Williams Grove opening say race notes

Mechanicsburg, PA, 3/11/01 - History was made once again at Williams Grove Speedway Sunday afternoon as Sinking Spring's Donnie Kreitz Jr. became the all-time leading feature winner at the historic half-mile in picking up...

Mechanicsburg, PA, 3/11/01 - History was made once again at Williams Grove Speedway Sunday afternoon as Sinking Spring's Donnie Kreitz Jr. became the all-time leading feature winner at the historic half-mile in picking up the season-opening win in the 25 lap super sprint feature. Kreitz, the master the of the dry-slick racing surface, along with trusted wrench Davey Brown, proved that on the road to the Williams Grove Championship - they will be a force to be dealt with. Kreitz, who started third, passed race-long leader Lance Dewease of Mont Alto on the 17th lap and then easily led the rest of the way to pick up his all-time winning 45 career win at the Grove. "I was hard for even me to mess that one up," Kreitz was quick to point out in a chilly victory lane.. "Davey (Brown) had this car so good...we were so messed up before the race started between me and him." "We didn't know what tire to put on, shocks, and bars, and gear...everything was just a guess and I'll tell you what - he hit it good. He's got so much more experience than me. We actually went a little on the conservative side. If we would have did what I wanted to do we would have been messed up." "He (Davey Brown) is the common denominator. No matter who he helps he makes them winners. He gives you the whole package. Our motors are running great and he's the best chassis guy in setting the car up. We're lucky to have him." Outside frontrow starter Dewease grabbed the lead over polesitter Todd Shaffer at the drop of the green and appeared to have the race well in hand. But by the time the race's first caution waved on the eighth lap for Greg Hodnett, whom had a broken front wheel and came to a stop on the backstretch, the third-starting Kreitz had moved into second. It was obvious that the racing surface was in favor of the low-riding Kreitz as Dewease tried to block his every move following the restart. But Kreitz just waited for the opportunty for the veeteran Dewease to open the door, and his patience paid off on the 17th lap as Kreitz rolled around the top-side of turns three and for to pull ahead of Dewease at the exit. The race's final caution waved on the 22nd lap as Todd Gracey's sprinter let fluids loose all around the racetrack, setting up a three-lap dash to the checkered. But Kreitz was unstoppable as he pulled away to a 2.90 second victory after 25 lap and pocketed the $3,000 winner check. Four-time defending Grove champion Fred Rahmer, who is seeking a record-tying fifth consecutive track title, came on strong in the final turns to steal second away from Dewease who was forced to settle for third. Mifflintown's Keith Kauffman finished fourth and Allentown's Sean Michael was fifith. Completing the top-10 was Hanover's Cris Eash in sixth, Newtown's Len Thompson seventh, Australian invader Skip Jackson; eighth, Ohio invader Rodney Duncan ninth, and Carlisle's Shawn Keen tenth. Heats for the 36 super sprints on hand were won by Johnny Mackison Jr., Hodnett, Dewease, and Kauffman. Twin consolation events were won by Duncan and Keen. Harrisburg's Chad Layton that he too is a force to be recconded with this season as he over-powered the field in the 20 lap 358 sprint feature. Layton, who started a distant 17th after being forced to qualify through the consolation race, tracked down York's Adrian Shaffer to take the lead on the ninth lap and easily led the rest of the way way for the win. Defending KARS Limited Sprint champion Dale Hammaker finished second, with a sputtering Shaffer holding on for third. Kevin Drury and Billy Dietrich finished fourth and fifth respectively.

<pre> Sunday - March 11, 2001 WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY Mechanicsburg, PA SEASON OPENER

Super Sprints: Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 69-Donnie Kreitz Jr. ($3,000); 2. 77-Fred Rahmer; 3. 88H-Lance Dewease; 4. 7-Keith Kauffman; 5. 1-Sean Michael; 6. 17-Cris Eash; 7. 10-Len Thompson; 8. 53K-Skip Jackson; 9. 22-Rodney Duncan; 10. 53-Shawn Keen; 11. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 12. 29-Dave Ely; 13. 11-Mike Erdley; 14. 22M-Mark Smith; 15. 07-Jesse Wentz; 16. 10N-Chris Knopp; 17. 81-Bob Beidleman; 18. 88-Todd Shaffer; 19. 55-Mike Wagner; 20. 25-Todd Gracey; 21. 7M-Todd Hestor; 22. 97-Phil Gressman; 23. 12-Greg Hodnett; 24. 3B-Bob Bennett. No Time Lap Leaders - Lance Dewease (1-16), Donnie Kreitz Jr. (17-25) Heat Winners - Johnny Mackison Jr., Greg Hodnett, Lance Dewease, Keith Kauffman Consolation Winners - Rodney Duncan, Shawn Keen

358 Sprints: Feature (20 Laps) - 1. U1-Chad Layton; 2. 66H-Dale Hammaker; 3. 21-Adrian Shaffer; 4. 31D-Kevin Drury; 5. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 6. 8-Rich Eichelberger; 7. 88-Scott Ausherman; 8. 87-Alan Krimes; 9. 77-Wade Hendrickson; 10. 11T-T.J. Stutts; 11. 3-Dan Massey; 12. 4B-Jake Raudabaugh; 13. 80-Todd Reed; 14. 119-Greg Leiby; 15. 71-Joe Whitcomb; 16. 56V-Tim Hershey; 17. 50-Mark Richard; 18. 2A0Carmen Perigo Jr.; 19. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 20. 33-Billy Albright; 21. 11C-Cory Haas; 22. 51-Gary Gollub; 23. 19R-Steve Wilbur; 24. 8H-Dan Dietrich. No Time

Lap Leaders - Alan Krimes (1-4), Adrian Shaffer (5-8), Chad Layton (9-20) Heat Winners - Greg Leiby, Eric Stambaugh, Joe Whitcomb, Billy Albright Consolation Winners - Chad Layton, Caren Perigo Jr.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Teams Williams