Fraga and Barrichello follow the championship order and start 1-2 in Minas Gerais

Current leader smashed the competition by lapping with a stunning time of 1min51s282, almost four tenths faster than his closest rival

The first Stock Car pole position at the Circuito dos Cristais, in the city of Curvelo, Minas Gerais, is Felipe Fraga. Current series leader smashed the previous laptimes by setting a 1min51s282, 0s338 on his closest contender, Rubens Barrichello. An unusual gap, since the series is known by its competitiveness with grids decided by thousandths of a second.

"It really was an excellent lap, neither I could believe it", said an astonished Felipe. "I knew I had a good car, but I was not expecting to set this lap time. The car was perfect from the beginning", he finished.

Rubens Barrichello follows the championship order to take the second grid spot for race one this Sunday afternoon (starts 1 pm local time). "I squeezed everything out of the car, pushing to the extreme limit. Although, it seemed Felipe had a better balance, in a more favorable situation. Let’ see, because the race is going to be completely new for everyone", told the 2014 Stock Car champion, who could only take Marcos Gomes off the second place and avoid a 1-2 from the Cimed Racing drivers.

As a new track, the 4.420-km long circuit represents a new challenge due its characteristics. Anti-clockwise, the Circuito dos Cristais features ups, downs, 18 corners that mix slow, medium and fast bends, almost all of them where the driver cannot visualize the following corner after turning the previous ones.

This scenario makes the drivers predict some safety car interventions, which could mix the strategies in order to save fuel and do both races with only one tank - having no need to refuel.

Marcos Gomes, Valdeno Brito, Allam Khodair, Nestor Girolami, Cacá Bueno, Lucas Foresti and Thiago Camilo close the top-10.

Qualifying Results:

Pos. Númber Driver Team Time
1 88 Felipe Fraga Cimed Racing 1:51.282
2 111 Rubens Barrichello Full Time Sports 0.338
3 80 Marcos Gomes Cimed Racing 0.362
4 77 Valdeno Brito TMG Racing 0.596
5 18 Allam Khodair Full Time Sports 0.654
6 63 Nestor Girolami Eisenbahn Racing Team 0.675
7 0 Cacá Bueno Red Bull Racing 0.739
8 46 Vitor Genz Eisenbahn Racing Team 0.778
9 12 Lucas Foresti Full Time-ProGP 0.781
10 90 Ricardo Mauricio Eurofarma RC 0.849
11 21 Thiago Camilo Ipiranga-RCM 0.851
12 65 Max Wilson Eurofarma RC 0.878
13 5 Denis Navarro Vogel Motorsport 1.062
14 73 Sergio Jimenez Cavaleiro Sports 1.086
15 51 Átila Abreu Shell Racing 1.103
16 83 Gabriel Casagrande C2 Axalta Racing 1.104
17 4 Julio Campos C2 Axalta Racing 1.117
18 10 Ricardo Zonta Shell Racing 1.212
19 8 Rafael Suzuki Vogel Motorsport 1.238
20 29 Daniel Serra Red Bull Racing 1.257
21 110 Felipe Lapenna Hot Car Competições 1.389
22 70 Diego Nunes União Química Racing 1.416
23 117 Guilherme Salas RZ Motorsport 1.419
24 28 Galid Osman Ipiranga-RCM 1.712
25 25 Tuka Rocha RZ Motorsport 1.727
26 26 Raphael Abbate Hot Car Competições 1.754
27 3 Bia Figueiredo União Química Racing 1.781
28 9 Guga Lima TMG Racing 2.114
29 99 Xandynho Negrão Cavaleiro Sports 2.685


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock Car Brasil
Article type Qualifying report