10) Rob Hicks, Garrett

CJ Racing Engines Street Stocks
Fast Qualifier: Jackie Terry, Kendallville; 16.107 ** NEW TRACK RECORD

Heat Race Winners: Mike Overholser, Fort Wayne; Jerry Oberlin, Garrett
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Jerry Oberlin, Garrett

Feature Top Ten
1) Shane Crager, Fort Wayne
2) Erik Schaeffer, Angola
3) Jeremy Hamilton, Rome City
4) Tony Muzzillo, Waterloo
5) Jerry Oberlin, Garrett
6) Josh Slater, Edon, OH
7) Justin May, Auburn
8) Chad Ledbetter, Ashley
9) Dennis Pierson, Garrett
10) Jeff Snyder, Angola

Smith Enterprises Mini Stocks
Fast Qualifier: Chad Minnix, Garrett; 17.646

Heat Race Winners: Mike Murphy, Indianapolis; Justin Meriwether, Craigville
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Mike Murphy, Indianapolis

Feature Top Ten
1) Kedrin Holliday, Rome City
2) Chad Minnix, Garrett
3) Mike Murphy, Indianapolis
4) Zac Sipe, Ft Wayne
5) Derik Sturdivant, Rome City
6) Joe Kunberger, Fort Wayne
7) Jesse Opliger, Leo
8) Eric Barcus, Kendallville
9) Terry Lake, Hudson
10) Robert Thompson, Ashley


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Robert Thompson , Tom Black