West Memphis: Race results

Gallagher Garners O'Reilly ASCS Riverside Gelt WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (September 11, 2004) - Eddie Gallagher continued his winning ways at Riverside Speedway by topping Saturday night's 30-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car ...

Gallagher Garners O'Reilly ASCS Riverside Gelt

WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (September 11, 2004) - Eddie Gallagher continued his winning ways at Riverside Speedway by topping Saturday night's 30-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour feature presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and Classic Trailers.

Gallagher, who captured the 2004 Riverside Speedway track championship by winning 10 of 14 features, beat Zach Chappell and Toby Brown to the stripe by six car-lengths to snare his eleventh career ASCS National Tour triumph, six of them coming atop the West Memphis quarter-mile gumbo clay oval.

After racing from fourth to win the evening's third heat race, Gallagher led the field to the green flag with Dewayne Prince on his outside shoulder. Following three false starts, Gallagher jumped into the lead with fourth-starter Chappell quickly racing into second.

With just one lap in the books, the red flag flew when current series point leader Gary Wright tangled with Ernie Ainsworth racing down the frontsretch and flipped wildly into the first turn. While uninjured, Wright's early exit would end his string of 35 consecutive top-ten finishes in ASCS National Tour competition dating back more than a year to September 5, 2003.

Back under way, Gallagher raced to a half straightaway advantage over Chappell, who was fending off a rim-riding Marshall Skinner for second. Meanwhile, Brown needed only three rounds to advance to fourth from his eighth starting position.

After a lap nine stoppage for a turn four tangle involving Ainsworth and Henry Gustavus, Jr., Gallagher continued to set the pace aboard his familiar red Davis Painting & Drywall/Southern Rides Magazine No. 1 Schnee, again slipping away to more than a half straightaway advantage.

Gallagher's lead diminished after 17 rounds however, when he briefly hesitated behind the lapped machine of Travis Rilat, who was seeking an exit after experiencing mechanical woes. Chappell closed to within five car-lengths, as Brown charged underneath Skinner for third on the 18th circuit.

Chappell stayed within a half dozen car-lengths of Gallagher over the final rounds but was unable to mount a serious bid for the lead, settling for a Riverside career-best runner-up finish. Finishing a close third was Brown, who posted a career best West Memphis finish as well.

Leading Brodix ASCS Rookie of the Year contender A.G. Rains, a 2001 ASCS Riverside winner, slipped past Skinner to claim fourth on the 20th round, with Skinner holding fifth to the line.

Terry Gray crossed the stripe in sixth, with Raymond Stull advancing from 16th to seventh. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., recovered from an early tire change to finish eighth after initially starting 17th, with fellow Shorty Chambliss entry Chad Jones in ninth. Mike Ward also rebounded from an early skirmish to complete the top ten.

Rains, Chappell, Gallagher, Natalie Sather and Skinner topped heat race action for the 36-car field, with Ainsworth and Stull winning the twin 12-lap B Mains.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. A.G. Rains, 2. Toby Brown, 3. Jim Bowden, 4. Ernie Ainsworth, 5. Kenny Coke, 6. Ronny Howard, 7. Jody Roland, 8. Jamie McDonald.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Terry Gray, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Raymond Stull, 5. Josh Baker, 6. Travis Senter, Jr., 7. Buster Dickerson.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Eddie Gallagher, 2. Terry Hinck, 3. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 4. Gary Wright, 5. Henry Gustavus, Jr., 6. Kevin Gaut, 7. Cody Branchcomb.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps):  1. Natalie Sather, 2. Jan Howard, 3. Mike Ward, 4.
Mike McElya, 5. Robert Gant, 6. Jeff Leach.  DNS: D.J. Masner.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Marshall Skinner, 2. Dewayne Prince, 3. Chad Jones, 4. Jimmy Taylor, 5. Greg Merritt, 6. Lee Sowell, 7. Philip Faulkner.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Ernie Ainsworth, 2. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 3. Gary Wright, 4. Jimmy Taylor, 5. Travis Senter, Jr., 6. Buster Dickerson, 7. Philip Faulkner, 8. Ronny Howard, 9. Josh Baker, 10. Jeff Leach. DNS: Robert Gant.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Raymond Stull, 2. Mike McElya, 3. Henry Gustavus, Jr., 4. Kenny Coke, 5. Lee Sowell, 6. Greg Merritt, 7. Cody Branchcomb, 8. Kevin Gaut, 9. Jamie McDonald. DNS: Jody Roland, D.J. Masner.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Eddie Gallagher, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Toby Brown, 4. A.G. Rains, 5. Marshall Skinner, 6. Terry Gray, 7. Raymond Stull, 8. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 9. Chad Jones, 10. Mike Ward, 11. Terry Hinck, 12. Dewayne Prince, 13. Lee Sowell, 14. Henry Gustavus, Jr., 15. Ernie Ainsworth, 16. Travis Rilat, 17. Jim Bowden, 18. Gary Wright, 19. Ronny Howard, 20. Natalie Sather, 21. Jan Howard, 22. Mike McElya.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Gary Wright 4,170, 2. Travis Rilat 4,066, 3. Zach Chappell 3,962, 4. Toby Brown 3,471, 5. Garry Lee Maier 3,275, 6. Darren Stewart 3,263, 7. A.G. Rains 3,192, 8. Jimmy Taylor 2,897, 9. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,812, 10. Cody Branchcomb 2,765, 11. Natalie Sather 2,521, 12. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,953, 13. Marshall Skinner 1,762, 14. Shane Stewart 1,694, 15. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 1,619.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat