Angola results 2005-06-04

Tony Barcus Dominates 75 Lap Feature (Angola, Indiana) It was WBTU 93.3fm Night at the Races with Jack De Chevrolet Cadillac In Kendallville presenting the Jack De Late Model Sportsman 75 Lap Feature Event this past Saturday at the Angola ...

Tony Barcus Dominates 75 Lap Feature

(Angola, Indiana) It was WBTU 93.3fm Night at the Races with Jack De Chevrolet Cadillac In Kendallville presenting the Jack De Late Model Sportsman 75 Lap Feature Event this past Saturday at the Angola Motor Speedway. The template style cars were in fine fashion as 22 cars took to the track in hopes of being the lucky driver to pull into Line-X Victory Lane at the end of the gruesome 75 laps. Fast Qualifier Jeff Parr had an opportunity to win a New Howe Chassis by setting fast time and starting on the tail of the feature event. Chad Sherburne set on the pole with the nightly sponsor favorite Tony Barcus on the outside front row. When the green flag dropped it was Barcus jumping into the lead and trying to hold on for his first feature win of the 2005 season at the Angola Motor Speedway. Billy Hutson and Steve Minich Jr. would give the fight of the night while giving Barcus the opportunity to take an amazing lead over 2nd place. Last week's feature winner Al High fought his way through the field by overtaking such competitors as Rick Rinehart and Joe Ellert. With only laps to go in the event, Barcus would get loose in turn 2 and that gat 2nd place Hutson an chance for the lead. Barcus fought for his life as the white flag waved and Hutson closing in. When the checkered flag dropped it was Barcus coming out on top with Hutson, High, Rinehart, and Ellert finishing in the top 5. In Line-X Victory Lane Barcus thanked all of his supporters and sponsors along with telling the crowd that in the last few laps his throttle had stuck and he did all he could to keep it on the track.

It was another hard fought feature win and the second in a row for Greg Parr as he raced through the field in the Budweiser Super Late Models. Rich Rieter took the lead on the start of the race with Craig Mann sliding into the 2nd slot. Parr was able to work his way into the lead by lap 14, only to have to fight off a hard charging Mike Kugler the entire race. Points leader Kale Asztalos was running great as he was catching the leaders with the laps winding down quick. At the finishing line it was Parr once again going to Line-X Victory Lane with Kugler, Asztalos, Brent Jack, and Fred Elkins all claiming top 5 finishes for the night.

The Superior Auto IMODs were next on the race schedule with the Flyin' Farmer Dave Nester leading the field in the beginning laps of the 25 lap feature event. Chad Poorman and Bud Adams battled for the 2nd position side by side. With only 10 Laps to go Adams slid his car around Nester to take the lead. Adams was the victor for the 2nd time in 2005 with Nester able to hold off Poorman for 2nd. Poorman, Tom Blackburn, and Jeremy Wallen were the top 5.

Once again Josh Slater looked to be the car to beat in the Chris Johnson Racing Engine Street Stocks as the field took the green flag for their 20 lap feature. Slater was unable to hold on as he pushed high into turn 4, letting Mike Overholser fly low and take the lead. It is the battle of the season between Shane Crager, Chris Hall and Jackie Terry and it continued once again as Crager and put his bumper under Overholser and gave room for Hall to follow. Fast Qualifier Erik Schaeffer waited as the field lined up for the final laps. Schaeffer looked under Hall then set his sights on Crager for the lead. On lap 16 he was able to over take Crager and hold on for the win. The top 5 finishers were Schaeffer, Crager, Hall, Terry, and Ben DeLong.

Terry Lake was the early leader in the Smith Enterprises Mini Stock only to have Zac Sipe move into to take the top spot away on lap 5 of the 15 lap feature event. Current Points Leader Kedrin Holliday put some nice moves on the field and was able to gain the lead on lap 10. The Red Flag dropped on lap 12 as Frank Schaefer rolled his Mini Stock off the tires on turn four and would land on his roof. Schaefer was able to get out of the car and walk away. With only 3 laps remaining Kedrin was able to hold on for another Line-X Victory Lane moment. Sipe finished 2nd with Joe Kunberger, Chad Minnix, and Eric Barcus all in the top 5.

