USCS: Senoia results

Adams Dominates USCS Senoia Show SENOIA, GA - Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL was dominant Saturday night in United Sprint Car Series Asphalt Thunder action at Senoia Speedway. The "Malabar Missile" swept the show, capping off the...

Adams Dominates USCS Senoia Show

SENOIA, GA - Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL was dominant Saturday night in United Sprint Car Series Asphalt Thunder action at Senoia Speedway. The "Malabar Missile" swept the show, capping off the evening with his 14th USCS win of the season in the 40-lap main event driving the Goodson Farms Shaw/Ott.

Adams started eighth and took just seven laps to take the lead, and never looked back. Adams was the fast qualifier, won the six-lap Air Flow Research Power Dash, and also won the first ten-lap heat race. Adams completed the clean sweep with the main event win, his second of the season at Senoia Speedway.

The defending and three-time USCS National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN was the only driver who could stay on the lead lap with Adams. Gray finished second in the Goodson Farms/Wendy's Maxim/Wesmar. Gray still holds a 24-point lead over defending champion Adams in the USCS Asphalt Thunder points chase.

Red Stauffer of Winter Park, FL overcame a mid-race spin to finish third, one lap down, in the C&B Mushrooms Shaw/Ott. Will Ragsdale of Easley, SC started 16th and finished fourth in the Chick-Fil-A Clincher/ERI to earn the Huggins Race Cams Hard Charger of the Race Award. Randy Helton of Palmetto, GA was fifth in the Helton Transmissions Maxim/ERI.

Chad Allum of Kannapolis, NC took the sixth spot in the Heintz Performance Allum/Allum, and Doug Gold of Concord, NC drove the Heintz Performance Gold/Jerico to a seventh-place finish. Polesitter Bronzie Lawson of Southern Pines, NC finished eighth in only his second asphalt start ever driving the Lawson Construction J&J Lawson.

Dave Thorman of Greenville, SC was ninth in the Jimmy Taylor Engine Service J&J/Taylor, and earned the FSR Performance Award. J.J. Dutton of Tampa, FL rounded out the top ten in the American Trading Post and Pawn Hurricane/Skeeter.

Ted Williams of Atlanta, GA took the lead from his outside front row starting spot at the start of the race in the GMP/Sanders Engineering Hurricane/Ott followed by Lawson, Helton, Stauffer, and Adams. Helton passed Lawson for second on lap two, and Adams was up to the third spot by lap three.

Adams got around Helton for second on lap four, and then on lap seven, took the lead away from Williams, who was making his first USCS start in six months since the Asphalt Thunder season opener on March 27. Gray had worked his way up to the third spot by lap five, and took over the second spot from Williams on lap 10.

Danny Martin Jr. of Sarasota, FL had worked around Williams to take over the third spot on lap 17. A caution flag for debris in turn one on lap 20 bunched up the field for a single-file restart. Martin went inside the restart cone when the field went green, and was assessed a two-position penalty during the next caution on lap 22.

The second yellow flag of the race came when R.J. Johnson of Decatur, TN stopped on the bottom of turn two on lap 22 with a broken suspension piece on his Leaf Race Wear/Pin Rings J&J ZRE.

Martin and Stauffer got together coming off the fourth turn on lap 23 while battling for the fourth position. Stauffer spun collecting Skeeter Faulconer of Lutz, FL in the American Trading Post and Pawn Hurricane/Skeeter, and Martin coasted to a stop in turn one with broken suspension pieces on his Martin Structures, Inc. Hurricane/ZRE.

When the field went back to green, Adams set sail once again, driving his race car wherever he needed to get through lapped traffic. By lap 33, Adams had lapped the entire field with the exception of Gray, who was a half-lap behind.

The final caution and eventual red flag came out on lap 37 when Williams and Doug Day of Winder, GA in the Gotta Race Eagle/Dingler got together on the front straightaway while battling for the third spot. Williams got airborne, and both cars crashed hard into the first turn wall. Both drivers walked away uninjured. Williams earned the Weld Racing Hard Luck Award.

Adams prevailed over Gray in the four-lap dash to the checkered flag. Adams showed he had a strong machine in qualifications, turning the 3/8-mile paved oval in 11.803 seconds for an average speed of 114.378 miles per hour.

The next event for the USCS Asphalt Thunder Tour will be on Saturday night, September 4 at Lanier National Speedway in Braselton, GA.


POS   STRT  CAR# DRIVER                 LAPS
1.    8     4a   Kenny Adams            40
2.    7     10   Terry Gray             40
3.    6     2s   Red Stauffer           39
4.    16    29   Will Ragsdale          39
5.    4     27   Randy Helton           39
6.    11    87   Chad Allum             38
7.    9      8   Doug Gold              38
8.    1     B3   Bronzie Lawson         38
9.    15     5   Dave Thorman           37
10.   14    6f   J.J. Dutton            37
11.   13     6   Skeeter Faulconer      37
12.   17    4b   Bryn Gohn              36
13.   2     2w   Ted Williams           36
14.   3     2d   Doug Day               35
15.   5     00   Danny Martin           22
16.   12    71   R.J. Johnson (R)       19
17.   19    c1   Bruce Cline            18
18.   18    2m   Don Mee                 6
19.   10    11   Tom Winegardner Jr.     0

LEAD CHANGES: 1 LAP LEADERS: Williams, 1-6; Adams, 7-40 LAPS LED: Adams, 34; Williams, 6 CAUTIONS: 4 (1 Red)

HUGGINS RACE CAMS HARD CHARGER:  Ragsdale (started 16th and finished 4th)
FAST QUALIFIER:  Adams, 11.803 Sec., 114.378 MPH
HEAT RACE WINNERS:  Adams and Gray

USCS NATIONAL POINT STANDINGS THROUGH 8/28/04: 1. Terry Gray 4320 2. Danny Martin Jr. 4032 3. Kenny Adams 3888 4. R.J. Johnson (R) 3628 5. Brice Wrenn 2986 6. Chad Allum 2574 7. Tom Winegardner Jr. 2398 8. Butch Pendergrass 1742 9. Red Stauffer 1716 10. Jim Raptis 1644 11. Doug Gold 1376 12. Bronzie Lawson 1370 13. Randy Helton 1318 14. Dave Thorman 1290 15. Bryn Gohn 1232 16. Bruce Cline 1208 17. Jeremy Scott 1206 18. Scott Christian 1166 19. Chris Hill 1104 20. Will Ragsdale 1092

R - Denotes Rookie of the Year Candidate


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Adams , Bryn Gohn , Ted Williams , Doug Day , R.J. Johnson
Teams Williams