Brazilian V8 Stock Cars: Allam Khodair claims pole at Tarumã and spices title race

Season leader Marcos Gomes starts in second, while Cacá Bueno will have to dig a little deeper after taking only the 11th position

In one of the fastest tracks of the season, no one bet Allam Khodair’s pole position time. The Full Time-Texaco driver flew past the 3.069-km racetrack in the South of Brazil and made a 1min09s197, 0s044 faster than season leader Marcos Gomes, who can clinch the title this Sunday if opening the lead gap from 37 to 49 points ahead of competition.

But Saturday was a big day for the "Flying Japanese", as Khodair is known by his peers: he had was also awarded with the Mobil Trophy of Best Overtaking Maneuver by passing eight cars at once at the start of race two last round in Curitiba. Most important, for him, is to keep Marcos Gomes behind during the race.

"For some races we had been losing pole position to Marcos and starting on the first or second row. Today I got to do a good lap - not perfect - and he (Gomes) almost took it from me again. However, we are in good shape. Pole position is always important, so we have to work on a good car setup to manage tire wear for the race, as this track demands too much on the rubber", said Khodair.

Marcos Gomes, Felipe Fraga, Thiago Camilo, Ricardo Maurício, Rubens Barrichello, Átila Abreu, Vitor Genz and Daniel Serra close the top-10. Cacá Bueno, the main title contender to Gomes, starts 11th.

Races one and two will be 48 and 28 minutes long (39 and 21 laps), respectively.

Starting grid

Position Car Number Driver
1 100 Allam Khodair
2 80 Marcos Gomes
3 88 Felipe Fraga
4 77 Valdeno Brito
5 21 Thiago Camilo
6 90 Ricardo Mauricio
7 111 Rubens Barrichello
8 51 Átila Abreu
9 46 Vitor Genz
10 29 Daniel Serra
11 0 Cacá Bueno
12 12 Lucas Foresti
13 4 Julio Campos
14 10 Ricardo Zonta
15 8 Rafael Suzuki
16 14 Luciano Burti
17 70 Diego Nunes
18 5 Denis Navarro
19 2 Raphael Matos
20 65 Max Wilson
21 83 Gabriel Casagrande
22 110 Felipe Lapenna
23 74 Popó Bueno
24 28 Galid Osman
25 73 Sergio Jimenez
26 16 Mauro Giallombardo
27 26 Raphael Abbate
28 25 Tuka Rocha
29 11 Cesar Ramos
30 66 Felipe Guimarães
31 1 Antonio Pizzonia
32 9 Gustavo Lima
33 3 Bia Figueiredo


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock Car Brasil
Event Tarumã
Sub-event Saturday qualifying
Track Autódromo Internacional de Tarumã
Drivers Rubens Barrichello , Ricardo Maurício , Allam Khodair , Thiago Camilo , Valdeno Brito , Marcos Gomes , Felipe Fraga
Article type Qualifying report