Next Saturday Night it is Croxton & Roe Insurance Night at the races featuring Kids Night with a Bicycle Give Away for the kids. The Budweiser Super Late Models, Jack De Late Model Sportsman, Superior Auto IMODs, Chris Johnson Racing Engine Street Stocks, and the Smith Enterprises Mini Stocks are all scheduled to compete on the High Banks at Angola Motor Speedway as well. Stop out for your chance to win some great prizes and a fantastic night of auto racing. Pit gates open at 2pm, Practice at 3pm, Qualifying at 5pm, Racing at 7pm.

LEAF Racewear Sportsmanship Award Winner: Rob Hicks, Garrett

Budweiser Super Late Models

Fast Qualifier: Greg Parr, Orland; 13.859
Heat Race Winners: Fred Elkins, Helmer; Kale Asztalos, Angola
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Kale Asztalos, Angola

Feature Top Ten
1) Greg Parr, Orland
2) Mike Kugler, Stroh
3) Kale Asztalos, Angola
4) Brent Jack, Butler
5) Fred Elkins, Helmer
6) Craig Mann, Pioneer, OH
7) Rich Rieter
8) Jeff Brunt, LaGrange
9) Jason Shearer
10) Dave Campbell, Angola

Jack De Late Model Sportsman

Fast Qualifier: Jeff Parr, Stroh; 14.990
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Al High, Waterloo

75 Lap Feature Top Ten
1) Tony Barcus, Kendallville
2) Billy Hutson, New Haven
3) Al High, Waterloo
4) Rick Rinehart, Ashley
5) Joe Ellert, Waterloo
6) Zach Henderson, Hamilton
7) Terry Whitney, Edon, OH
8) Glenn Coe Jr., Rome City
9) Jeff Parr, Stroh
10) Steve Minich Jr., New Haven

Superior Auto IMODs

Fast Qualifier: Dick Maurer; 14.918
Heat Race Winners: Scott Moyer West Unity, OH; Chad Poorman, Montpelier, OH
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Tom Blackburn, Waterloo

Feature Top Ten
1) Bud Adams
2) Dave Nester, Edon, OH
3) Chad Poorman, Montpelier, OH
4) Tom Blackburn, Waterloo
5) Jeremy Wallen, Ft Wayne
6) Josh Nester, Edon, OH
7) Rick Coe, Columbia City
8) Scott Moyer West Unity, OH
9) Dennis Kurtz, Edgerton, OH
10) Rob Hicks, Garrett

CJ Racing Engines Street Stocks

Fast Qualifier: Erik Schaeffer, Angola; 16.355
Heat Race Winners: Jackie Terry, Kendallville; Josh Slater, Edon, OH
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Erik Schaeffer, Angola

Feature Top Ten
1) Erik Schaeffer, Angola
2) Shane Crager, Fort Wayne
3) Chris Hall, Angola
4) Jackie Terry, Kendallville
5) Ben DeLong, Auburn
6) Mike Overholser, Fort Wayne
7) Hank Lower, Angola
8) Tony Muzzillo, Waterloo
9) Josh Slater, Edon, OH
10) Jeff Snyder, Angola

Smith Enterprises Mini Stocks

Fast Qualifier: Chad Minnix, Garrett; 17.741
Heat Race Winners: Joe Kunberger, Fort Wayne; Frank Schaefer, North Webster
Landrum Springs Award Winner: Zac Sipe, Ft Wayne

Feature Top Ten
1) Kedrin Holliday, Rome City
2) Zac Sipe, Ft Wayne
3) Joe Kunberger, Fort Wayne
4) Chad Minnix, Garrett
5) Eric Barcus, Kendallville
6) Terry Lake, Hudson
7) Robert Thompson, Ashley
8) Derik Sturdivant, Rome City
9) Russ Miller, Ft Wayne
10) Randy Shaffer II, Angola

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Chris Hall , Robert Thompson , Tom Black