Watkins/Marrer add "Most Popular" IMCA award

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 21, 1995 Watkins/Marrer Enterprises to Crown the "Most Popular" I.M.C.A. Modified Driver in 1995 VINTON, IOWA -- With more than 4,000 I.M.C.A....


Watkins/Marrer Enterprises to Crown the "Most Popular" I.M.C.A. Modified Driver in 1995

VINTON, IOWA -- With more than 4,000 I.M.C.A. modified drivers throughout America, it's tough to pick a favorite. But that's what I.M.C.A. fans will be doing in 1995.

Marrer Enterprises, Inc., a Pennsylvania-based corporation serving as Independent Marketing Directors for Watkins Products, has joined the long list of I.M.C.A. sponsors for 1995 with the announcement of the Watkins/Marrer Enterprises Most Popular Driver contest. The contest will take place throughout the 1995 racing season at all I.M.C.A. modified tracks in America, with fans deciding the most popular I.M.C.A. modified driver in the United States.

"We've been watching the I.M.C.A. modifieds grow for a number of years, and knew that their fans were exactly the customers we wanted to reach," said Michael Marrer, president of Marrer Enterprises. "We're pleased to be able to provide $5000 in cash and prizes to the fans and competitors through our contest this season."

Watkins products have been part of American and Canadian households for over 125 years, due to their quality and Watkins' convenient direct-to-the- home service. Original favorites such as vanilla, pepper, liniments, and salves are still available today, as well as a continually-expanding line of food, home care, and personal care items.

"We're really excited to have Marrer Enterprises come on board," said Jim Stannard, I.M.C.A. Director of Marketing. "They are the first consumer- based national sponsor we've had, and this program is also the first to directly involve and benefit our fans."

To vote for their favorite driver, fans can enter as many times per season as they wish, but only once per week. From each week's entries, five fans will be chosen to each receive a $20 gift certificate, redeemable towards their next purchase of Watkins Products from Marrer Enterprises. In addition, one driver will also be chosen from the ballots as the "Driver of the Week", and will receive a $50 gift certificate as well. Everyone winning a Watkins/Marrer Enterprises gift certificate will also get a 1995 Watkins catalog, featuring over 350 products for the kitchen and the home.

At the conclusion of the 1995 I.M.C.A. points season, the one driver who garners the most votes in the Watkins/Marrer Enterprises Most Popular Driver contest will receive $500 plus a beautifully crafted trophy to be presented at the I.M.C.A. national awards banquet in November. The second place driver will receive $175 and the third place driver $75. Another $500 will go into the track point fund of the I.M.C.A. track with the most participation.

To enter, fans (US and Canada residents only please) can vote by printing the following information on a plain piece of paper: their name, address, and age, plus the driver's name and the track he or she competes at. No purchase is required and each entry must be mailed in a separate envelope, and mailed to: Marrer Enterprises, Watkins Independent Directors, Drawer 7308, Endicott, NY 13761-7308. All entries must be received by the close of the contest on October 4.

In addition to updates in America's racing publications, weekly results of the contest will be listed on various on-line computer services, including CompuServe, Genie, America Online, Prodigy, and the Internet.

For more information on the Watkins/Marrer Enterprises Most Popular Driver contest, call the I.M.C.A. offices at 319-472-2201, or contact Michael Marrer at marrer@spectra.net

Additional Information:

o The I.M.C.A. is America's oldest sanctioning body, organized in 1915

o I.M.C.A. Modifieds compete at over 150 race tracks in 25 states

o Weekly attendance is estimated to be between 200,000 and 400,000

o Michael Marrer is a regional and national award-winning motorsports writer and photographer. He is also the winner of the prestigious Bloys Britt Writing Award, named after the former AP sports writer. The award is not presented every year, and past winners include Shav Glick of the Los Angeles Times and Dr. Dick Berggren of ESPN. The permanent trophy resides in the Press Room at Daytona International Speedway.

- 30 -

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint